We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunset Hill Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Hill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Giv'atayim, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

amazing view with amazin british staff!!
it located on a top of a hill and from the pool you can see a little bit of heaven.
the restorant at the hotel give very good food (italian food too) with low price.
in the hotel there is 2 shuffels per day to 7/11 and to the beach.
the rooms are clean and beautiful with airco', clean bath, refregerator and microwave.
the hotel located far from the center and the moon party but down the hill is a place you can catch tooktooks and cabs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    48
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
16
102
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Sunset Hill resort during a holiday tour of Thailand. We had booked it through Agoda and got a very good price for the room, so when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at what we got for our money. The hotel is up a steep hill and has fantastic panoramic views of the sea - truly stunning! We arrived after a rather ropey boat journey from Koh Tao and we were a few hours earlier than official check in time. We had a lovely welcome from Adam on reception. We were given a welcome drink and he enthusiastically talked us through the hotel facilities, the services they offer and explained the map of the island to us before we were shown to our room. We had originally booked a garden view room which was great but once we had seen the fab views we decided to upgrade for an extra £30 per night to a room with a sea view. We were very impressed with the new room. The room was large and bright with floor to ceiling windows on 2 sides, a huge comfy bed, kitchenette area, TV and sound system and lovely large bathroom. Not to mention the huge wrap around balcony with our own sun loungers.
The pool area is not massive but it is lovely and there were lots of sun loungers available. We practically had the pool to ourselves.
Nice touches were the free wifi throughout the resort and the DVD library (although they could do with a few more films!)
As well as the views the other outstanding feature about this hotel is most definitely the staff. They cannot do enough to assist you and make your stay a great one. We wanted to hire a moped to see some of the island and the hotel have links with a company who brought the bike up the hill to us at the hotel and collected it when we were finished with it. Also one night we went down to the restaurant for an evening meal but unfortunately we were too late as the kitchen had closed. Kamila who was on reception said that she would order some food for us from a local Thai restaurant and they would deliver it to the hotel. After she had done this for us the heavens opened and a huge rainstorm started, so Kamila said they would not come up the hill in the rain. She then got on her moped and went and got it for us - getting soaked in the process! Also we had been debating wether or not to go to the half moon party on the island that night, in the end we decided we would go but as it was late reception had closed. We started to walk down the hill to try and get a taxi from the main road. As we were walking Kamila was finishing her shift and going home, she ended up walking with us and ordered us a taxi on her own mobile phone. She then joined us for a drink in the bar at the bottom of the hill (Charlies Bar) while we waited. She was a star! So if you are reading this Sunset Hill Resort general manager - give Kamila a pay rise!!!
We had a lovely stay at Sunset Hill Resort and would recommend it to anyone visiting Koh Phangan. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Service was exemplary, with no request being too much trouble. Our unit was well designed and furnished and spotlessly clean. The views from the balconies are simply stunning. The entire team was friendly and welcoming and Sunset Hill was the perfect end to our three week tour of Vietnam and Cambodia, during which we stayed in a number of 5 star hotels - but this was the best and proved to be a lovely base for us to explore the island on motor bike and eat in friendly, local restaurants. If you want a formal, western style hotel experience with entertainment on site or organised for you, this is not for you, but if you want a luxurious base to explore a relatively unspoilt, tropical paradise or somewhere to relax and unwind 'away from it all', then go ahead and book. (Due to steep hills, steps and sharp falls outside low windows, designed to maximise the fabulous views, the hotel is not suitable for those with mobility problems or very young children).

