We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rung Arun Resort

Save Saved
You added Rung Arun Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rung Arun Resort
Ban Tai Beach, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 104 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place was fantastic, we will definitely be going back. The staff are so hard working the place is spotless. The owners are brilliant, their part of the beach is kept pristine, the location is excellent the food here and at the surrounding resorts was great - next door does beach BBQ, walk down a bit and enjoy a quite drink and watch he sunset at bob marley bar and on the other side you can get abit livelier with some louder bars and resorts. But rung Arun is definitely a good choice all round. It you really good coffee, cake and breakfast on the road at the top of the resort on the main road is a coffee bar - these people too are totally amazing too and the coffee is to die for.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - we had a beach front at first but we stayed longer and moved to a garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed at Rung Arun a few months ago and loved it. It was one of those places that I say to myself "I'll take the time to give them a great review when I get home", and then I get lazy and never do. But this time I am because they really helped me out.
After months of travel I realized I left a memory card with many weeks of pics somewhere. I emailed Rung Arun and they got back to me saying they had found a card. They have now mailed it back to Canada, and have not charged me a penny, even though I've tried to pay for their troubles and mailing costs.
The other reviews will tell you why to stay here (great beach, amazing people, good food), so I'll leave mine at that.. they are genuinely great people that will go the extra mile, even after you've stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights in Koh Phangon, for the Full Moon party. We booked online as we were worried about availability of things for the full moon. The resort was empty for the first few days though until the full moon party. The resort is quiet and relaxing... Very clean and has a great spot on the beach. The couple who run Rung Arun are very nice, and extremely helpful.
If you are looking for somewhere a bit more lively the resort next along on the beach is very lively, and does an amazing BBQ in th evenings. Having said that you can't hear the loud music from Rung Arun - which is good if you like your sleep! There are lots of cats and dogs on this resort, but they are very freindly!
I would come back here again, despite it being a little too far away from Had Rin or any shops... This is fine of you hire a motor bike, but if not, then expect to pay 50-100 baht to get into Thong Sala.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

My fiancée and I originally planned to only stay a few nights at the Rung Arun to use the resort as a relaxing base for before and after the full moon party. However, we fell in love with the Rung Arun from the first moment we arrived and ended up staying a total of nine nights. The resort is owned and run by a very friendly Thai couple and a handful of staff, giving the place a relaxed family feel that we just never wanted to leave. The bungalows are superb value for money, with air-conditioning, a fridge, safety-deposit box, and bath/shower and the whole resort is spotlessly clean. The actual location of the resort is on the edge of Ban Tai so the local area is fairly quiet, but the livelier Thong Sala and Haad Rin are only a short cab ride away. Apart from resort restaurant (which does excellent food) there is also a slightly livelier beach bar & restaurant next door which does a very good BBQ every night on the beach. Cannot recommend this resort enough & we would love to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

we went there during first week of september. Since it was the low season, the entire property had only 2 sets of people. First of all the property is located along the nice Ban-Tai stretch and faces the beach. There is a nice pool and wonderfully decorated restaurent. Place is populated by lazy cats and friendly dogs. Since we were vegetarians, the landlady cooked us a delicious vegetarian meal. They were immensely friendly . Next day, we got taxi rides at fair prices, amazing breakfast, and advice on where to head on the island.
This place is near perfect on the wonderful pictueresque island. Prices are dirt cheap, rooms have everything conceivable (AC, hot water), excellent settings (Beach facing, swimming pool) and to top it all - outstanding set of people as owners (cook excellent meals and terribly honest).

I still have excellent memories of this place and would surely come again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

we went there during first week of september. Since it was the low season, the entire property had only 2 sets of people. First of all the property is located along the nice Ban-Tai stretch and faces the beach. There is a nice pool and wonderfully decorated restaurent. Place is populated by lazy cats and friendly dogs. Since we were vegetarians, the owner cooked us a great vegetarian meal. They were immensely friendly . Next day, we got taxi rides at fair prices, amazing breakfast, and advice on where to head on the island.
This place is near perfect on the wonderful pictueresque island. Prices are dirt cheap, rooms have everything conceivable (AC, hot water), excellent settings (Beach facing, swimming pool) and to top it all - outstanding set of people as owners (cook excellent meals and terribly honest).

I still have excellent memories of this place and would surely come again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauffen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We have been at the Rungarun Bungalows a couple of times in the last 4 years!! It is the best value you can get on the island. There is a nice and clean pool, beautiful bungalows, nice beach and also a beautiful garden. The owners Pan and Kit are very nice and they always care about you.

Enjoy your stay there! Gabi and Gunter

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rung Arun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rung Arun Resort

Address: Ban Tai Beach, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rung Arun Resort offers a family run business on the beautiful west coast of Koh Phangan with beautiful views across to Koh Samui. There are 16 rooms in total - set in one acre of grounds which include a swimming poo and a restaurant. A wide range of prices are available - from 900 Baht up to 3,500 Baht per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rung Arun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rung Arun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.