We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Rasananda Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
THB6,695 (THB)
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two weeks in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in one of the garden pool suites from mid April till mid May 2014 as part of our honeymoon and could not be more impressed with the hotel, the island or the people.

The staff go to great lengths to make sure you are happy and the hotel and its grounds are clean, smart and beautifully maintained. The location is fantastic and the beach really is paradise.

The food in the hotel is of a very high standard and reasonably priced if you book half board in advance (as we did). If you fancy eating elsewhere the village behind the hotel has several places to eat.

The transfers to and from Koh Samui were very good (on the hotel's speed boats) but be aware that you might be in with a group from another hotel (3*) from just down the beach.

We booked a private island tour through the hotel and again the service was flawless, especially from the "Island Guru" Rebecca.

We also had a couples spa experience - the spa is even more stunning than the hotel and the treatments we had were very relaxing.

We hope to be able to return to the hotel and Koh Phangan. It made our honeymoon an unforgettable experience

Ian & Lucy

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Ian R,

Thank you very much for celebrating your honeymoon in April and May with us. We are very pleased to read your compliments about our food quality, the couple treatment at our Anantara Spa and that we were able to create an unforgettable experience for you.

We certainly hope, that you will be able to come back to visit us one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    177
    54
    16
    5
See reviews for
125
743
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We still can't believe that our stay in this lovely resort is already over...Every single detail was perfect!!! The staff is fabulous, very helpful and caring. They all did their best to make us feel happy and relaxed :) The villas are stunning....Loved it!! Already dreaming about going again!! :D

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear ClaudiaLRodrigues,

Thank you very much for selecting our Resort for your honeymoon! We are very excited to read how much you loved your stay with us.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon,

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Kilda, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is the best resort we have ever been to, and was the perfect start to our honeymoon.

The staff are very friendly, greeting you and asking how you are going almost constantly. The level of service is above and beyond, and the grounds and resort beach is kept in an immaculate state.
They often have entertainment during or after dinner, ranging from cinema on the beach to Thai dancing and traditional music. If that's not your thing, you can quite easily head back to your villa or room and be completely unaware that anyone else is around.

Situated on the quiet side of Koh Phangan, the beach is almost silent apart from the muffled sounds of the waves hitting the beach. This was fantastic for my new wife, who wanted nothing more than to slowly come down from the stress and organising entailed in a wedding. Sitting on the beach for hours on end, or lounging at the front of our beachfront villa in the private pool, it was like we were the only people around.

During our stay we noted that this particular area was almost void of children, and was predominantly a couple destination (or so it seemed during our stay), with everyone seeming to be very respectful of the fact that this was a place for everyone to relax. Each villa or room is separated by well kept gardens, and with every trip to the main part of the resort for breakfast or to head out, you'd shuffle along a boardwalk, covered in with plants and gardens on each side, while under the boardwalk a long and winding series of ponds full of koi and water lillees.

The younger people and backpackers seem to stick to the Western side of the island, where the Full Moon parties happen quite regularly. If you want to check that side of the island out(Thong Sala, is also full of places for shopping) there are many taxi cars or boats who will take you there at a small cost. There's also a small village behind the resort that has pharmacies, taxis, scooter hire, travel/tour bookings, restaurants and local foods if you want to try something different.

We did not venture far from the resort most days though, and the array of food on offer, be at at the swim up bar, or service in your room was exceptional. Try the wagyu beef burger, the squid or the barracuda. Delicious.

The only negative we could find, would be that after a few days, we noted the breakfast buffet did not vary much at all, but with that being said it wasn't something that would make you go elsewhere.

The private pool was shaded most of the day, which was also a slight negative, as you needed to leave the pool in order to catch some sun.

Other than that, we couldn't speak highly enough of the resort and the service. If we ever head back to Koh Phangan, it will be to the Anantara resort.

Room Tip: Go for the beach front villa with private pool. You will not regret having access to the very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Shane M,

Thank you very much for staying at our Resort for your honeymoon and thank you for posting some of your pictures from your journey with us. We really appreciate your posting, especially you recommending our Resort and Service.

We would love to welcome you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel is a true juwel away from the buzz and hectic life of the main land.
The cleanest beach I have seen in Thailand. The food and service are excellent. I added a kg extra weight.
A place to be back to relax. Will recommend all my friends.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Helmut A,

Thank you very much for visiting our Resort and thank you for your posting. We appreciate your comments about our beach, food and service and looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Thank you also for recommending our Resort to your friends.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

This was part of our honeymoon and our first choice of location for our wedding, however we chose Samui in the end due to a few family travel rrangements and decided to come to Rasanda as part of our honeymoon instead and we are so pleased we did!

Highlights:
1. Staff - fabulous, thy made such an effort with us, always friendly & smiling
2.The swim up cocktail bar - I could never understand why here weren't more people there - fantastic cocktails, much better than anything we get here in Sydney!
3. The beach is beautiful
4. Food in the hotel is great
5. The village - if you g&t sick of the 5 star treatment the option to get a little more rustic is right there for you!
We loved every minute and really cannot wait to return!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear HPTSW19,

Congratulations again and thank you very much for selecting our resort as part of your honeymoon! We appreciate your posting that highlights the fiendliness of our associates, our swim-up bar, the beautiful beach and the great food quality. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The resort is beautiful and the staff we amazing. We would definitely return if we have the opportunity. The island itself is much more relaxed than neighboring Samui but that was what we were looking for. Also, there is a good food place just up the road called handsome hamburgers - open late night, good and very inexpensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear melissamccrink,

Thank you very much for celebrating your honeymoon at our Resort. We appreciate your high ratings and comments, especially about our associates.
We certainly hope that we can welcome you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for just four nights in May. While we could have been much more adventurous in our explorations of the island, we really only had relaxing in mind for this leg of our trip and this hotel is perfect for that! We booked the speedboat transfer with the hotel - it was so worth it after a somewhat long travel day from Chiang Rai. Upon arriving at the Samui airport you are driven to the pier where Anantara has a private little cabana where you can change clothes, relax, etc before you hop on the boat to Rasananda.

We booked a Lagoon Suite which had a plunge pool and nice, shaded cabana with double cushioned lounge chair. When we got too much sun at the beach it was really nice to relax by our plunge pool. While the beach suites have plunge pools right on the beach with lovely views, we preferred our lagoon setting which felt more private.

The little village near the hotel has plenty of restaurants as well as little convenience stores for snacks, water, etc. The hotel'a restaurant is also quite nice - as are the "Rum Coco" and "High Noon" cocktails served at the pool bar.

The Staff at Rasananda is great - extremely friendly and helpful - always willing to give you advise on what to do, where to go, etc. If we have the opportunity to go back to Koh Phangan there is no doubt that we would stay at Rasananda!!

Room Tip: We preferred the Lagoon suites due to their privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear ErniePoo,

Thank you very much for making us part of your Thailand trip. We truly like reading that you enjoyed one of our Lagoon Pool Villas, which does give you most privacy at our Resort. Especially your comment about the friendliness of our associates is much appreciated and we hope that your future travels will bring you back to your favorite Resort on Koh Phangan.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa

Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Rasananda Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phangan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.