We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, laid back atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cookies's Salad Resort

Save Saved
You added Cookies's Salad Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cookies's Salad Resort
61/8 Moo 8, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Manipal, Karnataka, India
1 review
“Amazing view, laid back atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

It's a nice property on the hillside by the salad beach. Nice staff, clean rooms, reasonably priced and nothing to complain about. Some sea view rooms offer a really nice view of the entire beach below. However accessing the beach from these rooms requires a little bit of effort.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms higher up have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    71
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
34
131
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice quite part of the island. really nice view, great beach and swimming.
All in all really well worth it all. Food a little disappointing as not authentic thai and they use lots of MSG.
They have pick up from the peir.

Room Tip: more expensive the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Cookies resort is built at one end of Salad Beach with bungalows that cascade down the very steep hillside down to the beach. My husband and I stayed here for a fortnight, probably too long, but we needed some serious downtime and thought that being on the beach was just what the doctor ordered. We arrived exhausted from our train journey from Bangkok and very early ferry ride to a lovely location. We had emailed the hotel prior to arriving and were promptly picked up, put into the back of an open van and whizzed off to the hotel! Such fun!

As we were staying a while the lady at reception (sorry forgot her name as its been nearly two months since I've been back), upgraded us to a bungalow on the beach. Originally we were meant to be staying in the hillside but I guess she must have felt sorry for us climbing the hill several times a day. I kid you not, the gradient of this hillside is steep!

Our room was fabulous, spacious with a perfect view of the beach and it had a staircase down to the sand. It was next to the pool and a massage area. The bed was huge and though a bit hard (normal for Asia), it had lots of pillows and cushions to chill out on. There was aircon, a spacious bathroom with a great shower that had hot water 70% of the time. There was a kettle with tea and coffee, a hairdryer and an area to put your clothes. We spent an idyllic two weeks there. We spent our time lazing on the beach, hired a scooter from the hotel and explored the island (fitting in a full moon party) and generally just soaked up what Koh Pha Nang had to offer. The food at the restaurant was great and the staff approachable and friendly. The only downside was that if the hotel was very busy then they would put on a buffet which could get boring to the point of not wanting to eat it! Anyway the rest was perfect! What more could you ask for when we only paid about £20 a night! Well now the down side, BED BUGS! It all started at the end of the first week, a couple of bites at night and I thought, yikes I've been bitten by mosquitoes. Another few days went by and now we are in the second week of the trip. More bites! Really itchy! Then I checked the bed but couldn't really find anything, maybe one bug or something, but thought, well we are on the beach after all, how can I expect not to find anything. We had experienced the lizards on the wall, coackroach which came in through the crack in the floor, and a BIG spider that had decided to stay awhile. All quite harmless. Cut a long story short, do not put your clothes on the open wooden wardrobe. There were tiny bugs crawling all over and had got into my clothes, and everywhere else. By the time I got home to the UK I was on my second dose of antibiotics with a multitude of antihistamines and creams. Its been two months and I'm only now getting over this. Yes, I had tropical/jungle strength sprays but this was just too much. I would have given Cookies Resort 4/5 but had to down grade. Unless they do something about the bugs which they can, I'm afraid it will have to stay in the average category. Shame, its a beautiful place in an ideal location that you can lose yourself in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

best place we stayed in thailand!
amazing staff, great food!
perfect view from our room too as the hotels in a great place in the hills on the ocean.
looked after us and sorted us travel around the island.
thank you cookies!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderfully run family guest house. The assorted buffet breakfasts and friendly, helpful staff were great. We especially loved the pool for the kids as well as happy hour for the parents! Wish we were back there now.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallins, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We initially booked for 4 nights and ended up staying 12!
Very friendly staff and super well organised.
We stayed in one of the rooms. Nice, clean and big ensuite room with air condition, with a hammock outside the door (shower only). Any of the rooms/bungalows provide fantastic views over the beach, which of course comes at the cost of having to climb up steep paths and stairs ;) Your room isn't cleaned every day, unless you'd like it to be. For that you just leave your key at the reception in a little basket "for cleaning". I thought this is a nice environmental friendly arrangement. Whenever you have your room cleaned you get two small bottles of complimentary drinking water. Mosquito nets over beds are provided.

Towels are provided at reception for you to use at the beach or pool side.
The food at Cookies restaurant is lovely. Not well advertised but they have a happy hour from 17:00-19:00, all cocktails 100THB and they are really good! We tried a few along the beach and had to admit they can't be beaten! Our room came with breakfast included and we could choose from a breakfast menu, one dish per person. Nice variety, from English to Continental and Asian, there is something for everyones breakfast taste.

Washing service is provided at extra costs. They rent out canoes, snorkel equipment and scooters. The scooters weren't in the best condition I have to say and I would recommend renting them down the beach at a different place. Make sure your breaks work well as roads on Koh Phangan can be very steep or not even paved (we are both bikers).

Over all they made our stay very easy and comfortable. Customers were very mixed, from couples to low cost backpackers to families with kids, this place suits everyone.

The beach is very shallow and we heard that at other times of the year it is better for bathing. When we were there it looked like the see was missing a few liters of water and at low tide (most of the daytime hours) the shallow water heated up so much it felt more like a bath than in any way refreshing and the waters of southern end of the bay got very muddy and cloudy.

2-3 Thai massage places along the beach to make up for it!

A pick up from the pier in Thong Sala can be arranged at an extra cost of 150tHB per person if you contact them in advance (we booked through agoda.com). If you book with Cookies directly they might offer the pick up for free.

One downside was the Wifi connection: Very slow and unreliable in restaurant and not available in most of the rooms or beside the pool. Most restaurants along the beach offer free Wifi, you may want to try those.

We would stay there again!

Room Tip: If you want it quieter, try to avoid staying in one of the bungalows beside the pool. Kids start spl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

* We did not stay at the bungalows, so this is a review of the restaurant (& pool) only.

Cookies Restaurant, high among the rocks in Haad Salad on Ko Pha Ngan, is connected to a group of bungalows of the same name. We went there for two reasons: it was mentioned in Lonely Planet's Thailand's Islands and Beaches as among the best restaurants on Ko Pha Ngan (the only one of them in Haad Salad), and because the lady who runs it said we could use their pool if we bought a meal there. It was a great choice for us on both accounts, and we visited nearly every day of our 5 days at Haad Salad.

The food and drinks are of a comparable price to elsewhere in the area, and very tasty. We especially enjoyed the curries - the massaman was a standout for us. Cookies also makes lovely shakes and smoothies, including decadent-sounding Chocolate-Oreo, or Chocolate -Peanut Butter. My favourite was the creamy coconut lassi.

Staff were always friendly, and the bay view from above was lovely, with cooling breezes from time to time. Well worth a visit, and bring your bathers!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cookies's Salad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cookies's Salad Resort

Also Known As:
Cookies`s Salad Hotel Koh Phangan
Cookies`s Salad Hotel
Cookiess Salad Hotel
Address: 61/8 Moo 8, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cookies's Salad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cookies's Salad Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.