We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Rasananda Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We staid at this resort for 5 nights. It was the highlight of our 3 week Thailand vacation. The service is excellent and very friendly. The food was better then anywhere else in Thailand. The room was beautiful and had it's own jacuzzi.
All in all the perfect spot. We will always remember it as we got engaged there. :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Lars270,

Thank you very much for your review after your recent visit at Anantara Rasananda. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you chose our resort for your engagement.

Now we hope we will get another opportunity to welcome you and your future wife to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    203
    60
    21
    6
See reviews for
144
849
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is the BEST hotel that we stayed at during our honeymoon in Thailand. The Rasananda is a beautiful and luxurious hotel, without feeling "fake". From the moment you step off the transfer, and the staff that waits there to greet you, you realize you have just entered paradise.

The highlight of the hotel is the staff. The level of service there is top notch, and they thought about every minor detail ahead of time. They help you with everything you could possibly need, and even when my husband was sick, the maid let the front desk staff know, and they stopped by to see how he was feeling, and even went out to the village to get him something to help. The following day, staff members we didn't know would stop him to ask how he was feeling. The staff, especially Zita, really knows each and every guest and does everything they can to make sure you have the best stay possible.

The beach is gorgeous and quiet, and the small village behind the hotel is charming (although very very small).

The rooms are very high quality, and very clean. It has a bunch of small surprises, including an evening treat in a banana leaf every evening! yummm.

The restaurant was a bit pricey, but the food is very good (including breakfast).

We can't recommend this hotel enough - and if you go, send Zita our regards :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Keshet640,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us. We all, but especially Khun Zita, are very proud to receive your comments.

Now we hope to welcome you back to our little island paradise in not too far future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We booked the last night of our trip here and we very glad we did. It's a beautiful hotel, the beach is perfect and you are well looked after by staff whilst on the loungers there. The food is excellent, we ordered off the lunch/bar menu, had the seafood buffet special for dinner and the buffet breakfast the following morning. For taste, the number of options and service we couldn't fault any meal. The spa is also excellent.

Note that the road from the pier to the hotel is still under construction and I wouldn't recommend travelling there by road anytime soon - we did and it was more of an "adventure" than luxurious! Much smoother to arrive by boat (and I get seasickness so that's really saying something!).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Alexjrobertson,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the facilities and services we have to offer. Especially Don, our Executive Chef, is very proud on you comments of his culinary delights.

Now we hope we will get another opportunity to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you are after a remote and idyllic location this hotel might hit your spots. It boasts lovely views and pristine white beaches. The service is good but not outstanding, dining experience and breakfast desire to be more inspiring and I'd say more adventurous. Breakfast – what a mediocre affair!!!
All in all my partner and I had a good but very boring stay in this good mediocre establishment. I am in my thirties but the hotel made me feel like I am in my 50s. The GM and Anantara chain must do something about this place to revive it. We learnt that the hotel was built by a Thai person 5 years ago and been under Anantara ownership for the last 2 years. If you are a frequent Asian traveller and have a weak spot like us for Thai luxury hotels, you will see that this hotel is out of the league. It feels very dated and "budgetty luxury" with 90s flavour to it. Whoever designed that hotel did not think through it clearly, and whoever built it saved on building materials as everything looks not premium but rather cheap… Brown painted wood everywhere – yhak….

Areas for improvement:

a) check in/out
We checked in at the peer in Koh Samui. For a "5* wanna be hotel" it is totally unacceptable. No pillow menu, no news paper preference, not even a single question about our flight, etc. Very impersonal....
We had to check in again when we reached Rasananda - passports and credit card again + 15,000 BHT (£300) authorisation???? plus face pictures for the guest file. How on earth they even introduced these? I have never seen such practices before. Authorisation (basically a deposit in case you run a big bill and disappear) + your picture take = we do not trust you/you are suspicious guests. Four couples checked in that day and we all had the same experience. Bizarre!!! Usually hotels take your credit card number very discreetly, but don’t charge you in advance and then refund, or ask for more in case you overrun. (This is not a casino!) Actually my final bill did not even show credit of +15,000 (it was process differently - I know not a standard audit/accounting practice) I had a long conversation with them on my check out, teaching them basics of accounting. It suggests that this hotel has a liquidity/treasury issue, as why would you pull guests money and record them on different books! The recognised standard is One room=one credit card= one bill for all transactions!

b) swimming pool. Very awkward design. A pool at the back is not even a pool. It looks and feels like a water feature.

c) social area/pool area/restaurant/swimming pool bar/sun chairs - all of it in one go! Everything sits on each other; small awkward space, people have breakfast just a meter away from people who expose themselves to morning sun.
The terrace in our villa did not have sun chair, but IKEA like folding chairs, so it was not that enjoyable either.

d) well-looked after, but very mature garden. Too dense, too tropical, too much. Jungles! Also, there are little ponds here and there, and as a result mosquitoes are everywhere. If they get rid of ponds and make the garden slicker and less dense it would not retain all that moisture that allows insects and mosquitos to thrive there. See what other hotels do! On a day of our departure there was mosquito fumigation process. Lovely…

