We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Yes, unforgettable.... that's what this is..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Rasananda Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #2 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Oh Yes, unforgettable.... that's what this is..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a fantastic property by the private beach, with very nice and comfortable villas. The service is quite good, the restaurants are reasonable, but the hotel value is the location and the good time you spend there.. I agree that there should be some changes, for example in what respects the sun chairs... but.. i will keep a very good remembrance from my stay..

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the see, will be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    753
    164
    48
    14
    5
See reviews for
113
688
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alesund, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If this hotel was given 3 star + we would not be disapointed.
We stayed at villa with pool on the beach which could have been nice.
The Hotel lacked style. Very pore sun beds without madras. Live and fare to laud music during the dinners. One night they forced all dinner guest to watch a loud movie during dinner. Not possible to talk at all.We could have enjoid the sounds from the sea, They call it a private beach, it was not. People from outside was next our villa early morning. No service at the beach, The pool outside our villa was a joke. Dont expect more than a big bath, Staff was friendly and did their best, Food was not more than ok. The town was lousy and pore, Nothing to see. The transport cost from Koh Samoi to Koh Phanang they charged THB 20,000 for 2 persons T/R with a powerboat, The sun leaves the beach at 14.00. We will not come back, Regards from Norway.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is on the ground at the beach. First night we stayed on 2 floor.We had to change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here in April 2012 on our honeymoon. In a quest for what would be our perfect destination I did a lot of research...and found myself here!

Firstly I would say we got an amazing rate through Expedia which when I looked the week before was double the price! But it made this hotel extremely good value for money. However, If I'd have paid full price I would have still been happy.

We are quite demanding travellers, we like a little bit of luxury, but hate pretentiousness or the kind of clinical hotels where you feel uncomfortable and we like a good atmosphere. We also like to feel secluded but have things close by...so yes very demanding! But the Anantara had it all.

We paid for the standard pool villa and on check in we were offered an upgrade but the rate was very pricey and to be honest when we went to look at the upgrades they weren't much better than the standard! The rooms are beautiful, spacious and the small plunge pools are fab, though we did have a tree right above ours so it filled up with leaves quite quickly, but all part of the experience! The balconies are great too, perfect to enjoy an early evening drink from the free spirit bar!

Breakfast was fantastic with a great choice every day, aside from that we never ate in the hotel. It was just too expensive when compared with the other restaurants in thong nai pan, especially places like Luna and better than sex who serve up top standard food.

The pool and pool bar are amazing, the beach is also gorgeous and has such a lovely atmosphere, no one hassling you, apart from the odd dog, but they are friendly enough. We met a girl who was terrified of dogs and as the beach and street dogs roam completely free if you are scared of dogs this isn't the place for you!

The village of thong nai pan is amazing, lots of little restaurants and bars, all bamboo structures, serving up fantastic Thai dishes, two treehouse bars and a couple of slightly more formal restaurants should you want it. There is also a 7/11 which sells most things. I would also say that the clientele that the resort attracts is perfect, very laid back travellers, and everyone just seemed to be lovely, which can't be said for a lot of places in Thailand. And we must mention the pancake man who a few other people have mentioned! He's pancakes are great especially with peanut butter! And he is a lovely guy too.

We hired a scooter one day but due to rain the day before we didn't get very far, once you go over the hill from thong nai pan the concrete road stops and becomes a dirt track and if it has rained its generally quite dangerous. We did go round to the other thong nai pan village, the beach is nice but the village isn't as quaint as the other one.

We did a day trip to Koh nangyuan which was fantastic, if you go definitely walk up to the view point. Only thing with the day trip was it was very crowded and lots of travelling, but worth it.

We also went up to Haad rin for the night before full moon party. We met a few other couples and jumped on a long tail boat, it cost about 30£ between six and was a great experience. Then when we wanted to leave we just found a boat to take us back, much better than getting a taxi!

I could go on for ever...but I will say this, everyone wants something different from their honeymoon. Personally we didn't like the idea of going to the Maldives or somewhere similar, we wanted to go somewhere with character! The Anantara delivered for us, but at the same time if you want paradise and to feel totally secluded this is a fantastic hotel and village!! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and hope that one day I can go back myself.

Room Tip: Just stick to a standard room they are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koh samui
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Lovely hotel, staff very helpful, restaurant is over priced for evening meals, try the neighbouring hotels for better deals. Quite a few Mosquitos, so remember to bring your repellant!
The hotel is situated on the more secluded part if the island, so do prepare your self for the 30 minute off road drive to get there. Also due to the location restaurants and local shops in this area are much more expensive.
Hotel has a nice feel to it, lots of koi ponds everywhere and a large stretch of beach front. Although the sea was too rough for us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This place is absolute magic... Best for a peaceful holiday when u want to relax and discover urself...! Superb arrangements for couples wanting to celebrate their special time.. Awesome service, friendly staff, clean resort and good food...(less options for vegetarian though...!).. It's a must visit...!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I've stayed at many beautiful luxury hotels across the world. This was by far one of the most romantic and luxurious. The rooms were elegantly appointed. Very comfortable and contemporary. A pristine beach and private pool. The staff was exceptional and the food was delicious. This was the perfect vacation. I would highly recommend it for anyone from newlyweds to a couple looking for a special escape.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in April 2012 for 8 days and really enjoyed the resort.
We did the Thai cooking class which we highly recommend with head chef karison, that was a great experience.
The room with plunge poll was awesome and the in room complimentary spirits with after dinner desert was a nice treat.
The prices of food are a little steep but there are local resturants nearby so you can balance the cost. You can hire a scooter for the day at the local shop for 500 baht for the day which is so much cheaper than a return transfer and one great experience.
We highly recommend the resort and will come back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa

Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Rasananda Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phangan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.