We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Rasananda Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here in April 2012 on our honeymoon. In a quest for what would be our perfect destination I did a lot of research...and found myself here!

Firstly I would say we got an amazing rate through Expedia which when I looked the week before was double the price! But it made this hotel extremely good value for money. However, If I'd have paid full price I would have still been happy.

We are quite demanding travellers, we like a little bit of luxury, but hate pretentiousness or the kind of clinical hotels where you feel uncomfortable and we like a good atmosphere. We also like to feel secluded but have things close by...so yes very demanding! But the Anantara had it all.

We paid for the standard pool villa and on check in we were offered an upgrade but the rate was very pricey and to be honest when we went to look at the upgrades they weren't much better than the standard! The rooms are beautiful, spacious and the small plunge pools are fab, though we did have a tree right above ours so it filled up with leaves quite quickly, but all part of the experience! The balconies are great too, perfect to enjoy an early evening drink from the free spirit bar!

Breakfast was fantastic with a great choice every day, aside from that we never ate in the hotel. It was just too expensive when compared with the other restaurants in thong nai pan, especially places like Luna and better than sex who serve up top standard food.

The pool and pool bar are amazing, the beach is also gorgeous and has such a lovely atmosphere, no one hassling you, apart from the odd dog, but they are friendly enough. We met a girl who was terrified of dogs and as the beach and street dogs roam completely free if you are scared of dogs this isn't the place for you!

The village of thong nai pan is amazing, lots of little restaurants and bars, all bamboo structures, serving up fantastic Thai dishes, two treehouse bars and a couple of slightly more formal restaurants should you want it. There is also a 7/11 which sells most things. I would also say that the clientele that the resort attracts is perfect, very laid back travellers, and everyone just seemed to be lovely, which can't be said for a lot of places in Thailand. And we must mention the pancake man who a few other people have mentioned! He's pancakes are great especially with peanut butter! And he is a lovely guy too.

We hired a scooter one day but due to rain the day before we didn't get very far, once you go over the hill from thong nai pan the concrete road stops and becomes a dirt track and if it has rained its generally quite dangerous. We did go round to the other thong nai pan village, the beach is nice but the village isn't as quaint as the other one.

We did a day trip to Koh nangyuan which was fantastic, if you go definitely walk up to the view point. Only thing with the day trip was it was very crowded and lots of travelling, but worth it.

We also went up to Haad rin for the night before full moon party. We met a few other couples and jumped on a long tail boat, it cost about 30£ between six and was a great experience. Then when we wanted to leave we just found a boat to take us back, much better than getting a taxi!

I could go on for ever...but I will say this, everyone wants something different from their honeymoon. Personally we didn't like the idea of going to the Maldives or somewhere similar, we wanted to go somewhere with character! The Anantara delivered for us, but at the same time if you want paradise and to feel totally secluded this is a fantastic hotel and village!! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and hope that one day I can go back myself.

Room Tip: Just stick to a standard room they are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    170
    53
    15
    6
See reviews for
120
709
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
koh samui
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Lovely hotel, staff very helpful, restaurant is over priced for evening meals, try the neighbouring hotels for better deals. Quite a few Mosquitos, so remember to bring your repellant!
The hotel is situated on the more secluded part if the island, so do prepare your self for the 30 minute off road drive to get there. Also due to the location restaurants and local shops in this area are much more expensive.
Hotel has a nice feel to it, lots of koi ponds everywhere and a large stretch of beach front. Although the sea was too rough for us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This place is absolute magic... Best for a peaceful holiday when u want to relax and discover urself...! Superb arrangements for couples wanting to celebrate their special time.. Awesome service, friendly staff, clean resort and good food...(less options for vegetarian though...!).. It's a must visit...!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I've stayed at many beautiful luxury hotels across the world. This was by far one of the most romantic and luxurious. The rooms were elegantly appointed. Very comfortable and contemporary. A pristine beach and private pool. The staff was exceptional and the food was delicious. This was the perfect vacation. I would highly recommend it for anyone from newlyweds to a couple looking for a special escape.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in April 2012 for 8 days and really enjoyed the resort.
We did the Thai cooking class which we highly recommend with head chef karison, that was a great experience.
The room with plunge poll was awesome and the in room complimentary spirits with after dinner desert was a nice treat.
The prices of food are a little steep but there are local resturants nearby so you can balance the cost. You can hire a scooter for the day at the local shop for 500 baht for the day which is so much cheaper than a return transfer and one great experience.
We highly recommend the resort and will come back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent two nights at this wonderfully designed tropical retreat with a long stretch of private white sand beach early this December .Weather was wonderful,sunshine all day,uncommon from what I heard for this time of the year.Forty minutes speedboat ride to the resort beach was smooth.We were welcome by the resort team on arrival at the resort beach,given an nice refreshing mango shake and quickly shown to our beach front villa.Quite spacious,although showing signs of aging.Built with a lot of natural materials.Wood and bamboo.Full of nice tropical garden.Service was good.Dining was excellent.We were introduced to their new chef at breakfast,i believe name was Don,an experienced Mediterranean inspired seafood cuisine who created a wonderful dinner menu for us of mackerel grilled on olive oil which tasted superb accompanied by a bottle of Rioja . The two days we spent was a wonderful relaxing time away from it all.The resort itself is very well design and pleasant .Although we feel it lack proper maintenance and the air of luxury as it has positioned it self to be.It seems that all the ingredients are there to be among one of the leading best ,but somehow they need to get it right .Maybe they need to look at samples of Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton for details.
We would not hesitate to recommend Rasananda for anyone who is looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: If you can afford the price,The ocean front villa is a fantastic experience.Only steps away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Arrived at the lovely welcome lounge at the jetty, and were impressed by the shower facility, welcome drink, and check in completion whilst we waited for the speedboat transfer! Would have been a little fed up with the long wait ( transfer time would have meant 2 hours) however we took off sooner as there was bad weather closing in! Arrived at the lovely wide beach in front of the hotel, and were quickly shown to our beach front pool villa. Wonderful 1st floor(very private), beautifully furnished room with big terrace and plunge pool. Complimentary spirits provided in room were a nice touch. Also beach bag, flip flops, slippers, robes. The tropical gardens with koi carp ponds, and wooden pathways lead to the main pool, restaurant & bar. There is also a gym, library, and spa. Breakfasts are wonderful, taken at tables under the palm trees, and with feet in the soft sand, bliss! The beach front properties have reserved beds on the beach, there are many reviews with comments about this, and although we did have our allocated beds, I think the hotel could provide for all villas, there is plenty of room along the wide beach frontage. The spa was stunning, built into huge boulders in the hillside with wooden walkways, and ponds. The signature massage is heavenly, although very overpriced. the advertised special of the day, on the daily activities sheet, was always a Thai massage. When we raised this on day 4 (the first time we saw the covering manager, the GM was on holiday), we were offered discount on a treatment of our choice, and learnt that there were other daily specials. Tip, go ask, although I would suggest the hotel could do a better job of advertising this in villas, and should review the packages they offer for the duration of hotel stays. The restaurant menu was very good, although we seldom ate in the hotel, we ate in the inexpensive and traditional little restaurants in the village right on the hotel's doorstep. In summary, great spot, lovely rooms, nice touches, friendly service, laid back, spa beautiful but too expensive, we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We loved the beach front pool villa, as being on 1st floor gave us more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa

Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Rasananda Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phangan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.