We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May not be for all, but definitely for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sabai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sabai Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56/1 Moo 4 Ko, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“May not be for all, but definitely for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent two nights at the Sabai Beach Resort and really loved our stay there. I felt we got more than what we paid for. The Resort was locally run and everyone was extremely kind and gracious with their hospitality. Definitely try to grab a Thai dinner or lunch from the restaurant. You can't ask for more authentic and delicious Thai food than this! Like others have mentioned, the beach is not the greatest for swimming but it is perfect for relaxing and catching a beautiful sunset. They do try their best to fight nature and clean the beach every morning of leaves and seaweed.

We had booked a Garden and Sea bungalow. I was worried that there would be noise coming in from the the reception/restaurant as we were right next door but was relieved to find the room quiet throughout our stay. The room was clean and basic. Air con worked great, bathroom was tidy without a trace of mold or mildew. We were able to rent motorbikes from the resort without a problem.

The resort definitely gives you that castaway feeling. It was so quiet and peaceful, we found it difficult to believe that this was a party island. I would definitely come back without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

These bungalows are great if you're travelling Thailand on a budget and want that real basic accomodation with a castaway feeling. However, this was just not for us. The problem was more the accomodation. The setting was fantastic, with amazing views but the hut on the beach just didn't cut it for us.

After the first day we avoided the inclusive breakfast which was uncovered and teaming with flies and sensibly chose to eat at the establishment nextdoor.

It's not within walking distance of the town so you will need to hire a scooter. Unfortunately during our stay all of the scooters were booked out and we faced a long walk to the main road to catch a cab.

Authentic, just not our thing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the sabai beach resort for three nights.
We loved it but be a bit be carefull if the owner promisis to pick you up at the Pier.
We where left standing for 40 mins and ended up getting a taxi at 150baht each.
The correct price should have been 50baht each.
When we got to the resort I asked both the husband and wife who are the owners what had happened and they both had a different story.
When we checked out I reminded the owner of this and would they deduct the price of the taxi from our bill to which he said no.
So my conclusion is that the owners are not giving as good a service or duty of care as they should.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were meant to stay 5 nights and loved the place so much we stayed 8 nights, did not want to leave. The bungalows are right at the beach front, it is so relaxing and beautiful. The rooms are clean and very cozy. The beach and gardens are also well maintained. The family who run the place are lovely and cannot do enough for you. You can order food and eat at your room or on the beach. We ate at the resort most days and the food is excellent and very good value. This place is a home from home, will definitely stay here again when I (hopefully) return to Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezzo, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The price is really low as usual in Thailand but the service is great!
We stayed there three nights (2-5 July 2012)
The rooms are extraordinary, they prepare them with care and love (they set the towels in a heart shape).
The place itself it's fantastic, great view on the ocean and really beautiful, quiet and comfortable environment.
The staff is just awesome! They were really friendly and useful with any enquiry and we also ate there every lunch and dinner and the food was great too!
The breakfast is included and the last morning we had to leave at 6am to get an early ferry and they offered to prepare us some sandwiches (for free!) as we couldn't attend the breakfast!
We were amazingly surprised, it's hard to find a service good as this one!
We will go back again if we will ever come back to Kho phangan.
Book here! It is totally worth!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puteaux, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Avoid had rin city and come to here at Sabai resort.
This is the paradise, your bungalow has almost feet under water, from your bed you can see the beach, that is better than TV.
Your ear the sound of the sound of the wave all night long.
Family who manage bungalows is really kind, professional and always smiling.
They have booked a tour , boat and taxi for us.
Restaurant is good and you have plenty of choice.
Breakfast is good also.
You can stay here 2 or 3 nights.
To swim, go by feet 10 min on the left because beach is not the best in front of the hotel.
It was our best accommodation.

Do not go to Had rin, it is only for ininteresting young british people who were there for the full moon party. We did a tour with them and it was like at school with babies.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in low season so our beach front bungalow was only 990 baht.

Amazed by the location, no more than ten paces from the sea. Could hear the waves crashing when we slept. Water was hottest here we encountered our whole trip, it's so shallow sun heats it like a bath.

The beach side bungalow was the cheapest room they did, should have been 1500 baht in high season. It was cleaned every day, a/c, fridge, plenty of hot water too. We opted for a room without tv but they are available.

Wifi was only available in main communal area but worked fine.

Staff are so lovely here. Run by a Thai family only a few of them can speak good English but nothing was a problem. They were so smiley it was lovely. They kept the place do tidy too. For example every morning they would rake the whole beach of the small amount of sea grass that had been washed out in the night.

We used one of their scooters to get around. It's quite remote otherwise. Probably about 30 mins walk into local
Town thongsala. Only couple of mins on the scooter. Great good market in town with fresh juices too. Wish we could go back for them!

Definitely would stay here again, it was paradise being so neat to the beach for such a good price. Loved every second of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sabai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabai Beach Resort

Address: 56/1 Moo 4 Ko, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabai Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sabai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabai Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.