We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience is the keyword” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Garden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Garden Resort to your Saves list
Coco Garden Resort
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   100/7 Moo 1, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
4.5 of 5 stars 200 Reviews
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ambience is the keyword”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Other Tripadvisor reviews allready summoned up the qualities of Coco Garden Resort at Phangan.

Everything was smooth here; A late booking, kitchen is awesome, recommendation of scooter rent, late checkout you name it. Language is english and more or less all employees master this.

The beach side bar is a worth a visit even if you don't stay here.

I'd certainly visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco Garden R, Owner at Coco Garden Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks very much for the postive review - very much appreciated
We would also like to thank you for the technical information given to improve our services
It was a pleasure to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    44
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
6
59
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed in bungalows with AC and hot water, quite nicely decorated and lots of storage room for stuff and clothes. Nice little porch with table and chairs and hammock. Staff is generally helpful but their memory seems to be a little bad. We didn't have a waste bin for toilet paper and we had to ask three times before she brought us one. She apologized many times though. Also when we checked in, she noticed hammock was broken and told us they would bring us a new one which they never did. Anyway we did not remind her about it, we only used the chairs and table anyway so. Beach bar staff is very friendly and the bar itself is cozy with good cocktails. Breakfast is not included but food is good and service is quick. Location is great, 10 min walk to Tong Sala with the great evening food market and shops and pier. 20 min taxi ride to Haad Rin or the jungle parties which makes this a quiet location. The resort is a little bit in from the main road, the main road has many restaurants, yoga place, bars, massage parlours, supermarket etc. Everything you need is within walking distance except maybe the big parties :) Beachfront is maybe not the best, when there is high water the beach is gone :)

There are many pleasant bungalow beach places like this on Koh Phangan, but Coco Garden had very good prices and good location, that's why we chose them!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you choose, some of them are at the beach, some of them are in the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco Garden R, Manager at Coco Garden Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks for your positive feedback and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We do apologise for the couple of occasions in which we could have been more attentive
We now encourage our front staff to keep a To Do list as it is easy to forget small tasks during busy periods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Really one of the best places i have stayed at. The location is good, the bungalows are super nice with comfortable beds and a quick and good AC, the bathrooms are perfectly clean and almost European standard. The premises are very nicely done, there is a bar, lots of hammocks, enough places to read, chill, and do whatever you like.
The restaurant is exceptional and reasonably priced. Staff was very friendly, both the British owners and the Thai employees. They even helped us out when we needed a doctor in the middle of the night. Thanks coco garden!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco Garden R, Owner at Coco Garden Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your positice comments. Hope to see you back at Coco Garden soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This my fellow travelers is one of the best spots on the Island its on baan tai beach and only 5 mins from the Centre of Tong Sala the staff are Excellent. the rooms /Bungalows are excellent and Prices to suit All Pockets singles couples or by your lonesome everyone is made Welcome.. the beach bar is hub of the resort where you can find all sorts of drinks Especially the Cocktails Mixed by one of the best barmen i have ever come across he's the life and soul of the bar they Also have a excellent food to suit all tastes Thai and European.
the snacks are out of this world Then we have the owner's Lee and Adrian (adie) these 2 are something else and if you need advise see Lee or Adie will be back again and thats for sure This place is not to be missed .....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco Garden R, Owner at Coco Garden Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Fatha , what can we say, Its truely a pleasure seeing you and the guys year after year.
Thanks for your kind words, Everyone at Coco sends warm reagrds. See you same time next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were planning to stay here for 2 days, but stopped for 2 weeks. The atmosphere is relaxing. Friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurant. Best tomato and onion omlette ever!))

We lived in Seaview bungalow. It's simple and cozy. Also we lived in a/c bungalow. Was nice. Hammock is my best friend.

The location is perfect. If you rent a bike, and you definitely should rent a bike, night market is very close. The beach is quite. Sometimes it's possible to swim.

Anyway, atmosphere is perfect and especially if you live in Seaview bungalow!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco Garden R, Owner at Coco Garden Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for your very positive review. Its great to you extended you stay for so long. Hopefully you will visit us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed three nights over the Full Moon Party. Very chilled environment, great food and loads of banter.

Staff are very frank about security over the full moon party, though very helpful in ensuring possessions are safe.

Lek the batman needs a special mention, as he was super entertaining and offered his services in true Thai style. Andrew was also helpful with ongoing travel arrangements.

The only downside was that the wifi was not very dependable. Particularly during the day.

This place is line a tropical haven, ample space to lounge in the sun or shade!

Highly recommended

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco Garden R, Owner at Coco Garden Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay
We do appreciate the recommendation to fellow reviewers
We have takend measures to resolve the wi-fi issue
Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here during the busy month of January so the prices are usually high because of the full moon party...
For 550 baht a night this place was fab, the beach hut we stayed in was basic with a fan but it was clean and that's all that mattered to us! The room didn't get cleaned whilst we were there for our 3 nights however I believe you can ask for anything such as clean towels etc, we also don't care if our room gets cleaned so it wasn't a problem for us. The location is on the beach so it's beautiful if you like the laid back vibe of hanging on the beach and watching the sun go down whilst listening to some chilled music (I was in heaven) the only downside was that it meant we would end up not moving all day and became quite lazy haha!
The food was the best we had whilst in Koh phangan and one of the best during our travels, reasonably priced too. The service and staff was great too, very helpful with all our many questions. The one thing I could say was a negative was the wifi used to switch off sometimes but again that's not even a negative!
Overall would def recommend staying here, and would love to revisit!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco Garden R, Owner at Coco Garden Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thanks for staying with us Sarah
Very happy that you found our prices reasonable & I will pass on your comments about our staffs good service.
Thats correct the housekeeping is on a request basis
There where some issues with the wi-fi but we have taken steps to resolve that
We hope to see you again one day at Coco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Garden Resort

Address: 100/7 Moo 1, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coco Garden Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Coco Garden you will find... a lush garden of shady coconut trees, the warm & welcoming Coco staff, your charming bungalow with hammock & sea view, great value tasty food, good music & ice cold drinks at our Beach Bar, free WiFi, help with onward travel, many happy faces, beach volleyball, a chill-out deck with cushions & low tables on Ban Tai beach, right beside Thong Sala and only 20 min. from Full Moon Party! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coco Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Garden Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.