We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate WINNING Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shiralea Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Ultimate WINNING Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Imagine a place where from the offset everything is just perfect! The price, the rooms, the location, the food and especially the staff. Thats Shiralea! Throughout my stay I simply could not find one fault with this resort! The only thing i was disappointed about was the fact I had to leave! Whether you are staying solo, as a couple, with a family or with friends, Shiralea is undoubtedly the BEST place to stay in the whole of Koh Phangan! Literally the ultimate winning experience.

Room Tip: every room depending on personal preference (A/C or not) is perfectly suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    33
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
61
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel through contiki! was awesome, the staff are great and They're all very friendly! Food is good and the resort has a sweet atmosphere & vibe, especially before a half or full moon party! The rooms are clean and the resort is located right near the beach as well which is perfect for a good tanning sesh! Would recommend staying here to anyone! Great place for a group of friends as well as solo travelers wanting to meet new people!
Big ups for Shiralea! i will be back xoxox

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The rooms are basic but clean, but facilities at this resort are fab. Staff are friendly, food is good and the atmosphere is great. I stayed here as part of a trip where there was a large group of us and they were vey relaxed about rules... basically there aren't any, despite this sleeping was not an issue. I rarely left the resort but the beach is only minutes walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely resort and a great price we stayed there for 4 nights and although not right on the beach it's only a 2 minute walk! Great food and a lively bar definitely a great place for travellers! Pool is lovely and deep and perfect for a chill, friendly staff who were up for a laugh, not really a family place but as I say perfect for travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a tour for 3 nights. It is super cute, and I was nervous to sleep in a bungalow but they were actually pretty nice. Only a 5 min walk to the beach. They do your laundry for very cheap, and fold/iron everything for you which is nice to get done near the middle of your holiday. The staff all speak good English, as a lot of them are from Australia. It is a good place to spend a night or two at, however it is very far from the main area of town. I would recommend it for a night at least tho, it is a unique and cute experience and I liked it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Really, really nice place, great staff, awesome relaxed, party atmosphere! Good location too, close to the beach and restaurants. Try an "attitude adjuster" and ring the bell! I'd definitely come back! Good wifi as well!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

had a pretty good stay here the staff were really nice, the food was pretty tasty and reasonably priced, bungalows had all we needed...the only thing is that they have contiki tours stay here so it can be pretty hectic and loud. you can here the music and noise from the bungalows but they dont seem to go that late at night, if you are up for a party its probably perfect

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shiralea Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Address: 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiralea Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the stunning tropical island of Koh Pha Ngan - home to Thailand's famous 'full moon party' - Shiralea is a boutique resort designed to be a backpackers paradise. Welcome to a 'flashpacking' experience. Shiralea was built by a group of travellers who wanted a haven to return to. With a focus on 'good times' we created a friendly and vibrant atmosphere which puts our guests immediately at ease. Shiralea is a place where strangers become friends, we designed the resort with a social aspect which sets us apart, our guests love how they can do exactly what they want at Shiralea- whether that be a crazy night at the bar or a quiet one watching movies. Shiralea is the ideal spot to set up for a few days you'll never forget. Located 1 minutes walk from the beautiful Haad Yao beach. Our resort has all the creature comforts you could want and we cater for all budgets - hot showers, comfortable beds, wall-mounted fan or air conditioned bungalows, an ensuite in each bungalow and your own balcony with a hammock. In addition to our 30 bungalows, we have great facilities to keep you entertained, including a restaurant that offers delicious and well priced Thai and Western meals, a great bar, free wifi, large swimming pool with Jacuzzi and poolside bar, movie lounge, a games room with pool table and a massage hut. Shiralea has everything you need to enjoy your 'flashpacking' experience, but it's the memories that our guests treasure. Lose yourself in the fine art of doing nothing or celebrate balmy nights dancing into the wee hours with new friends. Our staff always welcome our guests with open arms, so all you need to do is bring a bag of basics and a smile. We invite you to join the fun. Book your stay with Shiralea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shiralea Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiralea Backpackers Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiralea Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.