We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and simple resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haad Tian Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Haad Tian Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haad Tian Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59/1 Moo 8 Haad Thian Beach (northwest), Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A quiet and simple resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

At the end of a bumpy dirt road, the Haad Tian bungalows sit calmly on a secluded beach. The open-aired restaurant overlooks a fountain pool and the Gulf of Thailand. You can swing from a rope swing while watching the sunset over the distant islands.
The staff are personable and accommodating and offer private fishing and kayak tours, bike and jeep rentals (if they're available). They're also extremely laid back, so you have to be proactive if you want anything done. They have a swim-up bar which seemed to be out of operation.
Taxis charge 250 Bhat per person and you may have to wait a while for one to actually come. No stores, other restaurants or spa treatments are available within walking distance. After a few days, you'll be in want of some of the better restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Front row bungalows are the only ones with a view of the beach. Aircon room highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I am Thai and I made it twice visit the hidden gem, I stayed 5 nights in a cozy tropical bungalow just 2 metre right to the beach of Haad Tian Beach. I spent apprx. 400 baht(15US) to get a beach front bungalow to be honest event I am thai but I could not find a valuable place like this. It’s a heaven stuff for thai people too. The resort provided very comfortable facilities such as free swimming pool, free Wifi in the common area, local produce restaurant where you can get a fresh ingredients and sea food from a fisherman village, private beach. The resort provides free pick up transfer from the pier following a traditional Thai gesture when you have a guest visit your house.

The bungalow is cleaned and fresh in beautiful garden and provided hammock in the terrace in front of bungalow. The best thing, why i choose this place because a warmest welcome and Thai hospitality style provided to me, all staffs are thais (speak good English) where I feel very safe and comfortable as home away from home compare with other places, they employed Burmese staff and I feel uncomfortable and didn’t trust with their service. I am very much enjoy slow life here, being lazy in the pool, reading my book at the beach and great place to watch the sunset with a panoramic horizon view of Angthong Marine Park.

Khun Daeng is resort management, he’s a fantastic guy who understand the services. He created an unforgettable experience for me for example, we went to morning market or night market together to buy fresh seafood then bring it back to resort for a unique friendly dining on the beach with the owner and management team. Someday, we did Bonfire with BBQ style and drinks together with staff here on the beach. What I found beyond a part of tourist is being a family and friendship of Haad Tian Beach Resort.

The resort is a 10 minute walking distance from the main road and half way between Salad beach and Haad Yao Beach. its convenice if you want to go out to try other restaurant and bar but not neccesary.

The road is under construction and uncomfortable for whose beginner level motorbike practicing. However, resort has shuttle car provide 24 hours with a friendly price and motorbike for rent.

The place is hidden gem paradise and suitable for single, couple and group who really prefer to stay in hug of thai warmest hospitality and prefer to “Relax and Do Nothing”
I will bring my entire friends here. I love it

Room Tip: All rooms are seaview, I selected a traditional bungalow style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taastrup, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We had a great week at Haad Tian Beach Resort!
We quickly became a part of the Haad Tian family in this little treasure of tropical bliss away from busy tourist frenzy.
We got picked up by the hotels pickup truck at the pier in Thongsala. After af fun ride through groves of palmtrees, past lovely beaches and down a quite steep muddy hillside, we reached the resort and was greeted by the lovely staff and two cute dogs.
Our beachfront bungalow was a little retreat with just enough room for a doublebed, a TV, A/C and a little bathroom with hot and cold water. The veranda had af hammock and a great view to a small coralbeach and some small trees with more hammocks for relaxing.
We were just a few guests at Haad Tian the first couple of days and quickly blended in with staff. We were all having BBQ´s together on the beach just about every evening and even catched some fish our selves to cook on the fire. It was such lovely evenings with the worlds prettiest sunsets as our backdrop.
During the days we went out on the resorts cheap rental motos to explore the island from one end to the other. We also took the resorts canoes for some quick trips to the next beach/town Haad Yao. It took 10 minutes. In Haad Yao they had great beachreataurant and bars and also some small shops. They had af Pre-Fullmoon Party at Haad Yao, that was much fun with fire tricks and loads of 'buckets'.
We really had a hard time leaving the resort as we had such a good time there with lovely people who was like a second family.
I send all the best wishes to our Haad Tian Family. You are the best!

I had booked our stay well in advance on the resorts own homepage.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

me and my friend stay here for 4 night as long as we can,we would stay longer but no time,the place is nice that what we looking,we want stay a way from the big city like Bangkok. If you are looking for a place to relax here is perfact that i have to recoment. family,friendly and helpefull.....me and my friend come here every years for a shot holiday... but if you are looking for a party,confortable,here is not for you.....I am Thai i would say ,i want to keep here forever without fussy,cracy people..This island have many place for them to shout,and easy to find from the internet...
as last here is nice to relax take a lest from a busy world.
i will vissit a gain for sure.
Luxe

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights around the time of the Full Moon party. It is really out of the way, it took the taxi 1 hour to take us to the full moon party. It would be okay if you wanted to stay around the hotel all day and eat at the overpriced restaurant where the food is very average.

It takes about 15 minutes to walk to Haad Yao where there are more restaurants and bars and a nicer beach. The 'short cut' to this beach is horrendous, you have to trek through the jungle and climb over a fence. Don't even attempt to do it at night!!!

We stayed in a fan bungalow, you get what you pay for. It was very dirty with ants and spiders throughout. We wanted to change rooms as soon as we saw it but we were told there were none available due to the Full Moon party. The toilet stunk the whole time and our room was never cleaned the entire time we were there.

The beach at the hotel is nice, not really good for swimming but good for snorkeling and exploring. This is the best thing about the place. Relax on the beach and watch the sunset.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the fan bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We (family of of 4 persons, 2 kids (12 and 14 years) stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed every day of the hospitality, real good Thai food ( Deang is amazing), well organised and good view/beaches. Bungalows nice designed and price/quality is in order.

The road to the ressort is dusty and sometimes rough but with a scooter good to ride. Staff is sort of family and very helpfull. From our point of view a recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We originally only booked the resort for 3 days. We ended up staying for over a week.

We had booked a budget/garden view room but when we changed our mind and decided to get a beach front room they offered us a good discount on a large family bungalow. The staff are very friendly and welcoming & ready to help. I also enjoyed the music they played there, a cool mix of chilled out tunes to add to the holiday ambience.

The location is beautiful and the resort has a private beach. Theres a lot of coral to explore there but also some sandy parts where it is easy to walk out and swim. Complimentary snorkels and kayak are provided which we used several times.

The resort is very secluded, but it is only a 5 min walk through a shortcut to Haad Yao beach which is bigger & more lively if not more touristy. Although would only recommend the shortcut in daylight. But cheap taxis are available to take you anywhere on the island for parties /other nighlife so its not a problem. Motorbike rentals are available during the day, would recommend to test the bikes before taking out every time(as with any other resort). We never had a problem but I think overall on the island theres an issue with bikes and people having accidents. Would also recommend wearing helmets, even if you feel a bit in the minority, as the roads on the island can be very steep.

My only minor compliant would be that a couple of nights the electricity made a loud humming noise and had to be reset. Apart from that top marks for this resort.

Had an amazing time & was genuinely sad to leave.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haad Tian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Tian Beach Resort

Address: 59/1 Moo 8 Haad Thian Beach (northwest), Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Tian Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Haad Tian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Tian Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haad Tian Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.