We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, just WOW!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sabai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sabai Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56/1 Moo 4 Ko, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WOW, just WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and could easily have changed our trip and stayed here for the whole time!! I can't say it's the best in the area as we only stayed here and it's out first time in Koh Phangan however I can't imagine any where better!!

We stayed in the bird of paradise which is like a tree house....the room was beautiful with great views of the sea and a lovely little seating area.

The beach is miles away from other beaches you'll find in Koh Samui - private, clean...PERFECT! They provide beach towels for you and there are also a few hammocks dotted around too.

The food in the hotel is gorgeous, some of the best we had whilst in Thailand, I recommend the massaman curry! Breakfast was simple. nothing ground breaking - fresh fruit, eggs, toast and jam but for us it was just right.

If you want to be in the thick of it, don't stay here! It's a perfect honeymoon location. Thong Sala is a short 5 min taxi ride away which the hotel can arrange (this ensured that we werent ripped off too! 80bht is standard for one way each) or you can walk along the beach its about 1.5km and took us around 20/30 mins.

The family who run this resort are lovely - very welcoming and helpful!

Room Tip: Stay in the bird of paradise room - beach front bungalows are overrated....this is perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here with friends, having got the ferry from hectic and commercialised Koh Samui (Chaweng). This place is such a gorgeous breath of fresh air, as is the whole island. It is so relaxing, quiet and peaceful!

The resort is family run, so you'll see a few children around, they are very well behaved and sweet. In fact, you'll probably the lady who changes the beds pushing her cart with the clean bedding with her twin girls sat at the end of the cart... so cute. Those girls are just adorable. The food is excellent and inexpensive, the drinks are good too, definitely have a mai tai! We hired scooters and saw a bit more of the island, which is a must do. They were only 200 baht a day so cheaper and way more fun than taxi's.

We stayed in one of the clay cottages, but don't book these if you have mobility issues as they're quite a few steps up! But the view is fab, especially the gorgeous sunsets. They're fairly rustic but I had no complaints, they have everything you need, including a lovely rain shower.

It was such a nice place to stay, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in Sabai Beach hotel with a group of six friends and prior to this trip we have researched plenty hotels . The hotel is located in quiet part of Koh Phangan but the views and the location is to die for. This is a bungalow style hotel ran by a Thai family who are very nice .The accommodation is quite basic but it's clean and all you really need if you are looking for quiet , relaxing holiday and the price is very good for the value . The breakfast although simple is very good but their food menu is very tasty so we ate there most days. We ate out in few places but the food in the resort was much better quality and very well priced. The location is about 5 min drive by Tuk Tuk to Thong Sala village and about 20 min drive to the Haad Rin beach for the full Moon Party . The resort has a strip of private beach an the sunset is absolutely to die for . We have stayed in the hotel for 5 days and did not want to leave . We have spend further four nights in Koh Samui which is a huge dissapoinemt as the beach is very crowded and the Chaweng area of the Island is very commercialised . Koh Phanagan is a place to be of you are looking for quiet , relaxing holiday . We ate one night at the Fisherman's restaurant which is restaurant ran by an Irish lady . The food was absolutely amazing and their grilled Barracuda is simply amazing so I highly recommend .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We initially booked 4 nights at sabai beach but ended up staying for 9. We would have stayed longer but after that they were fully booked! Lovely bungalows, super peaceful. The resort has its own stretch of narrow beach, it is swept every morning and was the cleanest section of beach I saw on all of koh phangan. If you are looking for a party stay on koh phangan this is not for you but if you want a relaxing time in a great bungalow on a lovely beach with amazing sunsets this is for you.
Food at the resort is good as well, it is a bit isolated with just a few other resorts nearby so you will need a scooter to get to other restaurants / parts of the island but you can hire from the resort so no problem.
Rooms are really good value for the money you are paying.

Room Tip: We stayed in the green papaya clay cottage which is raised above the beach bungalows with a lovely h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Resort is very beautiful. We stayed in a beachfront bungalow. You can see the beach from the bed and hear the waves.. We loved beautiful sunsets every evening with amazing views of nearby islands.. Sabai beach resort is run by Chad and his family. Everyone in the family is very helpful and ever smiling. Food in their restaurant (which is again on the beach) is very tasty and cheap. We fell in love with their Massaman curry. It is the best of all the food that we tasted in Thailand. We rented a bike from that place for 200thb per day. We will definitely go back to this place.

Room Tip: Beach front bungalows are excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Laid back small resort with a private beach. We stayed here for nearly three weeks and have already decided on coming back next winter. The most of the bungalows are situated right on the narrow but private beach. The beach is best at high tide as it tends to get a bid muddy and unclear when the tide is low. The sand is not powdery but nothing can beat the privacy! It is very quiet and there are not any shops near by. However a scooter or a cab can take you in to Thong Sala within 10-12 minutes! The scooters can be rented by the owner.
The resort is family run and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Great breakfast but how I would love better bread ( but that it the case everywhere in Asia). The restaurant serves very nice food at reasonable prices.and there is free wifi!
We travelled with two small children and this was perfect as we could sit on the veranda and watch the children play by the water (trees offering shadow too!) or sit and enjoy the evening and the ocean with the children sleeping inside. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Well when we arrived here, we checked in with no problems, was taken down to our Deluxe Beach Front Bungalow which was absolutely gorgeous! Very simple decor, but very lovely, very clean and tidy no problems on that front what so ever.

Such a gorgeous place, I cannot say it enough, the view is just stunning, the beach is very lovely and clean, where the tide comes in and out it may bring some twigs etc with it, but people are up very early in the morning sweeping it all away so you have a perfectly clean and tidy beach when you wake!

Major chill zone! really lovely, absolutely loved it here! Food is good too in the little cafe along the front.

If you do stay here, to the left of the cafe (looking out to the sea) walk along there at night and you will see a very funky little bar, all outside, with thai cushions and seat to sit on aww just lovely.

While we were here we went to the Full Moon Party, which is a little bit away from the resort, but was definitely worth it! Taxi's are extremely cheap here anyway so was not a problem. The staff were very helpful on this night as aparently all over the island you do get a lot of thefts in the resorts/hotels all over the island as the people steeling know that most travellers on the island are at the Full Moon Party so they let you put anything you like in their large safe. Which is really good of them.

We had no problems here at all, we stayed here for 5 days, after staying in Koh Samui.

I became an engaged women on this beach! My boyfriend/now fiance proposed to me in the sea under the full moon! was just beautiful!

A very honey moon/couple type place, definitely worth getting a beach front room. Just gorgeous. Loved it. Definitely go here!!!

Room Tip: Get a beach front Bungalow FOR SURE!! stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sabai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabai Beach Resort

Address: 56/1 Moo 4 Ko, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabai Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sabai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabai Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;