We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad & the ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan to your Saves list
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59/1 Moo 8 Haad Thian Beach (northwest), Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Rhodes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The good, the bad & the ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We chose this hotel as my partner stayed here 5 years ago and thought it was exceptional for its price. However this time round we both left a bit disappointed.

The good:
Location: incredible views from the resort. Overlooking the national marine park and every night a beautiful sunset in a very quiet part of the island and amazing clear starry skies. However the road leading to the resort is treacherous. You must be well experienced riding a ped to be able to pop to the nearest shop, restaurants and bars as the resort is remote. Be carful! Road is a very steep dirt track with large pot holes.
Free decent wifi around bar area.

Resort
Resort itself is very well kept with a friendly family owned atmosphere who are happy to help.
It has its own private beach though it's mainly a pebble/shell beach, great for snorkelling but not so good if you just want to cool off.
Restaurant is very good, well priced.

The bad:
Room type: fan bungalow type A, beach hut. Booked in advance 5 nights.
I have stayed in a few beach huts but that's by far has to be the worst.
Gaps in the flooring as lino was missing over the majority of it.
Thick mosquito net was provided but blocked the fan from allowing any air into the bed
The bed was hard and tiny for two people with ants nest crawling between bed and windows
The bathroom had an overwhelming smell of chemicals, never smelt anything as strong before. Made us feel ill. Similar to ammonia.
This was our experience of the budget bungalow room, but I do know they have bigger and better accommodation available for people with a bigger budget.

The pool:
Well designed and looks good, but massive maintenance issues with the cleanliness, it was absolutely filthy. Couldn't see the bottom of the pool. This was due to the filters not being on, or one being on very briefly. We stayed in march so not sure if they just didn't bother as its not peak season.

Overall our room and dirty pool ruined the experience for us. I'm sure if we were to pay more money we would have enjoyed our time here more, however we were on a budget and there is a significant difference in cost if we wanted to upgrade.

Just something to take note, a couple of the reviews below are not for this hotel but for a diving resort located on Koh Tao.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a fan bungalow here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    11
    1
    6
See reviews for
6
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This resort is a hidden gem on Koh Pha-Ngan, it's location is in the northwest of the island between Haad Yao and Haad Salad (two very popular beaches for snorkelling, diving and soaking up the more peaceful side of this amazingly diverse island) it's location is somewhat more remote than others meaning there is very little thoroughfare tourism here, leaving it untouched and unspoilt. The coral reef here is teeming with fish and wonderful aquatic colour. The resort provides more services than most such as a daily shuttle to Thongsala and it's very own bike hire service. The staff here are very friendly and helpful, we found they were prepared to go the extra mile to help us get the most from our stay offering us local advise and tips. The food is very good and they have a excellent range of bungalows from basic to luxury. All in all, I would highly recommend a visit to this relaxing resort as Koh Pha-Ngan has a tendency to run your batteries out if you are staying any significant length of time! Enjoy.

Room Tip: Just ask, they will have time for you and help you choose the right room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just got back from my honeymoon in Thailand and stayed at this resort, specifically for the diving. My husband and I are both amateur divers and we were so well informed by the staff at Dive Wishes II! They were very knowledgable and professional and the Dive Shop Manager, Krista takes such pride in her job and genuinely cares about each and every one of her guests. Thank you so much to the entire team at Dive Wishes II for the phenomenal experience that my husband and I will never forget.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonora, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This resort is perfect for couples and singles who just want some relaxing time to themselves with your own private beach, nice pool, beautiful bungalows and great food and staff this resort wont disappoint! 20 mins from the pier and a bus comes to this resort every day to the pier for 150 baht.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

WE booked for three days but had to leave after one. We were going to the full moon party and this beautiful resort is about an hour away from haad rin. It is a lovely spot to come mostly if you are a couple- very romantic. So beautiful and the food was great, every meal we had. The wifi always worked. Staff was pleasant and even upgraded us to a room with air conditioning after we realised we had booked a fan room. Not a whole lot to do here, other than relax so do not come here if you are looking to fill every waking moment. read a book, sun tan...and laze around. No complaints, just be warned the location is quite far away. They do provide a taxi service which is nice and do have motorbikes to rent although they are not always available.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an air conditioned room and get a big room to split if you are staying with a group...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

It was just wonderful. The staff is very good and its like a family. Even the owner took his time to show us phangan.

The food is great.
The beach only belongs to this resort. You want to have relaxing vacations go there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The place itself is beautiful, but the road going down to the hotel is horrendous. It is dangerous to go down that road on a scooter and yet, many people do and slip and get hurt. The reaction of the hotel staff when this happened to me and I came down hurt and bleeding was: "yes this road is bad and no we don't have any first aid plasters to help you. Please clean yourself in toilet." Obviously they were not concerned with me being wounded or the condition of the road in general. Later we spoke to some other people who also got hurt going down that same road! Also the hotel was understaffed as there was only one waiter in the restaurant while the resort was full! No wonder it takes about one hour for the food to arrive. And then the portion of fried rice was the smallest one I've seen. I am thinking maybe the owner of the place is out in low season and the staff is slacking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan

Address: 59/1 Moo 8 Haad Thian Beach (northwest), Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ko Phangan
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Tian Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.