We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! Get loads for your money! Ignore the bad reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haad Gruad Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Haad Gruad Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Haad Gruad Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   59/3 M. 8, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome! Get loads for your money! Ignore the bad reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We decided to head to Koh Phangan 2 days early and had nowhere booked. A rep approached us on the ferry and I initially thought 'oh here we go'. He showed us a leaflet on the hotel, said it was 500 baht per night so we booked 2 nights. We felt it was worth a shot as we had nowhere else to stay and wouldn't be arriving in Koh Phangan til late.

We got a free transfer with other guests from the pier to the hotel. We checked into our clean bungalow with a mosquito net and fan, then wandered up to the bar for some food. The menu was great and food was yummy. Good value for money too. We were amazed by our surroundings. A private beach, an infinity pool, great bar/restaurant, free wifi, cute wooden bungalows.

Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    6
    5
    59
See reviews for
11
50
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Didn't have anywhere booked when we headed over to koh phangan on the ferry. We were approached on the ferry by a guy who worked for Haad Gruad and offered us a room for 500baht (£10) a night so we booked two nights. Couldn't have been happier with the place, clean but basic rooms, friendly staff, private beach, swimming pool, wifi, good food etc etc. Have been travelling all around thailand for around 3weeks and is definitely one of the top places we have stayed. Can only assume that the bad reviews were from a long time ago?

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I booked a night from the mainland as good starting point for a week and a half on Koh Phangan however I ended up staying out the whole of my 28 day visa in this resort. Private beach, friendly family and staff that were eager to please. Quite simply having visited koh Phangan before I felt no reason to leave the beach. everything I need in one place. I was travelling alone but it would suit couples, small groups and families. Loved it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My holiday is here. It's peaceful, not crowded with people. It's more private than I expected. It's real holiday here. There are a lot of what I needed ; swimming, sun tanning, relaxing on the beach and pool side. I love this place.

I have read previous reviews. There is nothing bad like those reviews. Many things changed here. Staff can speak english.

I will be back for sure, and I will tell my friends who wanna come to Koh Phangan to come to Haad Gruad Beach Resort.

Room Tip: Comfy bed, great sea view. I reccommed Sea View Bungalow Air-Con. As it's brand new. For Pool V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The resort is nice. Many guests stay over a week. Private beach, peaceful, nature with a lot of trees.

I love sea view on shinny day. So great view.

The rooms are not expensive.

Kind and friendly staff here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We we're approached by someone on the ferry about this resort and as we had no plans we agreed to come and check it out.

That was 3 days ago - we're leaving today but could easily stay another week!

The accommodation here is stunning - it's worth paying the extra for the pool side villas with aircon. The budget option is really basic, although there are mosquito nets and a good fan. The poolside bar is great and the good really impressive.

Bet of all here is the attentive, helpful and friendly staff. They helped us wih any questions we had, and when we arrived late at night they fixed some food for us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seinajoki, Finland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The place was exellent! We planned to stay here for few nights but we stayed here for a week! Its a little bit far away from everything but we didn´t mind, we rented a scooter from the hotel and drived around the island. The staff was really nice and Miles the bartender makes you feel like home. We would recommend this place for everyone who wants far away from the fullmoonpartys! :) We travelled in low season so we got the best room in the hotel for a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haad Gruad Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Gruad Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 59/3 M. 8, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Gruad Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2013, Haad Gruad Beach Resort is fresh and ready to provide professional service under new management. For travelers who want to take in the sights and sounds of Koh Phangan, Haad Gruad Beach Resort is the perfect choice. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. The facilities and services provided by Haad Gruad Beach Resort ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The hotel provides cocktails bar, laundry service/dry cleaning, family room, tours, car park to ensure our guests the greatest comfort. Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with shower, internet access - wireless (complimentary), interconnecting room(s) available, television, balcony/terrace in each room. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as private beach, jacuzzi, garden, outdoor pool to make your stay truly unforgettable. Haad Gruad Beach Resort is a smart choice for travelers to Koh Phangan, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Haad Gruad Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Gruad Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Haad Gruad Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haad Gruad Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.