We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, yet too far away from attractions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of See Through Resort Haad Yao

Save Saved
You added See Through Resort Haad Yao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
See Through Resort Haad Yao
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85/6, Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, yet too far away from attractions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I'll start off by saying I really like the hotel's design. Exposed concrete is very beautiful in my opinion.
The rooms are also clean and neat, as well as the bathroom and balcony. The restaurant is a bit pricey, but the food is edible enough, and the shakes are professionally made.

However, the location is problematic to say the least. It is very far away from many many attractions: it took the taxi (from port) 25 minutes to arrive to the hotel, and getting to Haad Rin takes 45-50 minutes on a scooter.
Also, there aren't many restaurants in the close area, and only two places to rent scooters from - both demand passports and not too friendly either...

The rooms are cleaned every other day, and while the extremely long pool is a nice garnish, it's unusable for adults (at least in my opinion).

Overall - cute hotel, but too many downsides. There are many (better) alternatives.

Room Tip: Pool side are way too expensive, go for the pool view - low price and nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    28
    10
    14
See reviews for
9
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wellington nz
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here in 2009 and were very pleased with it so we returned. I love the beach bar and restaurant area; hammocks, mats, dining on the beach. I spent a day just swinging in the hammock on the beach reading, and everynight we would have a cold beer watching the sunset. They definitely have the best bar area on this beach. The rooms are large, comfy bed, LCD TV, fridge, balcony, large bathroom in need of some maintenance and a good scrub.

Unfortunately that’s about all the good stuff. The pool even though the bottom was vacuumed everyday, had debris floating on the top and it was just too warm - it was not nice to swim in at all. The restaurant food was not nice at all, the worst chicken and cashews dish I have ever tasted. Although none of the food on this beach is any good. I liked the staff in the bar area they were friendly enough although poorly managed, and some were pretty stoned at times. They certainly smartened up temporarily when the boss man came around.

You were asked not to flush your toilet paper in the loo, which is expected in Koh Phangan, but to only clean the lidless rubbish bin out every two days is pretty disgusting.

So considering the above we found it very overpriced at NZ$67, especially when you could not use the pool. We would not go back to stay or eat but definitely for a beer to watch the sunset.

Room Tip: the best restaurant in Haad Yao is CRAVE, it is upstairs across the street from 7/11. the western a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We moved here from a quieter beach and mainly chose it because it had power when the whole area had a blackout and we were hungry!
We stayed in one of 4 bungalows over the road from the main hotel - 800 baht for an AC room with bungalow with balcony and hammock.
The room was huge but sparesly furnished with only a bed and no table, wardrobe or shelf. There was a seperate room with a large concrete shelf which we used to store our bags etc
AC worked a treat and the room was bright and airy. bathroom was a little dingy but the shower worked well.
The balcony was large and had a comfy hammock and a large bench/chair running along the length which would have been great if not for the ant highway that was running across it!

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great base for exploring the island and enjoying the beach. The restaurant/bar was good and the service was good. There are lots of seating options e.g hammocks, indoor and outdoor tables and chairs and an area with floor cushions for chiling out and watching the sunset.

Pool looked lovely but we didn't use it as the sea was so nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We checked into this hotel for the full moon party (we were going to stay 2 nights). When we pulled up to the place it was one of those moments where I was hoping that wasn't our hotel but it was. After checking in, the guy showing us up to the room didn't offer to help us with our bags at all. We had 2 huge roaches in our room as soon as we opened the door and the staff member just kicked them out of the room like it was no big deal. I know Thailand is a tropical environment and there are roaches and other bugs to be expected, but in this scenario it seemed like a cleanliness issue and we were not pleased that for $75 a night we had to deal with roaches, unfriendly staff, and a dark dingy place. The whole hotel just looks like one lump of concrete and doesn't really look like it does in photos. The surrounding area immediately next to the hotel had garbage everywhere and the pool seemed like a small alleyway where no one wanted to hang out near.

We weren't expecting much from this place, but certainly not what we experienced and the attitude that went along with it for $75 a night (which is a lot in Thailand). After finding a much better and similarly priced hotel down the beach, we checked out of this place and asked if we could at least get refunded for the 2nd night since we weren't even staying. The manager didnt allow it and when we mentioned the reasons we weren't staying, he didn't care and just commented on the fact that they succeeded because they got our money so they don't care if we felt cheated. We booked the hotel through Agoada and when we asked for the manager's name (so we can notify Agoada of our experience) he wouldn't even give us his name, which was a sure sign to us that this hotel has had similar complaints and guest experiences in the past.

Overall I felt jipped and robbed of my money and completely taken advantage of. All of the Thai people we came across on our 2 week trip were beyond friendly and helpful, and this was the only guy who was just horrible and sleazy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great place, great bungalow. More value for the money then the nearby sunset bungalow.

Only issue is the restaurant. Orders are never correct, coffee cold and everything is expensive(compared to nearby places). Worst thai food we have eaten in the last three weeks. They use a lot of fabricated sauces etc, so you get the picture...

So stay here, but do not eat here!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

I visited this place twice, in 2009 and now May in 2012.
Rooms located on the first floor have immediate access to the swimming pool. This is aparently the best part of the hotel.
Restaurant is normal Thai shoreline place, staff is ok. Personell of the whole place is friendly, nothing bad to tell.
Two things changed since 2009. Seems that management of the place changed and hotel infra (electricity,aircon) are not in the perfect shape.

Second thing is that music bar was opened on the beach and music can be clearly heard in some rooms. Last night it was till 3 am.
This annoyed me so that I decided to change the location, since there are plenty of options around.
I was not refund for the nighits i did not use unfortunately.
So please mind this if you are sensitive to music sounds, may be not exactly comfortable place for you.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok (Thaland)and Beppu(Japan)
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in April and had really great time at these small family run boutique resort. We have booked 3 different room types for 6 ppl. I would recommend the "deluxe seaview" for any couple on honeymoon trip, you will find a room on the 2nd floor with super huge private balcony and a giant hammock. The delux seaview's balcony was the largest we've ever had during the whole trip. Just laid back on the hammock with a cold beer, watch the sunset....that's the happiest moment of my life:)

The 'deluxe pool access' is a good for both honeymoon and friends trip. The room was good size and lovely. You can jump to the pool directly from your room. The 'deluxe pool view' has the same features as the 'deluxe pool access', except you will get a lovely balcony instead of the pool side.

Food was good and bar/restuarant staff very friendly and polite. Were very helpful and full of tips on how to save on transportation cost. The only complain is that, there is none of night staff at the lobby during 1-7am. We have lost one of our room key at half-moon party, we got back at 6 am. and really need to get them to open the room for us. The hotel receptionist is away and the only lobby door is locked! (I know we should have leave our key at the lobby. i wouldn't blame them for not being there tho)

We have read a lot of negative reviews for this place and was a little skeptical at first. Surprisingly we loved this place so much! well 30USD/night for this hidden gem suits us just fine but others may have higher expectations. We would definitely recommend this place the anyone who want a lil sweet escape with attentive warm family style service and those who travel with not so high budget. Thank you see through! we will see you again very soon<3

Room Tip: "The deluxe seaview" room is the most spacious guest room in this resort and offer super l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to See Through Resort Haad Yao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about See Through Resort Haad Yao

Address: 85/6, Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — See Through Resort Haad Yao 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your See Through Resort Haad Yao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Yao See Through Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage See Through Resort Haad Yao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.