We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Place to Stay in Thailand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Awe Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Awe Resort to your Saves list
Awe Resort
26 Moo 2 | On Baan Tai Beach, right next to a garden plant shop. Entrance near the international hospital on the southern coast road of Tongsala-Haad Rin., Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My Favourite Place to Stay in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have traveled all over the land of smiles and had stumbled across Awe Resort a couple of times without staying. When I am in Thailand I often stay for at least 2 months, so I seek out somewhere that has all the amenities and is comfortable for a long stay.

When I finally managed to stay here for a couple of months (book early as there are four villas and they are always booked out) it was just perfect. The villas are right on the beach (literally the first villa is two steps from the sand) with a beautiful sunset view over to Koh Samui.

The housekeeper Wan could not do enough for you and will make your stay absolutely hassle free, as she did mine. Your villa is cleaned every few days, fresh water supplied on request, laundry service dropped off to your door and if you are lucky you will get fresh fruit from the trees that grow around the villas.

For staying long term there is everything you need - a full kitchen, swimming pool, restaurant next door, fast wi-fi etc.

The villas are all the same layout; two floors with the kitchen and an open space downstairs, and one big room upstairs with two double beds and a nice little wet room bathroom. There is also a nice little balcony upstairs with room for two people to sit and a table, and also some space upstairs to hang out clothes/towels to dry outside.

Beds are really comfy, there are two air conditioning units in the room upstairs (but try opening the windows for a natural breeze), mosquito/insect covers on the windows, a safe, 2 fans, penty of storage space, dressing table etc.

Peter the owner is also fantastically helpful and a really nice guy - anything you need he will do or get done for you, and if you have any concerns he will sort them out right away.

The location is good and you can walk up and down the beach to many different restuarants and resorts. If you are into kitesurfing then on the beach right outside is a kite surfing school called Breeze Kiteboarding (look it up on Facebook) - I learned here from a total beginner and Dani was absolutely brilliant, and with just 15/20 hours I was up and kitesurfing on my own.

The island itself is fairly undeveloped so you need some transport to get around, as everything is spaced out. There are plenty of high standard restaurants, fun bars etc. so if you rent a scooter or car (ask Wan) it will make your stay a lot more enjoyable.

The infinity pool is just big enough to do laps and is fresh water, so no nasty chlorine smells. It is cleaned regularly and has a nice waterfall feature at one end.

When you are there Wan treats you like part of the family and I guarantee you won't want to leave. Her daughters are always around with a big smile on their face either helping out with the chores, playing on the beach or chatting to the guests.

Awe Resort is a touch more expensive than other places but worth every single penny. The location, quality of the Villas and service you get will really make the difference to your stay in Koh Phangan.

Don't miss this one.

Room Tip: The villa closet to the beach is great but it is on an open beach, so occasionally you will get peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    10
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

i had the pleasure to stay at awe resort for about a week with a good friend of mine. amazingly friendly staff who are willing to help you with any request you are having. a wonderful pool overlooking the ocean in a private and calmed atmosphere. the location is perfect if you are looking for a balance between partying-around and having a quite get-away. believe it's the perfect location for families with kids or long-term stayers. own kitchen attached also the possibility to have your own BBQ.

value for money if you are looking to stay long-term!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have just come back from staying at Awe for two months, and I don't have a single bad word to say about it. The villa itself is beautifully decorated, modern, clean and spacious, we stayed in Villa 1, right on the beach, and we saw some stunning sunsets - you could never tire of them! Wan, the housekeeper was fantastic, she kept the villas clean, the gardens blooming, and she will do a BBQ for you too if you ask (so tasty!). You can get huge containers of water for a small price, and your laundry done, and delivered to your door. The location of Awe is perfect, the beach is never busy in Baan Tai so you have your own little paradise right on your doorstep, and it's so peaceful at night because you're not on the main road or too close to any bars. I can't recommend this place enough to everyone visiting Phangan, from families to couples, it accomodates everyones needs. They have also had security cameras installed which makes the place feel safe and secure, which was one of my main worries when coming to Thailand, but we had no problems whatsoever. Just want to say a massive thank you to the owner, Peter, unfortunately we didn't get the pleasure of meeting him, but he was only an email away if we needed anything at all, at any time of the day, and he was great for giving advice on things to do around the island, the place is a credit to you, thanks again, and we'll see you again very soon..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We did a lot of research before booking a place to stay on Koh Phangan. We picked Awe because it has a kitchen and we liked the location – close to town and the Full Moon Party, but on a quiet beach.

