We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nic's Ristorante Pizzeria & LoungeBar - CLOSED

Nic's Ristorante Pizzeria & LoungeBar
94/62 Moo 6, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
066-0810074155
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Can across this while getting lost in the streets of Koh Phanghan and were very pleased! Its a lovely setting with the high warehouse style ceilings giving it a really cool feel. the food was really nice, nothing fancy but exactly what you want after a long day sunbathing! If your looking for authentic thai food this is not your place, it is more for pizzas, salads etc. Staff really friendly. We went back another night in the holiday (something I rarely do) and the waiter remembered us which is always a nice touch. Even recommended it to people we had met at our hotel and they went a loved it to. Definitely visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    9
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Province of Bergamo, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nic's of course !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nic's is the best place in Haad Rin. That's it. It's charmy & cool, simply the best.
A mix of Italian & Spanish food: excellent pizzas and amazing tapas, with 2 cubalibre and the game is over. Courtesy of the personnel is the "cherry on pie".
Go there and pick for their garlic shrimps (gambas al ajillo) ... alioli sauce with potatoes and bread: super, like in Spain. Free wi-fi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“An Oasis in Haad Rin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stumbled across Nic's by accident one wet evening. What a find! Delicious food, WiFi and decor! We returned a few times during our trip and also escaped a rain shower during the day and had some sneaky cocktails accompanied with some of their moreish tapas. The Alioli is fabulous, along with pizzas and anything else I ate there. Have recommended Nic's to anyone who would listen! it is slightly pricer than other places to eat but still
cheap as chips!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not more than average....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We decided to stop by Nic's based on the good reviews. The place is located in the city center and easy to find with the big sign on it's roof. It's an open and clean space. BUT we decided to sit at the back which presented a view of a pond full of litter. Not a pretty sight or smell. After we changed seats to the front we had a starter and a main. The service was good. Also the choice was very wide. The food however was not more than average. The Nic's Special Salad was something I can fix up myself in 5 minutes with a dressing bought at the next super market. Also not everything that the menu said would be in salad actually made it on the plate. The guava was missing.

The 5 star Tripadvisor Rating Nic's is presenting in the entrance area and the really positive reviews here at TA don't reflect our meal at Nic's. Couldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great variety. Never disappointing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at the Dancing Elephant hostel which was right next door to Nic's. It was close by so I decided to check it out. I ended you going back 3 more times. As a traveller, when you find a good and consistent place to eat, it is so much easier to simply continue to go back. Their pizza is quite good, despite being in Thailand where pizza is not their specialty. They have other good selections too. The only downside is it is expensive compared to other restaurants in the area. In addition, service was rather slow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nic's Ristorante Pizzeria & LoungeBar also viewed

Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nic's Ristorante Pizzeria & LoungeBar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.