e) Transfer. Speed boat transfer is only possible on a good day. If you travel during a low season (Oct-Feb) it is likely that you will be delivered to the southern part of the island and from there transferred by taxi to the north part where Rasananda is. 1/3 of the road from the south to the north is under construction and is clearly marked "Not for pubic use". Nevertheless the hotel ignores it and transfers people taking on a great risk! I cannot emphases more how dangerous the transfer was. If I were GM of the hotel I would immediately informed my head office and their insurance company that they use unauthorised public routs. Also, our taxi was not a 4x4 sitter, it was an open roof track used to transport builders. Safety belts were not functional as there were no buckles to fasten them. The road is 100% mud and is along jungles, we saw other cars stuck in mud and pooled by locals…Terrible…. We were lucky it did not rain otherwise we would have slipped into jungles in no time. The road is along jungle cliffs.
The hotel GM commented on someone’s review here that they use proper 4x4 cars, fully insured and staffed by the hotel’s English speaking drivers. What a lie, they only have one proper car which was not available the day we arrived. 4 couples were transferred to the hotel that day and we were all in an open track cars staffed by locals. The 5th track had all our luggages. It was so clear that they just hired those taxies quickly from locals by the peer (local taxi cost 300BHT, the hotel charges 3,500BHT) Also, the speed boat is not Anantara’s one, it looked like an outside company that provides its services to Rasananda and Buri Rassa hotel near by. (I have never seen an exclusive hotel that would share a boat with a neighbouring hotel which is a 3*only. If I were to run a 5* hotel I would never put my guests on the same boat with guests from a 3* hotel. I know it sounds snobbish, but this is what real hotel professionalism and class is about. Otherwise what’s the point of all the rankings). So transfer - very dubious practices, very unsafe, not clear who is responsible for what, mixture of different businesses that involved into transfer. If God forbids something happens to you during transfer NO insurance company will cover you as the hotel clearly uses unauthorised roads and local taxies without safety belts. Dear GM, you know that this is not an isolated incident; there are a few people on TA complaining about your transfer/taxi safety, please act on it. Devise an alternative safe route manned by professionals not locals!!! Don’t mix 5* service and a 3* - it is embarrassing, unprofessional and simply outrages! It is immoral to charge your guests 10x more local rates and provide such a poor/life threatening service to your guests.

f) general feel of the hotel – dated, boring, all activities they have are paid ones and provided by local companies. The hotel approach is not paved, feels rather neglected. Yoga teacher outsourced, she arrived late for our class, did not even introduce herself. After the class she gave us a duster and sanitizer and asked (4 people) to clean her yoga mats. What’s the hell????
Free alcohol in a room – what a bad taste…. What if you don’t drink (like us) or a Muslim family with kids??? No alternatives offered. A fruit or two would do for me personally
One restaurant, one swimming pool bar with no atmosphere, just dated furniture and brown painted wood and bamboo everywhere!

g) the hotel is full of European staff. From the Receptionist (no comments) to a very pleasant Italian waitress. A couple of days European managers and sub- managers and their Thai equals were rushing around the hotel, taking pictures, lecturing staff, finger pointing at ugly things, etc. Suggestion - do it at 6am when there are no guests around, but not at 11am!


A Tip - Buri village just outside the hotel is lovely. The Beach Club and the restaurant next to it - is so lovely, full of character and always vibrant; between 5-9pm it is the place to be. It has this lovely feel and atmosphere to it, you just want to sit and stare into the ocean forever. The hotel has their little coffee shop there too (part of the Village square) it is very nice and inviting unlike the rest of Rasananda

Among my favourite and luxuries hotels in Thailand are The Racha, Twin Palms, Casa de la Flora, Sala Phuket, Aleenta Phuket, Nakamanda

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write about your stay at Anantara Rasananda on Trip Advisor.

First of all I am very sorry to learn that you left the resort disappointed with the services, facilities, food and beverages and in general nearly everything what the resort has to offer.

Clearly, this was not the Anantara experience you were anticipating and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We do take your comments seriously, and I have shared your comments with our team and we are addressing the concerning areas.

Thank you again for the valuable feedback and should you ever consider giving Anantara another chance, please contact me directly.


Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Certainly the BEST hotel ever. Food is great, beach is excellent, room was awsome... To say, I did not regret one minute our choice despite the fact that it was raining non-stop. We enjoyed every minute, staff is friendly and happy to help. Special thanks to Angie, the island Guru, who made our stay even better! Very clean and beautiful, everything is chosen with taste and care. Would not change a thing!

Room Tip: We had a pool suite, in second floor... just great! But I guess all romos are great. In any case, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Veronika S,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We all, but especially Angie, are very excited that we are the best hotel ever, for you.

Now we hope you will visit us again in our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Fantastic place, beautifully designed resort, great eye for detail and service, extremely high quality finishing, amazing hospitality, excellent culinairy services, kind staff, spa is a dream just to look at.
Tong nai pan is bit isolated on the island but who needs to go anywhere when you have all this to enjoy (as long as the weather is good...). Only room for improvement that we can think of is the smell of moisture in the room that (i have astma) was a bit unpleasant. Would defintitely recommend and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: The Poolvillas are fantastic, we chose not to have a see sight poolvilla because of people passing b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Natalia1104,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyed your stay at Anantara Rasananda. Now we hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed at Anantara Rasananda for a week in the low season (November) but were lucky to have 5 days of glorious sunshine and only a couple of days of rain.

Resort is beautifully presented, shoes optional, pool bar very handy, but best of all you can stumble on to the beach in seconds. Or just stay on your private lounger.

The staff are all friendly and helpful, particularly Nui and Julia during our stay. Thank you!

Prices at the bar are a bit on the high side, so you're better off wandering 200 yards down the beach to the beach club, or mooching to the restaurants in the small village out the back.

Good choice if you fancy a treat on a Thai island, not so convenient for the Full Moon Party at Had Rin.

Room Tip: Upstairs with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah J, Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear rlonghurst,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Anantara Rasananda for your recent visit in Thailand. Thank you indeed for your very positive review and for your time in doing so, we are glad to read of your most enjoyable experience with us.

We will relay your mention of Nui and Julia who will be most pleased of such.

We hope we will have a chance to serve you on another occasion.

With Best Regards,

Farah C. Jaber
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa

Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Rasananda Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phangan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.