We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the beach is so nice and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Scene Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sea Scene Resort to your Saves list
Sea Scene Resort
Aow Plaayleam, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“the beach is so nice and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We initially planned to stay here for 2 nights only, but when arrived we just kept on extending our stay, it was that good.
The resort has simple and basic bungalows, but it was nice. We had a bungalow on the beach with a fantastic view and a nice veranda. The sunsets were amazing. I think most bungalows are without TV, but who needs a TV if paradise on your door step? Also our air conditioner was on it's last legs and was noisy but the place itself was just so great that it didn't bother us much.
The beach has large rocks, makes it feel secluded. Also a very quiet, peaceful place. Not suitable for party animals, as no bars in walking distance and the resort itself is very quiet.
The resort has a restaurant, serving very delicious Thai food, also breakfast is nice.
Staff at the resort are very friendly and helpful. The dogs are very funny, we saw one of them climbing on the top of a massive rock in the sea to watch the sunset.
It's close to Thong Sala and kind of centre of the island, making travelling to other parts of the island less of a hussle if you have a scooter. I will be staying there when visit koh phangan again as the place was just making me feel so relaxed, it felt like being in paradise. Very suitable for couples and families who are looking for peace and quiet in a beautiful setting!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    23
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
38
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
williams
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

we booked sea scene for 4 nights on agoda and when we arrived we felt so welcome and relaxed that we stayed 4 more days,we left koh phangan and went to koh tao,only to return to sea scene the very next day with 2 more of our friends...........we want to bring our children back here the staff is kind and helpfull the bungalows are clean and comfy and the dog acts like hes your pet at home:)if your looking to party go someware else but if you want a good swimming beach and family environment this is a great place to kick back and watch the sun set........we wish we could have stayed longer ......oh and the gardens and grounds are clean and very well kept,thankyou to all the staff here for working so hard wren and drew, usa

Room Tip: we stayed in all the price ranges,if i had little kids i would want beach front to keep an eye on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arrived at this place with my friend for New Year Celebration and could not ask more! Very near to the beach which is crystal clear water & nice natural rock; you can snorkel too! The room is basic but with powerful aircond. Restaurant food is good too! There is free wifi at the restaurant and you can also book to massage & the masseur will massage in your room. But what I like the most is the friendly owner! This place is a family resort so they really care and will help you most for any information. You can ask them to book motorcycles for you, and they will try to find (even when it is peak season!). The place is near to Thongsala, (5 mins drive) but a bit far to Haad Rin (20 mins drive). Just be careful when you want to drive there because the road is small & the taxi drive very fast there. Really enjoy my stay there and will definitely recommend and come back there again. Thank you Gwaa for the lovely stay! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Friendly and familiar atmosphere. Nice common room, very cosy and includes a very good restaurant. We love the smoothies and tried almost all off them. Our favorite is the mango one ;).

Very lonely and quiet beach with white fine sand and palms. The bungalows are in a nice and well maintained garden. Even the cheapest bungalow (700) is with ac and clean. Our had view to the sea.

Staff is very encouraged to help.

We would definitely recommend you to stay here, if you want to relax! There was nothing which we could complain about.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I arrived in koh phangan without any reservation. I rented a scooter and moved to north to find a place where to stay.
the first I checked was sea scene.. and I couldn't have a better strike!
the place is absolutely marvellous, a quite oasis with a wonderful beach.
people who work there are absolely kind, polite, and available for any thing you may need.
there are 2 kind of bungalows, I tried both: the garden ones, nice and clean, with no view, and the front beach ones, who are s t u n n i n g!, at 3 meters from the beach, with the sea as only rumour.
generally, the place is quite, no noise at all.
the food is very good.
quality/price is amazing.
difficult to find better place at such cost, in my opinion.

close to surat thani (5 mins by scooter), not to hat rin (20 mins by scooter). if you wanna have night parties, this is not the right place. if you wanna relax, enjoying a marvellous, silent place, than sea scene is 200% recommended.
Ask for bungalow number 5.. I will miss it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The resort is very near to the town (<10 minutes by motorbike which you can rent at the resort). The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The food is great too.
If you take a sea-side bungalow you will be able to see the sea and the sunset from your bed :-) and you can be in the sea within 25 seconds.
Ideal for couples but also for family with children.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Top location just out of town and on beach. I stayed for a couple of nights in one of the basic ensuite huts. The huts could do with a bit of TLC, but it was clean and comfortable. I really liked siting out on the veranda in the evening listening to the sea and the frogs.
The gardens are imaculate. The plentiful staff friendly and welcoming but leave you to yourself.
I ate in the restuarant a couple of times the food and mango smoothies were really good, but a tad expensive.
I stayed out of season, it was a little stormy- which was great for rain and electric storms but the manager explained to me not the best for the tides - or the turquoise seas. It was wonderful all the same.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Scene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Scene Resort

Address: Aow Plaayleam, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Scene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Scene Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.