We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and quiet - great family run small rosot 10 metes from the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wattana Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Wattana Resort to your Saves list
Wattana Resort
69/2 Moo.7 Chaloklum Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Tulum, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and quiet - great family run small rosot 10 metes from the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed there 9 days at the end of Feb. 2011 - we tried all the 3 types of bungalows (800-2000TB) and all where good. It is good place form the kids, food is pretty OK but the best is the silence and relaxed environment, no bars or karaoke no music in the restaurant and no sound from the mountain roads.
No Pool but a great pool next door (which can be used)
Good free Wi-Fi
easy access to the larger beaches and waterfalls which should not be missed
overall very pleasant, low key and cheap :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

A good stop in the calm part of Koh Pha-Ngan, bungalows on the beach are wonderful

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed at the Wattana resort for 6 nights at the beginning of our family trip to Thailand this summer. We are a family of 6 so rented a family bungalow and a standard bungalow between us. The bungalows are basic but clean and cosy. The beds are pretty hard but they are pretty much the same everywhere in Thailand. We chose the location because we wanted to be far away from the crowds coming for the full moon party. It was a perfect location for a family, but if you are looking to party it is probably the wrong place for you. Each bungalow has a hammock and you have clean towels when you arrive, but just be aware they aren't changed after that.

As other reviewers have said, it is a family run resort, so we feel like we really got to know the owners and their adorable little girl who visits with everyone at meals. Out of all of the places we stayed on our trip, this was number one for my kids, probably because it was so friendly and personal. We were picked up from the ferry by the owners and brought to the resort. The food is fantastic here and the price is reasonable. We went to a few other places but ended up eating here for most meals as they were the best. The beach is right out the door. We were a little disappointed that the water was very shallow during the day and not really swimmable until the evening, but we discovered that this time of year most of the beaches on the North and West sides of the Island are like this. We walked into the little village along the beach often. There are some great little seafood restaurants right on the water in the village that are worth trying.

We rented a longtail boat for a day and toured the East side of the island to various beaches. The swimming is much better this time of year on this side of the Island, but it is true that you can get stuck there. The weather turned on us when we were at Bottle Beach and we were stranded for a few hours until the storm let up. Koh Mah is a 30 minute walk or a 5 minute scooter ride and had some good snorkeling. The beach there was a little dirty and there is construction going on so I wouldn't want to stay there. We hired a driver to take us to the beaches on the West side of the Island for the day which was reasonable.

My husband and I were in Koh Samui for our honeymoon 20 years ago and brought our 4 kids back to Thailand for our anniversary this summer. Koh Phangan is definately much quieter and nicer than Samui and we would highly recommend the Wattana if you go.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed in the modern bungalow for 4 nights and the resort is very relaxing and quiet. The resort is at the end of the bay and is about a 10 - 15 minute walk into town. There is also a restaurant which is open all day. The only downside was that our room wasn't cleaned during our stay and we had to ask for clean towels and bath mat and change the toilet bin. However nothing else could be faulted so was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

I LOVE this place, LOVE the staff and family that run it, and cant wait to go back.........

As soon as you arrive at the resort, you realise how friendly, accommodating and welcoming the staff are. I have travelled and stayed on more than 12 island, and this, by far was the best experience.

Staff
This is a family run business, and they go out of their way to help. Whether it is getting taxis, hiring scooters, booking your tours, advising on places to visit, they will always bend over backwards.

Accommodation
The huts are well priced (compared to the expensive dodgy places I stayed at) very clean (no strange smells or insects from the drains) and just has a good feel about it. Most of them have a hammock on the pouch, with views of the ocean, which is about 10-20 metres away.

Food
All the food we ate here was delicious, from the breakfast to dinner. The prices were really good, and we were impressed by the quality of the meals.

The Resort
It is located on the end of Chaloklum beach, which is a clean and enjoyable beach, away from the touristy areas. There is a variety of water sports on the beach.

Things to do
Close-by you will find shopping area, bars and restaurants, an elephant camp, archery and great beaches, tours leaving for day trip to other islands.

This place really feels like home and you will plan your next trip there as soon as you leave. I would recommend Wattana to all my friends and family, and hoping to stay with them for 3 months, so I can explore the rest of the island.

You can book directly with them at
http://www.wattanaresort.com

  • Liked — Clean rooms and amazing staff'
  • Disliked — Having to leave...........
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wattana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattana Resort

Address: 69/2 Moo.7 Chaloklum Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Wattana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wattana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.