We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nic's Ristorante Pizzeria & LoungeBar - CLOSED

Nic's Ristorante Pizzeria & LoungeBar
94/62 Moo 6, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
066-0810074155
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Mine and my boyfriend's pizzas were tastless and our starters were nothing special. I'm not sure what all the previous rave reviews are about- the place isn't the fancy establishment it is made out to be- it has napkin boxes you'd find in a fast food restaurant and we were given a basket with sauces in and the salt shaker had cobwebs underneath it where the salt is dispensed from and there was a spider in the basket- not exactly hygienic.

My milkshake was also tasteless- we'd describe the food as bland and the place itself as bland. I think the rave reviews about this place are from travellers who haven't had a decent meal in weeks/ months so in comparison to Haad Rin's burger joints this seems quite fancy.

The service wasn't great- we weren't asked if we wanted a drink for ten minutes and our mains arrived just as we had finished eating out starters and the plates weren't cleared, the waiters just looked as us as if to say 'move them' to make room for our main courses.

If you're used to dining in good restaurants with good service don't go to this place- it is literally a 1 or 2 star type of place and it only has such a high rating in comparison to the other pretty dumpy places in the area. Overall a disappointment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    9
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shameful service at an otherwise acceptable restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to not rant when you have such a lousy experience, and maybe there were staffing problems, but even considering the laid-back service in SE Asia, this place took incompetent to a whole new level. Night 1: looking forward to eating at a highly rated restaurant on tripadvisor, my friend and I arrived and waited to be acknowledged for 5 minutes or so until ultimately they sat new-comers in the last table available. We left and got Italian at a little family place with friendly, fast service and good food. Night 2: convinced Nic's would redeem their high rating, 5 friends and I returned. The bloopers include: 5 of us finished eating long before the 6th dish was served. I ordered a margarita that never came. The check was 100 baht more than what it should have been. I could continue describing the poor service but you're probably hungry so I'll wrap it up. The restaurant was pretty cool at night as far as atmosphere goes, and the food was good but not memorable. Maybe this place is okay when it's at half capacity, but I can't recommend this place

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, now oz
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great food, service and really lovely staff

We ate here twice and both times we had an excellent meal with great service

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Can across this while getting lost in the streets of Koh Phanghan and were very pleased! Its a lovely setting with the high warehouse style ceilings giving it a really cool feel. the food was really nice, nothing fancy but exactly what you want after a long day sunbathing! If your looking for authentic thai food this is not your place, it is more for pizzas, salads etc. Staff really friendly. We went back another night in the holiday (something I rarely do) and the waiter remembered us which is always a nice touch. Even recommended it to people we had met at our hotel and they went a loved it to. Definitely visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre Boldone
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nic's of course !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nic's is the best place in Haad Rin. That's it. It's charmy & cool, simply the best.
A mix of Italian & Spanish food: excellent pizzas and amazing tapas, with 2 cubalibre and the game is over. Courtesy of the personnel is the "cherry on pie".
Go there and pick for their garlic shrimps (gambas al ajillo) ... alioli sauce with potatoes and bread: super, like in Spain. Free wi-fi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nic's Ristorante Pizzeria & LoungeBar also viewed

Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nic's Ristorante Pizzeria & LoungeBar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.