We stayed in #2, which is the second closest to the beach. The ground level has a full, enclosed kitchen with fan and you can open all of the doors and windows to get a breeze. Outside the kitchen is a covered patio with table and chairs. Up a spiral staircase is a cozy air conditioned bedroom with two queen beds, a built in couch with luggage space underneath, and rack to hang clothes. There is a TV, free wi-fi, and a safe. The bathroom is a bit small but functional – there is a pedestal sink and small shelf for toiletries. The upstairs balcony with table and chairs is a good place to gaze at the ocean and catch a cool breeze. There is a nice pool that overlooks the ocean (it is pretty much on the beach).

Wan, the caretaker is super friendly and helpful. Peter, the owner, was always available by email when we had questions.

If you don’t feel like cooking or want to grab a cocktail, head next door to Phangan Beach Resort – no need to put on your shoes, just walk a few steps down the beach (try the banana pancakes for breakfast). There is also a windsurfing school next door. And, if you like animals, you can make friends with some of the dogs that live at the nearby hotels.

Awe is a great option if you seek an affordable flat on the beach in a quiet, convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrin78
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I felt home from the very first second and the profidence of the "houselady" made it a best place to be on Koh Phangan!!
The price/value relation is top!
The beds have been very comfortable and the own kitchen with the offert grill made us have a fine barbecue every second night.
We come back for sure soon, and next time we stay longer!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

After 4 days in Bangkok I needed a vacation from my Thai vacation. Thank goodness for Awe. Upon arrival we had some time on Samui before we took the ferry over. I managed to get a sweet foot massage before the short, relaxing ride. Perfect way to start the weekend.

Once on Koh Phangan we cabbed it to Awe and got into our rooms right away. The caretaker welcomed us and, upon our request, also had mountain bikes waiting for us to use during our stay. It was a little to late to ride that day so we grabbed a drink from the bar next door (literally 10 seconds away) and watched one of the most amazing sunsets I have ever seen. The view from Awe is spectacular. To wrap up our first night we walked five minutes to Milky Bay restaurant for a yummy dinner.

Day two was mountain biking day. Be warned, the owner Peter gave us this idea to ride and hike around the island, which was perfect. However, better to get directions from a local than him, since his sense of direction is questionable. Also, the island is a bit hilly and the hike was steep, but for our thirty-something group it was the perfect mix of challenging and scenic. Thanks to Juan and Peter for setting up this great day!

Day three we headed to the port area for massages and shopping, again per Peter's suggestion. I can't remember the name of the spa we went to, but it was on the beach and fantastic! Plus 30% off before 1 pm. We went back to Awe after lunch to just enjoy the beach and pool. It was so quiet and peaceful on our one little part of the island.

Awe is a beautiful, quiet, perfect getaway from the bustle of life! But it has great wireless just so you are not too disconnected:). Thanks for a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Awe was the perfect mix of modern amenities in a smaller resort with a more intimate environment. It is a very special highlight from our amazing trip to the timezone exactly opposite our home. Awe first served as a welcomed break from the bustle of Bangkok; but this trip within a trip is the reason why we did not need a vacation from our vacation. Cannot ask for a nicer, more relaxing or more beautiful place to visit. Thank you Peter.

Room Tip: Rooms are great; Awe was perfect...my only tip involves a different subject: Beware of anything adve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Awe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awe Resort

Address: 26 Moo 2 | On Baan Tai Beach, right next to a garden plant shop. Entrance near the international hospital on the southern coast road of Tongsala-Haad Rin., Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awe Resort features four modern villas on a private beach. Each villa comes with a kitchen, an open-air living room, balcony, TV, DVD, heated showers and two beds (one king and queen) in an uninterrupted space that spans the entire second floor. Enjoy a dip in our saltwater beachfront pool. Dine at our restaurant on the beach or explore the 6 other restaurants within a 10-minute walk along the beach from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Awe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.