We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with breathtaking location and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sabai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sabai Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56/1 Moo 4 Ko, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
LONDON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel with breathtaking location and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in Sabai Beach hotel with a group of six friends and prior to this trip we have researched plenty hotels . The hotel is located in quiet part of Koh Phangan but the views and the location is to die for. This is a bungalow style hotel ran by a Thai family who are very nice .The accommodation is quite basic but it's clean and all you really need if you are looking for quiet , relaxing holiday and the price is very good for the value . The breakfast although simple is very good but their food menu is very tasty so we ate there most days. We ate out in few places but the food in the resort was much better quality and very well priced. The location is about 5 min drive by Tuk Tuk to Thong Sala village and about 20 min drive to the Haad Rin beach for the full Moon Party . The resort has a strip of private beach an the sunset is absolutely to die for . We have stayed in the hotel for 5 days and did not want to leave . We have spend further four nights in Koh Samui which is a huge dissapoinemt as the beach is very crowded and the Chaweng area of the Island is very commercialised . Koh Phanagan is a place to be of you are looking for quiet , relaxing holiday . We ate one night at the Fisherman's restaurant which is restaurant ran by an Irish lady . The food was absolutely amazing and their grilled Barracuda is simply amazing so I highly recommend .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    33
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
77
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We initially booked 4 nights at sabai beach but ended up staying for 9. We would have stayed longer but after that they were fully booked! Lovely bungalows, super peaceful. The resort has its own stretch of narrow beach, it is swept every morning and was the cleanest section of beach I saw on all of koh phangan. If you are looking for a party stay on koh phangan this is not for you but if you want a relaxing time in a great bungalow on a lovely beach with amazing sunsets this is for you.
Food at the resort is good as well, it is a bit isolated with just a few other resorts nearby so you will need a scooter to get to other restaurants / parts of the island but you can hire from the resort so no problem.
Rooms are really good value for the money you are paying.

Room Tip: We stayed in the green papaya clay cottage which is raised above the beach bungalows with a lovely h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Resort is very beautiful. We stayed in a beachfront bungalow. You can see the beach from the bed and hear the waves.. We loved beautiful sunsets every evening with amazing views of nearby islands.. Sabai beach resort is run by Chad and his family. Everyone in the family is very helpful and ever smiling. Food in their restaurant (which is again on the beach) is very tasty and cheap. We fell in love with their Massaman curry. It is the best of all the food that we tasted in Thailand. We rented a bike from that place for 200thb per day. We will definitely go back to this place.

Room Tip: Beach front bungalows are excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Laid back small resort with a private beach. We stayed here for nearly three weeks and have already decided on coming back next winter. The most of the bungalows are situated right on the narrow but private beach. The beach is best at high tide as it tends to get a bid muddy and unclear when the tide is low. The sand is not powdery but nothing can beat the privacy! It is very quiet and there are not any shops near by. However a scooter or a cab can take you in to Thong Sala within 10-12 minutes! The scooters can be rented by the owner.
The resort is family run and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Great breakfast but how I would love better bread ( but that it the case everywhere in Asia). The restaurant serves very nice food at reasonable prices.and there is free wifi!
We travelled with two small children and this was perfect as we could sit on the veranda and watch the children play by the water (trees offering shadow too!) or sit and enjoy the evening and the ocean with the children sleeping inside. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Well when we arrived here, we checked in with no problems, was taken down to our Deluxe Beach Front Bungalow which was absolutely gorgeous! Very simple decor, but very lovely, very clean and tidy no problems on that front what so ever.

Such a gorgeous place, I cannot say it enough, the view is just stunning, the beach is very lovely and clean, where the tide comes in and out it may bring some twigs etc with it, but people are up very early in the morning sweeping it all away so you have a perfectly clean and tidy beach when you wake!

Major chill zone! really lovely, absolutely loved it here! Food is good too in the little cafe along the front.

If you do stay here, to the left of the cafe (looking out to the sea) walk along there at night and you will see a very funky little bar, all outside, with thai cushions and seat to sit on aww just lovely.

While we were here we went to the Full Moon Party, which is a little bit away from the resort, but was definitely worth it! Taxi's are extremely cheap here anyway so was not a problem. The staff were very helpful on this night as aparently all over the island you do get a lot of thefts in the resorts/hotels all over the island as the people steeling know that most travellers on the island are at the Full Moon Party so they let you put anything you like in their large safe. Which is really good of them.

We had no problems here at all, we stayed here for 5 days, after staying in Koh Samui.

I became an engaged women on this beach! My boyfriend/now fiance proposed to me in the sea under the full moon! was just beautiful!

A very honey moon/couple type place, definitely worth getting a beach front room. Just gorgeous. Loved it. Definitely go here!!!

Room Tip: Get a beach front Bungalow FOR SURE!! stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thun
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

When you are in Ko Phangan...it's a must to stay at the sabai beach resort!!

+ Beautiful and quiet beach
+ Great bungalows
+ Lovely owner family
+ Delicious food

What you pay you will get...............................................................................:-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was actually completely jealous that the people that owned this resort had the good luck to live here. It's beautiful, the staff are great and the two small twin girls that play with the other children are adorable. The accommodation is reasonably basic but all functional and clean. Overall I did not want to leave. Also we meet some very nice people here too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sabai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabai Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Sabai Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Address: 56/1 Moo 4 Ko, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabai Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sabai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.