We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bottle this place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bottle Beach 1 Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bottle Beach 1 Resort to your Saves list
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bottle this place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A superbly run and managed low key beach paradise... get away from the madness of the north and head to this chilled, cut-off beach with excellent food and swimming. Definitely worth a trip but not a huge amount to do apart from swim, chill, eat and drink... perfect!

Room Tip: Beach front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    40
    25
    14
    12
See reviews for
19
61
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after fleeing Smile Bungalows. On this trip to Thailand we discovered that we were no longer happy with the cheapest rooms we could find, so after one night at Smile we went in search for something a little more homey (our bungalow at Smile cost 500 Baht, and let's just say you get what you pay for).

Our room at Bottle Beach 1 Resort was one of the Carrot Rooms in the garden. It was very big, as was the bathroom, which even had a jacuzzi in it! Bit odd, we thought, but there you go :) There were a few cracks in the paint, enough for a few geckos to find their way in, and you could see that it'd soon be time for a new coat of paint, so to speak, but it was in no way dirty. Everything worked just fine, and being at the end of the garden meant we were far enough away from things for the evenings and nights to be totally quiet. Our porch looked out over the garden, and we spent the evenings there with a cold beer and book before eating. It was lovely.

The staff were helpful and friendly, and the food good in the restaurant. There was a little shop for smaller things, and internet too (paid by the hour - rather dodgy but if it didn't work they gave us a new password with no questions asked).

We left after just two nights as the beach, though beautiful, was very quiet, and we wanted to feel a bit more local life. We got a taxi from the beach, organised by the staff, which was quite a ride over the 'roads' and worth it for the experience and views from the top of the hills.

We'd definitely recommend this for couples, friends and families.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet, ask for a room at the end of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in a beach front cottage in 2009, we returned in January 2013 we stayed in a cottage two down from the last time, this was quieter than previous stay. The beach front cottages have all been renovated, they are quite basic, but have everything you need, they are need and tidy. The bathroom has improved significantly. Don't expect hot water, but in the heat that shouldn't be an issue.

Bring a hommock, the beach front cottages are perfect for hanging a hammock. You can hang in the hammock and watch the sea / beach, its beautiful!

If you are feeling adventurous try out the kayaks, people staying at Bottle Beach 1 were allowed to use the kayaks for free.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the 3 beach front cottages next to the restaurant and bar, the evenings are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

While my stay on lovey Bottle Beach I was living in Smile Bungalows, right next to Bottle Beach 1 Resort. And I would recommend to stay in Smiles, the Bungalows are wunderful, very cheap and the staff is amazing. Now to my really bad experience with the staff in the Bottle Beach 1 Resort. One day I had a really important apointment in Thong Sala and as I could not be too late I would not trust the longboat timetable. So 24 hour before I went to BB1 and organised a taxi gor the next day. I told the woman at the reception several times how important it is that I am going to be on time. She reasured me, that she wil take care of it, so I trusted her. When I went there a little before the taxi should leave, nothing was organised. No car! So I got quite angry and told her that that is not how we had agreed the day before. Out of nothing she and the girl next to her started to shout back at me and the worst they would speak to each other in Thai, obviously bad about myself. In the end I was more than one hour late for my apointment. I did not get any form of appology. So to close this: most of the staff in BB1 is very unprofessional, unfriendly and ibviously not willing to improve their behaviour! So better go to Smile Bungalow and not trust BB1.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Well it is difficult to put into words just how stunning bottle beach is, the sand is white and the sea coral blue and warm. Robinson Crusoe with drinks and food on tap.
i get so angry with the negative reviews, what do people want for £8 or £10 per night.
The staff are very friendly and if you take the time to get to know them, they are intelligent and very funny. How many tourists who visit the beach can speak Thai, or maybe 5 other languages, as the staff do.
The accomodation is basic, as is the food, however this is one of the few distinations left in Thailand which is unspoilt. It want last forever,as soon as they construct a road into the resort, it will change and be developed as has happened with most of the other beaches.
So, pack your bags and get out there quick.............i love it.

Room Tip: Beach Front.....listen to the sea at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boroughbridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed here over new year. We were planning on using it as a base for when we went to full moon parties and the such. However we didn't realise how remote this resort is. Looking back this was our fault for not researching it properly however it did mean that due to our lack of funds we missed out on a couple of parties.
When we first arrived at Thong Sala we approached a taxi and asked them to take us to Bottle Beach, we hadn't arranged a transfer with the hotel, they then informed us that they would take us to Chaloklum but we would then have to get a long-tail boat around to the beach. This was something we weren't expecting and after 2 days of travelling it was a nasty shock. However we piled into a long-tail boat, rucksacks and all and tried to make the most of it.
We stayed in a beach hut, which was lovely in itself but we did have to share it with a bit of wild life, however you are on the edge of the jungle so its to be expected.
The staff are lovely and if you treat them like human beings they will instantly welcome you into the little family they have there. My friend got a traditional bamboo tattoo and if you're interested in that kind of thing then I would definitly recommend it. He was very proffessional and it all looked very clean.
It is a lovely place to stay if you're looking to relax and unwind however not so good if you want to party and stay out all night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

beautiful beach and good hotel. Service was average but this is Thailand. We only stayed for 2 nights but was decent place to stay. Rooms were average. We would probably stay there again if we ever went back

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bottle Beach 1 Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bottle Beach 1 Resort

Address: Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bottle Beach 1 Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bottle Beach, the most beautiful beach on Koh Phangan. Catch a long tail boat round from Chaloklum and prepare to relax. Beach front huts with fan for 550 baht to deluxe air conditioned bungalows for 1,500 baht. Restaurant, massage spa, white sand and blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Elvoline ltd, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Bottle Beach 1 Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bottle Beach 1 Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottle Beach 1 Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.