We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a private home, less like a resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Awe Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Awe Resort to your Saves list
Awe Resort
26 Moo 2 | On Baan Tai Beach, right next to a garden plant shop. Entrance near the international hospital on the southern coast road of Tongsala-Haad Rin., Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More like a private home, less like a resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my first trip to Thailand and Koh Phangan. I'm very happy that two of my friends knew about Awe Resort, as it turned out to be fantastic. With four modern villas, it's a small resort that doesn't get crowded. Each villa has two king size beds, so up to four people can stay in it. The rooms are air conditioned if you want to escape a while from the sun. There's wifi that works well, and the pool is awesome (and private!). Each villa has a kitchen on the ground floor in case you want to cook, but we mostly ate dinner at Fisherman's (one of the best restaurants on the island) and breakfast at the nearby bigger resort. Getting around is easy, it's not far to the main road where you can grab a tuktuk. We paid 100 baht per person to Haad Rin, and 50 per person to Thong Sala. This is more like having a private home on Koh Phangan, than like staying at a resort. Thank you Peter!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    10
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A group of us rented two villas here for two months and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The villas are modern, beautiful, clean and well-appointed. The caretaker Wan is very nice, funny and accommodating, as is Peter. The sunsets at the beach here are magnificent, and the resort is located near Thongsala (markets, restaurants) and relatively near Haad Rin (great beach, Full Moon Party, etc.).

Bonus tip: the crispy pork at the restaurant across the highway, A Rhoy a Roy, is amazing, either fried with kale or on top of noodles!

Room Tip: Villa 1 is right on the beach and is probably the best one to pick. Otherwise, the four villas are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent 2 months in Koh Pangan staying at AWE Resort and I don't think we could've stayed at a better place. It's in the middle of Thongsala and Haad Rin so it's quite accessible. The beach wasn't the best but the view of the sunset was gorgeous. Wan (the caretaker) was really sweet (She almost cried at the port as we were saying goodbyes!) and accommodating. There were fresh towels everyday. Room is cleaned every other day. She even shares us her cooking. We also had the chance to hang out with the Peter. Awesome guy. He gave me a cake on my birthday. :) Definitely recommended

Room Tip: Villa 1 is at the beach so the view is great. Villa 2 is nearest to the pool. Villa 3 and 4 are adja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent two months in AWE, and every day was a delight. The villas were very comfortable and contained all amenities one could want including hot showers, air conditioned rooms, and wifi. The wifi especially was very important since we went there for work/vacation. It was very fast but got wonky on our last couple of weeks.

The caretaker, Wan, made us feel very welcome and took very good care of us. We had a lot of fun talking with her and playing with her kids every day. Her presence made AWE feel like home, and it was a very bittersweet day when we had to go. We were also able to meet the host, Peter, twice during our stay, and he was also very accommodating.

Location wise it is very good, just a few minutes away from almost everything including the food market and Tesco. The only thing I could nitpick was that the beach was almost always very shallow. I consider myself a competent swimmer so I preferred deeper waters. Good thing AWE has a pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent 2 months at Awe and it was a most awesome experience. The location was great though I recommend getting a motorbike if you want to go to Pantip Market. There was a resto across the street called Aroy Aroy (not sure about spelling) that served good crispy pork rice and noodle soup. The beach isn't the best for swimming but Awe had a really clean pool.

Peter was accommodating even going out to buy power outlets (we had a bunch of laptops) and fans so we could work in the dining/living area.

Highly recommended and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a great resort, well kept with very friendly staff. The host, Peter, made us feel very comfortable and at home. The pool is very nice and it's just a wonderful getaway and holiday resort. Good location, close to the town and other areas around the island are easily accessible by taxi. Will recommend to my friends and come back again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerenveen, Friesland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent a week at AWE. The villa's are modern and very clean. Of you love privacy, This is a good choice. The kids loved The pool too. The beach isn't the best At This Side of The island, but with The mopeds rented IT is easy to travel around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Awe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awe Resort

Address: 26 Moo 2 | On Baan Tai Beach, right next to a garden plant shop. Entrance near the international hospital on the southern coast road of Tongsala-Haad Rin., Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awe Resort features four modern villas on a private beach. Each villa comes with a kitchen, an open-air living room, balcony, TV, DVD, heated showers and two beds (one king and queen) in an uninterrupted space that spans the entire second floor. Enjoy a dip in our saltwater beachfront pool. Dine at our restaurant on the beach or explore the 6 other restaurants within a 10-minute walk along the beach from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Awe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.