We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach and great rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Rasananda Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach and great rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I loved the beach, clear water and white sand. The hotel and the rooms were also very nice but the pool was always crowded with children playing in it. A lot of russians and children, which it's not my cup of tea, I prefer it more quiet and relaxing during my holidays. So it's a great hotel for family. Dinner at the hotel was nice and its was very romantic to dine in the sand. We also had dinner outside the hotel at the local restaurants some of the days which I really recommend. We didn't get value for the money, but it's still a beautiful hotel!<3

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Lily_81_s,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are terribly disappointed that you felt our resort was not value for money. I also wonder about the Russian guest mix that you mentioned, unfortunately we have only very few guests from Russia every year; I believe you must have mistaken the resort for another one.

Once again, thank you very much for your review and again, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    203
    60
    21
    6
See reviews for
144
850
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Centrally situated on the attractive Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach. The Anantara is a beautiful low rise property that blends well into the local surroundings. A great place to stay and totally unwind with a good beach, safe swimming and the choice of local bars and restaurants if you want to venture out of the hotel one evening. Comfortable and spacious accommodation with a rather dark interior, which is serviced well by a team of friendly staff. Excellent breakfasts with a plethora of choices and made enjoyable by the engaging staff.
Nice touches like decanters of free spirits in the rooms, ice-cold water and slices of fresh fruit served by staff as you sunbath.
Concern about getting on and off the transfer boat and wonder whether there could be potential ''health & safety'' issues. It just needs one guest to stumble fully clothed into the sea and.....................
Many thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Anthony H.,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will get another chance to welcome you to Anantara Rasananda.
Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 7 days at this wonderful hotel where we simply could not fault any aspect of our stay there. From the initial welcome to the beautiful site itself, the pool, sea and restaurants to the sad leaving at the end we thoroughly enjoyed all the hotel had to offer.

The staff were the most attentive and hospitable I have experienced anywhere and the small ways they thought of everything to make our stay there was wonderful.

We would recommend the resort to anyone who is looking for a restful and peaceful place to spend quality time in a very high quality hotel and experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to read that you have enjoyed the facilities and services we have to offer. Now we hope we get another chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay. We got the speedboat option here and we were greeted by the managers on the beach.
Then "Angie" showed us our room and we both loved what we got "lagoon room". "Tao" was in charge of our room and she did a fab job. For days of just unwinding you got to visit this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Richard B,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor and we are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Angie and you room attendant Khun Tao are particularly happy that you have mentioned them so positively.

Now we hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have absolutely no hesitation in confirming that the Anantara Rasananda is our favourite of all the hotels we have stayed in so far! It's got it all - the perfect location in a sheltered bay with a long, pristine beach, superb rooms, great food, impeccable staff and service.... We decided to treat ourselves to an Ocean Garden Pool Suite for 5 nights and it exceeded all our expectations - the private garden and outdoor shower, the day bed and the private plunge pool are all great features and the design of the room, the lighting, the comfort of the bed, the exceptional bathroom and spacious walk-in wardrobe were all fantastic.

It's well worth booking the transfer to the hotel on the scheduled speedboat service and arriving on the beach to be greeted by the hotel staff was great. The staff are absolutely faultless, very friendly and provide extremely impressive service - you get the impression that nothing is too much for them, whatever time of the day it is and we particularly liked the thoughtfulness of all of the small details - such as the waiters who serve ice cold water and fresh fruit at regular intervals to those who are sunbathing on the beach, the in-room guide to the fresh fruits of Thailand, the little messages left by the house-keeping etc. We enjoyed dining on the beach and the spa was a real highlight of our stay - the way it is built into the hillside with such respect for the nature is a true wonder and the couples treatment package was very romantic indeed.

We cannot commend this hotel highly enough and we hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvsior and we are thrilled to be your favorite hotel. We hope we will have another chance to welcome you to our little island paradise; it would be my utmost pleasure to be your contact for any future arrangements.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is best for someone to want a spa. Swimming pool overlooking the sea and another have rest swimming pool. Good food good scenery.In my room is very big comfortable.

Anantara Rasananda key features:
- 64 Villas and Suites all with private plunge pool
- Signature Spa
- Beachfront infinity swimming pool
- Beachfront and poolside restaurant featuring Thai and international cuisine
- Koh Phangan’s only seaview wine cellar
- Yoga classes
- Thai cooking classes.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we will have another chance to welcome you to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at this hotel and experience the best holiday I have ever had, from the arrival at the beach to meet all the managers who where super friendly and helped me begin my holiday. The room was perfect with fresh fruits from Thailand, I liked the mangosteen and mentioned to manager Arnoud and he made sure I got a big bowl everyday. I had a special dinner on the beach for my wife's birthday and the chef prepared a special menu for her personally, I couldn't thank him enough for making this night a highlight of our stay.The food at the hotel was outstanding and very reasonably priced, there is a small village close by but the food is not as good. We are now planning our next holiday and will be back again, thank you Patrick and team for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Anna 0999,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor; we just received it this morning, what a wonderful way to start our day. It was a real pleasure to have you staying with us and we all are thrilled to read that you have enjoyed the facilities and services we have to offer.

We look already forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa

Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Rasananda Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.