We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, relaxing atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of See Through Resort Haad Yao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added See Through Resort Haad Yao to your Saves list
See Through Resort Haad Yao
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   85/6, Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 113 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Booked this place last minute as accommodation was scarce around Christmas and were very pleasantly surprised. we stayed in one of the bungalows as there were 3 of us so it was a bit of a squeeze but the place was clean and had everything you needed in a room. this part of the island is so laid back and a lot prettier than other parts. although it was a bit more of a journey to hat rin from here, it was still only about 150b in a taxi per person. i loved the beach bar, we spent most early evenings here watching the sunset. the food wasn't the best and although the staff in the bar were friendly enough, they were so laid back that sometimes it came across as if they couldn't be bothered with you. the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. we stayed 3 nights then came back again at the end of the our holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    31
    14
    20
See reviews for
10
70
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Haad Yao was our last stop on Thailand. We found this part of island really relaxing, despite it is far away from the center. We loved the surrounding, staff was really kind, especially the gays from the beach bar where we spent most of our time. The bungalow was really clean, and there was nothing we could complain about. There is also a big pool, but we didn't consider using it because nice beach was really near. If we ever visit Koh Phangan, we will stay again in See through resort, without any doubt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We didn't book a hotel for Koh Phangan as we weren't sure about how long the Full Moon Party etc would be and too be honest we decided to stay here because it was quite a way from the party. We wanted to relax the next day and we loved the fact we weren't near the thousands of people who would be looking for accommodation. This place wasn't amazing but the rooms were clean and comfortable, nice pool and a wicked beach bar complete with swings and hammocks. Did the trick and was cheap and cheerful! It's opposite a bank and they speak really good English plus the hotel provides transport to the party at a small cost, so wasn't bad :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I'll start off by saying I really like the hotel's design. Exposed concrete is very beautiful in my opinion.
The rooms are also clean and neat, as well as the bathroom and balcony. The restaurant is a bit pricey, but the food is edible enough, and the shakes are professionally made.

However, the location is problematic to say the least. It is very far away from many many attractions: it took the taxi (from port) 25 minutes to arrive to the hotel, and getting to Haad Rin takes 45-50 minutes on a scooter.
Also, there aren't many restaurants in the close area, and only two places to rent scooters from - both demand passports and not too friendly either...

The rooms are cleaned every other day, and while the extremely long pool is a nice garnish, it's unusable for adults (at least in my opinion).

Overall - cute hotel, but too many downsides. There are many (better) alternatives.

Room Tip: Pool side are way too expensive, go for the pool view - low price and nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington nz
Level Contributor
320 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here in 2009 and were very pleased with it so we returned. I love the beach bar and restaurant area; hammocks, mats, dining on the beach. I spent a day just swinging in the hammock on the beach reading, and everynight we would have a cold beer watching the sunset. They definitely have the best bar area on this beach. The rooms are large, comfy bed, LCD TV, fridge, balcony, large bathroom in need of some maintenance and a good scrub.

Unfortunately that’s about all the good stuff. The pool even though the bottom was vacuumed everyday, had debris floating on the top and it was just too warm - it was not nice to swim in at all. The restaurant food was not nice at all, the worst chicken and cashews dish I have ever tasted. Although none of the food on this beach is any good. I liked the staff in the bar area they were friendly enough although poorly managed, and some were pretty stoned at times. They certainly smartened up temporarily when the boss man came around.

You were asked not to flush your toilet paper in the loo, which is expected in Koh Phangan, but to only clean the lidless rubbish bin out every two days is pretty disgusting.

So considering the above we found it very overpriced at NZ$67, especially when you could not use the pool. We would not go back to stay or eat but definitely for a beer to watch the sunset.

Room Tip: the best restaurant in Haad Yao is CRAVE, it is upstairs across the street from 7/11. the western a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We moved here from a quieter beach and mainly chose it because it had power when the whole area had a blackout and we were hungry!
We stayed in one of 4 bungalows over the road from the main hotel - 800 baht for an AC room with bungalow with balcony and hammock.
The room was huge but sparesly furnished with only a bed and no table, wardrobe or shelf. There was a seperate room with a large concrete shelf which we used to store our bags etc
AC worked a treat and the room was bright and airy. bathroom was a little dingy but the shower worked well.
The balcony was large and had a comfy hammock and a large bench/chair running along the length which would have been great if not for the ant highway that was running across it!

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great base for exploring the island and enjoying the beach. The restaurant/bar was good and the service was good. There are lots of seating options e.g hammocks, indoor and outdoor tables and chairs and an area with floor cushions for chiling out and watching the sunset.

Pool looked lovely but we didn't use it as the sea was so nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We checked into this hotel for the full moon party (we were going to stay 2 nights). When we pulled up to the place it was one of those moments where I was hoping that wasn't our hotel but it was. After checking in, the guy showing us up to the room didn't offer to help us with our bags at all. We had 2 huge roaches in our room as soon as we opened the door and the staff member just kicked them out of the room like it was no big deal. I know Thailand is a tropical environment and there are roaches and other bugs to be expected, but in this scenario it seemed like a cleanliness issue and we were not pleased that for $75 a night we had to deal with roaches, unfriendly staff, and a dark dingy place. The whole hotel just looks like one lump of concrete and doesn't really look like it does in photos. The surrounding area immediately next to the hotel had garbage everywhere and the pool seemed like a small alleyway where no one wanted to hang out near.

We weren't expecting much from this place, but certainly not what we experienced and the attitude that went along with it for $75 a night (which is a lot in Thailand). After finding a much better and similarly priced hotel down the beach, we checked out of this place and asked if we could at least get refunded for the 2nd night since we weren't even staying. The manager didnt allow it and when we mentioned the reasons we weren't staying, he didn't care and just commented on the fact that they succeeded because they got our money so they don't care if we felt cheated. We booked the hotel through Agoada and when we asked for the manager's name (so we can notify Agoada of our experience) he wouldn't even give us his name, which was a sure sign to us that this hotel has had similar complaints and guest experiences in the past.

Overall I felt jipped and robbed of my money and completely taken advantage of. All of the Thai people we came across on our 2 week trip were beyond friendly and helpful, and this was the only guy who was just horrible and sleazy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.3 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#64 of 90 in Ko Phangan
3.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
#75 of 253 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haad Yao Bungalows
Haad Yao Bungalows
#36 of 113 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan
Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan
#13 of 113 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#52 of 253 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haad Yao Resort
Haad Yao Resort
#71 of 90 in Ko Phangan
3.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to See Through Resort Haad Yao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about See Through Resort Haad Yao

Address: 85/6, Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — See Through Resort Haad Yao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your See Through Resort Haad Yao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Yao See Through Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage See Through Resort Haad Yao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.