We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Outside, Weak Indoors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of See Through Resort Haad Yao

Save Saved
You added See Through Resort Haad Yao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
See Through Resort Haad Yao
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85/6, Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Outside, Weak Indoors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Beautiful island, and right on a stunning beach. Cool and pretty decent restaurant right by the water, and a decent bar. A few other resorts and bungalows dot the shore, which is not accesible if you are't staying at a hotel, so it was never crowded. If you are going to the Full Moon Party (which you probably are if you're on this island), you should know that it's about a 50 minute drive there - which we liked. We weren't worried about our room getting broken into, and it was a lot quieter on that side of the island. Pool was pretty nice. Room was pretty spartan and left quite a bit to be desired - we had no hot water in the shower, and there was no hot water/coffee maker, very thin door with only a privacy lock (no deadbolt) that could easily have been broken into if someone wanted to. Good location overall though, and good value.

Room Tip: Definitely spring for the poolside room - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    28
    10
    14
See reviews for
9
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Izhevsk, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

for the first time staying at this hotel in April 2013, we were pleased. in October 2013 stayed here for the second time and very disappointed. staff has changed, become unpleasant. eve of his departure was hacked a safe and stole $ 1,000 and a large amount of Russian money. When we entered the room, the door was open, and our password is not fit to be safe. staff claimed they did not see anything and do not know, the police arrived drunk and nothing helped. senior manager came to the hotel very late and said that there was nothing we can not help, the money we could have stolen our friends who live in the neighboring rooms. the fact of burglary safe and the introduction of a new password manager did not explain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

From the outside it looks like a nice hotel en honestly the pool is longest I've seen in Thailand :-)! Rooms are spacious enough and would recommend the pool-access room. Booking is often more cheap online then at the hotel.
Cleanliness wasn't great however (black feet when walking in the room), pool was not well maintained and too warm. Personel was not really friendly and quick, although a few exceptions here. We left a day earlyier then planned and were glad we did. It was ok, nothing more, nothing less. There are definitely better hotels on Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived at the hotel we were informed that we had 2 rooms instead of the 3 booked from "booking.com". Another guest was rejected by the receptionist because the hotel was full, even if he had a booking reservation (an overbooking had took place) . As to the room, apparently nice but not so clean (most of all sheets) and the water closet had problems so that it lost "liquid" when you flush it. Finally, the service offered by the waitress in the reception was awful and very unpolite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I just ate at the restaurant and this was a really bad decision. The location looks and is nice, but the food and service are terrible. I ate a lasagne and they got me spaghetti because they don't have lasagne. Then why is it on the menu?!? The prices are really expensive for Thailand and the portions are really small. The staff is unfriendly, barely speaks english and is slow as hell. I recommend the place besides it. Don't go here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Whilst we didn't stay in the See Through resort, we ate in the restaurant 4 times in a 5 day stay, and enjoyed the friendly, relaxed nature of the place. The food was possibly amongst the best we had during our stay, particularly the Tom Yum soup and the papaya salad (though I'd advise giving the "Prawn Party" a miss!). Happy Hour cocktails were a bargain, and the ambience when the sun went down was everything we could have wanted. Music was occasionally a little dodgy, but hey, everyone's a critic!! We chatted with staff, who were relaxed and happy. A definite must in Haad Yao!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The place is quite beautiful itself. However, the service is frustrating slow, not customer centered (think money hungry locals trying to squeeze every penny they can out of you) and bottom-line terrible.

They actually threatened to not give my room keys when we decided to stay one more night and hadn't paid our extra night by the next morning. The lady who sits in the front was so rude and arrogant it made me want to leave right away. Too bad it was too late by then.

Our friends stayed in a different place just down the beach and had a great time. With so many options to chose from I would definitely recommend walking around and finding a better place. The facilities will be quite similar as we found out they are all pretty much the same. But hopefully the service will be much better...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to See Through Resort Haad Yao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about See Through Resort Haad Yao

Address: 85/6, Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — See Through Resort Haad Yao 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your See Through Resort Haad Yao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Yao See Through Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage See Through Resort Haad Yao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.