We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bottle Beach 1 Resort

Save Saved
You added Bottle Beach 1 Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Well it is difficult to put into words just how stunning bottle beach is, the sand is white and the sea coral blue and warm. Robinson Crusoe with drinks and food on tap.
i get so angry with the negative reviews, what do people want for £8 or £10 per night.
The staff are very friendly and if you take the time to get to know them, they are intelligent and very funny. How many tourists who visit the beach can speak Thai, or maybe 5 other languages, as the staff do.
The accomodation is basic, as is the food, however this is one of the few distinations left in Thailand which is unspoilt. It want last forever,as soon as they construct a road into the resort, it will change and be developed as has happened with most of the other beaches.
So, pack your bags and get out there quick.............i love it.

Room Tip: Beach Front.....listen to the sea at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    23
    11
    12
See reviews for
19
54
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boroughbridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed here over new year. We were planning on using it as a base for when we went to full moon parties and the such. However we didn't realise how remote this resort is. Looking back this was our fault for not researching it properly however it did mean that due to our lack of funds we missed out on a couple of parties.
When we first arrived at Thong Sala we approached a taxi and asked them to take us to Bottle Beach, we hadn't arranged a transfer with the hotel, they then informed us that they would take us to Chaloklum but we would then have to get a long-tail boat around to the beach. This was something we weren't expecting and after 2 days of travelling it was a nasty shock. However we piled into a long-tail boat, rucksacks and all and tried to make the most of it.
We stayed in a beach hut, which was lovely in itself but we did have to share it with a bit of wild life, however you are on the edge of the jungle so its to be expected.
The staff are lovely and if you treat them like human beings they will instantly welcome you into the little family they have there. My friend got a traditional bamboo tattoo and if you're interested in that kind of thing then I would definitly recommend it. He was very proffessional and it all looked very clean.
It is a lovely place to stay if you're looking to relax and unwind however not so good if you want to party and stay out all night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

beautiful beach and good hotel. Service was average but this is Thailand. We only stayed for 2 nights but was decent place to stay. Rooms were average. We would probably stay there again if we ever went back

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington nz
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I loved our stay at Bottle Beach II. This is my favourite swimming beach - the sand was silky white, the water crystal clear and you could swim all day, with low tide not making much difference at all. We had a beachfront bungalow with a deck over the sand with a fantastic outlook past the palm trees, over the sand to the crystal clear water and blue sky. Bungalow was great value at NZ$37 and for this we got a deluxe beachfront with 2 double beds, table and wardrobe. Bathroom was a bit old but fine. It was all clean. Toilet paper in the bin, but they gave you spare bags, and when you asked they cleaned your room and linen every 2 days. They have loungers and chairs on the beach, comfy chairs on your balcony and some even have lilos. They also have a lovely big clean swimming pool although with that beach it is redundant. We found their restaurant had the best restaurant setting and food on the beach, although no ambiance at night (in fact nothing happening on the beach at all at night) Loved the friendly waiters. This beach had lots of day trippers but had an unspoilt/undiscovered feel, it was lined with budget bungalows, although sad to see a few motel style units – but no 5 star resorts like Noi! It was very relaxing sitting in a chair by the waters edge, feet sitting in the lapping water, reading a book, sun beating down - bliss! Loved our stay, although we nearly missed out as they did not respond to requests submitted on their web site or emails, so we rung in the end, and they even came and picked us up for reasonable rate. My only complaint would be the reception girls, not very friendly at all and very inefficient billing system.

Room Tip: Get a beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as a couple for 5 nights in August. We originally had planned to use the resort as our base for 2 weeks while we moved around koh phagnan but we moved on after 5 days for a few reasons. The beach is stunning here, the water is deep & clear, great for swimming & it's hard to find better on samui or phagnan. We took a delux bungalow a row back from the beach which we were told included breakfast. From the beginning the girl at reception was very concerned that we settle our bill daily or every two days. We felt this was a bit strange but as requested we checked it on the 2nd day & saw we were being charged for breakfast. We tried to discuss it with the same girl who told us only 80 baht of a breakfast was included. This was not even the problem but the girl was so rude, talking in Thai & rolling her eyes to the girl beside her & eventually being really aggressive to the point where we just left & said it was fine. We felt the staff in general were unprofessional & immature & when we ordered food/drinks we always felt like we were annoying them. They are mostly teenagers & more concerned with playing with the younger guests. One guy Yoyo from Burma was very nice though. Our room was ok, the bathroom was full of ants on the walls & there were so many geckos in the room regularly & larger lizards too, but you are in the jungle so it's to be expected. No fridge ithe room which iwould prefer to the tv as we never even turned it on. Also the room was never cleaned & the small towels were never changed. The food on bottle beach is very basic but inexpensive. Don't expect great food but the prices are cheap. drinks are also cheap here but f you're staying a few days, bring some water & snacks as there is no shop and you have to buy everything from the hotel which takes ages & obviously you pay a bit more. When we were checking out, they deducted the breakfast from our bill which was a nice gesture but at that stage the staff had left a dent with us & we were ready to go. We never had an issue with the price, we had just been asking a few questions. Overall bottle beach is nice for a couple of days but the accommodation & restaurants are basic & it's soooooo quiet at night.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

we book this hotel with a tour operator, ABF, transfer included, when we arrive, must wait 1 houre for the transfer, the hotel forget, when we arrive, the staff give to us a bungalow garden, every thin was borken inside, we booking with the tour operator a family bungalow airconditioned, sea view, i speaking with the staff and give the voucher, but said all is full, i phone to the tour operator, and after 30 minute the staff change us a room, every morning we go to take ABF, and the staff give the menu for chose what we want, and surprice in the end all was charge tu us, we asked what is this, the staff said to us includ is only 80 Baht, all the rest is extra, i said you must todl the client befort and said exacly what is includ, was the same for the room, we stay 5 days, and now one comme to clean the room and change the bed shet, we asked and staff said is normal, we chang every 3 days if we have time.

if you want to be like robison is a good , but if you want a service chose other hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I spent a week there and loved it!
Its not for party nights its more for people who likes to spend time on the beach away from civili noise and all the main city
I went for relaxing and chilling
I recommend this place with all of my hurt!
you will never forget it

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bottle Beach 1 Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bottle Beach 1 Resort

Address: Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bottle Beach 1 Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bottle Beach, the most beautiful beach on Koh Phangan. Catch a long tail boat round from Chaloklum and prepare to relax. Beach front huts with fan for 550 baht to deluxe air conditioned bungalows for 1,500 baht. Restaurant, massage spa, white sand and blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Bottle Beach 1 Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bottle Beach 1 Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottle Beach 1 Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.