Room Tip: A room with a sea view and a roof terrace makes the most of the stunning location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for the first 5 days of our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a more peaceful, relaxing start to our trip. We must thank Adam, Kamila and all the staff for their advice, help and flexibility. Anything we needed they sorted and we were so tempted to stay.
Yes its at the top of a short hill. We walked it - no problem. We got taxi's up it - no problem and we hired a very cheap scooter through reception and it was ace. The hill is the best bit, it gives you unbelieveable views across the sea!
The two or three restaurants at the bottom of the short hill are cheap and cheerful, this is stil a bit off the beaten track for Koh Phangan, if you want top range reception can arrange for a reservation at the fish restaurant at Ban Tai.
The pool is beautiful and clean, great for cooling off and it was quiet enough to always get a lounger. free towels etc are always available.
The food in the restaurant was great, freshly cooked, sometimes had to wait but you can help yourself to a beer and relax with the sunset flooding in most nights. They do an order service for pizzas from a place a few miles away. I recomend them.
The appartment we had was in jasmine and was exec studio i think. Out of season excellent value, beautiful arcitecture and really good quality matress.
I emailed them before to check if any buidling was going on, ask about the best rooms for my budget and what the atmosphere would be like out of season and in the run up to full moon. I suggest you do the same as they were soooo helpful.
Recomended by someone who's done backpacker dirt cheap years ago, doesn't like the stuffiness of hotels, likes to chat with the staff to get their insider knowledge and appreciates relaxed friendly service.
We had a great time.

Room Tip: email and ask them for their recomendations for your group / budget. We chose Jasmine First floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We booked a six night stay here but we left after our second night and went back to samui. Quite simply because it was not for us. Upon arrival we did explain it was our anniversary. We had been to several other hotels before this, as we had been in Thailand for five weeks and this was our last stop. All other hotels had made an effort by decorating our bed etc and other small gestures of good will. However at Sunset hill we did not receive such gestures and instead were told it would cost us 2500 baht for a bottle of prosecco and two massages to celebrate our anniversary. Rooms are ok and a good size with beautiful views. However it was not spotless. The pool area was very small and only had a maximum of eight sun loungers and when the hotel has 30 plus rooms there is simply not enough space around the pool. These loungers were taken both days by one family. The beach is quite dirty and rocky so it isn't ideal. The situation of the hotel is up a steep hill, so it is isolated. There are no nice restaurants with walking distance, so you need a bike or some other form of transport.  Really this hotel is ideal if you want to cook your own meals as there is a kitchen. There are two bars, one of which we did not experience.  But the other 'Sea Garden 2' has a decent pool you can use if you buy a drink. We ordered 2 mojitos and they were awful. I tried to be positive the next day and went for breakfast. I ordered bacon and eggs but the eggs were vile. The food is poor standard cheap but poor. One of the chefs I actually saw picking her nose and cooking food, which is not acceptable. However, they do order pasta and pizza from a local Italian which is delicious. But I would not eat anything from the hotel. Once we left there was no one there to help us or wave us off like all other hotels we have stayed at. We changed our ticket to go back to samui early and the thai receptionist did help us with this. Kamilla did explain she would get back to us regarding our money after speaking to adam as we left a few nights earlier so we had lost a fair bit of money. However, she didnt get back to us and we left 6.15am the next morning snd no ome was in reception. Adam really helped us he took us to the seven eleven and waited for us. The customer service was good and we can't fault that but the restaurant, location, pool and finishing touches were extremely poor. It's upsetting when it's the last stop of your holiday and you have to leave because of all of the above. If being in the middle of no where is for you then here is the place but there are more exceptional hotels in Thailand at a cheaper price. So I won't be recommending sunset hill to anyone unfortunately. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We selected sunset hill because it looked beautiful from the photos, and we were not disappointed. What we did not expect, however, was the wonderful customer service we received from Kamila. She made our stay extra special simply because she cared about us having a good experience. It was my sister's 25th, and the hotel made us 2 sundaes and gave us 2 changs on the house. It was a small touch but it made such a huge difference! The view is stunning from the lounge area and the infinity pool is amazing. It was the best place we stayed, and a highlight of our trip. Stay here, I can't rate it enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Last winter we spend our holliday on SSH resort. Ask the taxidriver to drive up the road uphill. You can park and turn on the top. Enjoy the view. The best on koh phangan. SSH is situated on a perfect place on the island. Beaches, restaurants, music, scooter rent, washing clothes etc all in the direct neighbourhood. SSH is build on à Hill and is à quiet place to be. Not a place for small children and elderly people. The manager will be helpfull with all your questions. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of the green Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. The penthouse apartments also have a kitchen and dining and living room. The resort also has an fantastic infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant. Let us help you experience the holiday of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Hill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.