We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway in quite nice and natural area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sabai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sabai Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56/1 Moo 4 Ko, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway in quite nice and natural area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Almost everything was said in the last ratings, here is a short summary of our stay.

Positive:
+ super nice clean area and rooms
+ direkt beach and sea access with some cozy trees in front (please don't remove them :))
+ good food and friendly staff :)
+ excellent value for money
+ excellent wifi

Negative:
- shallow water during low tide -> take a scooter and ride the west coast (10 minutes ride to e.g. Koh Ma, Had Salad beach)
- snorkeling direct on the beach very hard and a lot of small sharp rocks -> go to Koh Ma also.
- Provided pillows were very hard and heavy, but not a big issue for us

Hope to be here again!

Anna & Thomas

Room Tip: Take the beach front deluxe which has the beach and sea 5 meters away from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    48
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
110
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over the full moon period. It is a great resort and a very relaxing quiet place. The rooms are very clean and we did not encounter much wildlife or insects, good air conditioning and shower also great wi-fi.The sea is right on your door step although not that great for swimming in as very shallow most of the time. The beach and resort grounds are cleaned daily by the friendly staff! Short taxi ride to thong sala for shops and bars and a bit of a longer one to haad rin. All in all we really enjoyed are stay here at sabai beach resort

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

first of all I really wanted to give this place 5, the rooms were excellent value for money and in a remarkably beautiful area. the staff were excellent and the food was pretty good and excellent value. however, the sea in front of the resort is extremely shallow, meaning you can't swim, when this is combined with a lack of pool it does put a bit of a downer on the resort when you want to cool off.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed at Sabai Beach Resort the entire month of April, ( April 1st to April 30th), in the beach bungalow. Very clean, good restaurant, and nice staff.

Pros:
-Clean room and resort grounds.
-fresh Air conditioning.
-Scooter rentals (VERY trust worthy)
---Someone had ran into me from behind on Songkran. Thankfully nothing was broken on the scooter, they checked. And that was that. I traded the scooter in for a different one the next day, and that went smoothly as well.
-Delicious Apple shake (the fruit is just blended with ice I think)! I think they use green apple...so very good. The best I had on the island (no other place used green apple I think).
-Complimentary breakfast every morning. (I think it was for my length of stay, I did not expect it. (they told me about it when I arrived).
-Free wifi (though in the rooms, it would drop off sometimes at night).
-Great room service (I didn't want to be a bother, so I only requested once a week).

Cons:
-Mosquitos; wish there was some kind of warding agent in the room and especially in the restaurant area.
-Beach not for good swimming. Best conditions are at high tide though.
-No dirt bike rental (would have been useful for a couple of the offroads on the island. DEFINITELY for getting to Haad Yao East).
-No swimming pool; it would be even better if they had a pool I think. But they would have to sacrifice the grass garden for it...


For the service, friendly staff and owners, and price (the rate I got for my extended stay anyway), it deserves the 5 stars. If at full price though, I would have probably put 4 Stars.

Things that do not belong in Pro or Con:

-There is dog that likes to hang around the resort. Once he got to know me (and I snuck some bacon to him a few times), he got a bit too comfortable at times perhaps. But he's a good, sweet, dog; be nice to him. He loves people.

-In my month, I would see a jumping spider in my bungalow every once in a while. I actually got used to them, they left me alone. But only one big spider (still don't know what it was, definitely not a tarantula) was in my bathroom. A staff helped me shoo him out the bungalow without killing it: I didn't wanna kill it, but didn't want that punk in my room either.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

if your looking for somewhere to kill time waiting for full moon stay here.. cheap prices, rooms are nice and tidy and the beach is quiet.. nothing much to do apart from sunbathe but i thought the place was amazing, stayed here for 5 nights last august and really can't fault the place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a 10 night stay here, the beach huts are really nice. Really quiet beach yes the water is shallow like other reviews say and there is quite a bit of seaweed washed up. The staff keep the beach clean by sweeping everyday. The resort is run by a family who are very nice and helpful. The food is fantastic ignore the bad reviews about this as we couldn't fault the taste of the food and the breakfast was adequate and clean. We also hired a scooter from them which was very reliable and a great price. Highly recommend!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We honestly had the best green curry so far in Thailand. Pad Thai excellent and papaya salad also possibly the best since we've been in Thailand. We went looking for a beach on scooters and ended up having one of our favorite meals so far. Service good tho we were the only people when we first sat. Great spot on the beach with excellent food.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
3.7 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#1 of 90 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa
0.9 mi away
Baan Manali Resort
Baan Manali Resort
#10 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
6.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#2 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 741 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#20 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabai Beach Resort

Address: 56/1 Moo 4 Ko, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabai Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sabai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabai Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.