We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place where to spend your holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tantawan Bungalow

Save Saved
You added Tantawan Bungalow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tantawan Bungalow
51/8 Moo 8 | Haad Yao, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place where to spend your holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

An amazing place where to spend your holiday in Koh Phangan!!! Everything is wonderful in Tantawan! Room, place, restaurant, sea view by the lovely terrace and the owner too!! In a perfect location if you want to live the real island life! Relax and fun in the same place!! Miss it so much!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Owner at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
A big thank you girls, enjoy the time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here back in August 2011 but still had to write a review.

This place is simply amazing; from the pool to its food and location. We stayed in the charm bungalow. The view was incredible and we have happy memories of watching sun sets from the hammock on the balcony.

We must go back one day.

Only wish we stayed for more than three nights.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Owner at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Glad you liked the place, we do our very best to improve the quality day after day :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taucha b Leipzig, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Me and my boyfriend went for our first time traveling together to Ko Phangan and this is the best place to be. We were greeted by a super friendly owner and welcoming drinks. It was a super special treatment being here. The staffs are friendly and smiling. Our bungalow is one of the highest and there's a lot of stairs to take but it's such worth it. We have the best view ever! Sunset on the hammock in our balcony. Nothing to complain about the room and we paid a fair price. And oh the food there are absolutely delicious! We are very happy with our stay. And I don't remember the name of one of the owner ( hope your remember us! ) but he's super friendly and helpful. Thanks for carrying our bags♥ definitely coming back soon!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Propriétaire at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We do remember you guys, no worries. Always a pleasure to deal with friendly people....Always welcome to our little TTW ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornem, Belgium
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Spent a lovely 8 days there, during low season which is just what I like. Weather was, albeiit hot, still very nice compared to the rest of Thailand.
The place itself is lovely, nice bungalows spread out on a hill overlooking the sea. Nice swimming pool, and all is well thought out. I slept in both the wooden bungalows, which are very nice, Zen being the nicest one, slightly larger and a better view. My friend was perfectly happy with the smaller one so there's something to suit everyone.

Room Tip: Zen would be my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Propriétaire at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Many thanks for this review guys, how's life in Belgium?
Greetings from Tantawan :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Can't help feeling that this is a glorified backpacker's accommodation which punches slightly above its weight, and is not cheap. We paid around 2000 Baht per night for the so-called exclusive accommodation, but we feel there are better value options in the area. In fairness we arrived at a time when Tantawan was playing host to at least 20 young people from a tour group [an issue which could affect more independent travellers in the future]. This meant that most of the energy of the staff, the pool and all facilities were sapped by the group, leaving few options for others. In order to access a pool we had to go to another venue and pay for use of the facilities. Apart from Vincent, the co-owner, who is absolutely delightful, and one of the evening bar dudes, the staff were not particularly friendly, which always makes it difficult to ask for assistance. The website is polished, and while not deceptive, it shows Tantawan at its very best. It is the type of accommodation and complex which ages quickly. We had no linen or towel change, and no room clean in four days, although we have since noticed that the website promises room clean. The room was certainly not presented like it is on the website photo. The fan was inadequate, although we did know that it was the only cooling on offer. We are fit people, but there should be a notice on the website stating that the steps are extremely steep in parts, and not especially well-lit. Then people can make an informed choice. Some of the gaps between the charming wooden verandah barriers are large and could be dangerous for small children. The swimming pool is an appealing shape but was unappetising after hours of use by a large group. The restaurant area is well-designed and offers magnificent views, as do most of the bungalows. Overall I suppose it was not what we were expecting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Propriétaire at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello,

We feel absolutely sorry you didn't like the place,the service etc....We always try to give our customers the same attention but it is sometimes difficult to make everyone happy especially when the place is fully booked.

This being said, we highly recommend you to read all comments before booking, it saves time and energy to both parties.

We are wishing you all the best for your next trip :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed at Tantawan on three trips to Koh Phangan, and I will look no further when planning another trip to the island. Vincent and Alain are great hosts and it’s easy to fall in love with the resort. Having travelled to Koh Phangan eight times, while staying at 11 different resorts in total, I’m in a good position to compare the accommodation offered on the island. Tantawan is by far the best value for money, and with its peaceful and relaxed atmosphere it even beats the luxury resorts.

The highlights of every stay at Tantawan include the beautiful sunsets that you can enjoy from the large sun deck, the swimming pool and the mussels! Don’t leave before you try the mussels with creamy white wine sauce with garlic. It’s not on the menu every day, as they serve them only when they are fresh from the sea, so make sure you check with Alain whether they got a fresh order on the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Propriétaire at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Many thanks for these comments, always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed 2 nights and plan to go back for a few more nights before I leave the island. Great bungalow. I stayed in the basic bungalow with fan, which was all I needed. Basic but clean. Great views and hammock. The pool was lovely. The whole place has been beautifully decorated. Food great and staff all lovely. 5 minutes to haad son beach which is a beautiful quiet beach. A real find. The pleasant owners have made something quite special here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Owner at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Many thanks for your message Andrew,really pleased you liked the place.
Welcome @ any time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tantawan Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantawan Bungalow

Address: 51/8 Moo 8 | Haad Yao, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for over 10 years, Tantawan Bungalows is situated on the West Coast of the paradise Island of Koh Phangan,Thailand. Management has changed since beginning of july 2013. Consecutively, the resort as well as it facilities have been revisited in order to provide best Tantawan customers experience (sunset restaurant creation, new swimming pool area, new bars...). Our accommodations are ideally suited for families, couples as well as independent travelers. We have single, twin and double rooms available in a range of styles. Some of the larger bungalows hold ample decking areas for relaxing while enjoying the breathtaking scenery. Our restaurant offers a combination of thai and western "cuisine" and uses the freshest of ingredients, sourced locally on a daily basis. A wide range of amenities and services are available to ensure customers' comfort and guarantee the best holiday vacations : - 15m x 6m swimming pool with poolside lounging and reading areas - Cocktail and soft drink poolside bar and its relaxing space - Restaurant and sunset terrace suited for romantic dinners as well as happy hour cocktails while glazing at the ocean and Ang Thong natural park - Evening specials with on screen entertainments (International sports and events follow ups) Wifi (available in all bungalows) and internet access (free self service computer) - Booking service and information center (ferry, island trips, car rental, taxi, water taxi, island transportation...) - Motorbike rental and free helmet - Parking, deposit box, postage, laundry service ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tantawan Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantawan Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.