We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cookies's Salad Resort

Save Saved
You added Cookies's Salad Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 1 more site!
Cookies's Salad Resort
61/8 Moo 8, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We rocked up without booking and was given the choice of a number of bungalows, of which we chose one directly on the beach. Really nice room, good size with big windows which let in lots of natural light. The bathroom was fully enclosed (did not stop the odd lizard sneaking in ! he he )with a hot powerful shower. The beach directly in front of the property is not the best, however a short stroll further along and you are able to enjoy the water. No waves, but good for lazing about and snorkeling. The pool at the property overlooks the beach, is clean and nice to cool down in. Breakfast was good, especially liked the fresh fruit every morning. The setting of the restaurant area is so cool and laid back (no doubt that you are on an island) with amazing views over the water. Also the only place with Wifi so a good way to meet people as they tend to hang out in the comfy seats/on the mats. Staff was friendly and helpful throughout our 4 night stay. We only had dinner there once and I was not that impressed. However, it seemed busy every night so can't be too bad. We tried different places along the beach. If I can make a suggestion it would be for them to finish the landscaping especially round the newer bungalows along the beach and also to invest in a few more lights as walking after dark can be a bit tricky. Overall we enjoyed our stay and loved our room (21).

Room Tip: The property is located on a rather step hill, so if you don't fancy the hike a few times everyd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    71
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
34
132
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I forgot to write about this place and it deserves a good mention. We stayed here for 10 days in Jan 2013 and only intended a few days stay. We had a fab room overlooking the bay at the top of the hill. Some people complained about the steep walk up but for us a 63yr old and a 46 yr old it was not a problem especially worth it for the sea breeze and spectacular view.
The room was huge, clean and comfortable. The air con worked very well. The breakfast was very good, fresh fruit, omlettes, bacon, toast, jams and tea every day. We were there early every day and spent a few hours enjoying the wifi and top ups! Good coffee can be hard to find in Thailand and they make a good effort here! The restaurant food we found a bit bland, but there are some very good nearby places to eat. There are a lot of familys with kids here in peak season, we were lucky most had left! The pool was also lovely, clean and quiet when child free! The beach was also good, white sand clear water and good shade from big trees nearby. (Best time Nov to March high tides!)
It's a quiet part of the island and most places close up around midnight. You won't find loud music etc here which means an early start to your day. The staff were fantastic, friendly and welcoming. Tip ..go on the snorkling trip even if you don't snorkel, you'll get to see all the great beaches in the whole area and swim in beautiful clear water!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hotel at the top. Get the end corner room if possible...& snorkel the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Even though the place looks beautiful and the restaurant has a great feel to it, I still feel like there were a few flaws that made our stay here only 'allright'.
We wanted to be picked up from the pier, their website says it's a free pick up, but after calling them they explained that is only for guests who booked through their own website...There is nothing about that on the website...but we had to pay.
The breakfast is minimal and if you show up at 10 am (breakfast ends at 10.30) most of the food was finished and nothing new was made for us.
The prices for all the services and the food are higher than at other resort on the beach The food in the restaurant is 'alright'.
The entry door to our room had holes in it, so switching on the light after dark is not an option.
At 7.30 in the morning the swipe the street for 45 minutes so you won't have to set an alarm...
The staff is very friendly!! Not a bad word about them!
Next time we would stay at Salad Hut. We had lunch there a couple of times, which was great and they have the best fruitshakes!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went for two nights and we finally stayed 7. Its a nice resort in great beach in the north west part of the island. Far from the full moon party area but as the island is not big, just easy to remt a scooter and explore the island. Rooms are simple but nice, with great views and nice terraces. They have a reataurant with nice views also, with a pool and a nice chill-out ambient. The staff is super friendly.
The only "but" are the rental scooters, they were in a poor condition, nevertheless there are some other places to rent them close by.
Overall, totally recomended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friend choose this place by name and location. It also has gotten many wonderful reviews. It is set on the edge of a small cove that is ringed by small resorts and restaurants. We checked out a bunch of them, but this place is truly the best. The food was amazing, the staff friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and large. It had a nice pool and neat little places to hang out. There Re kayaks available to rent , which make snorkeling better. We found you had to paddle ( or swim) out to get o decent snorkeling. Once we were out there there was a large variety of fish. It did seem to me that there were lots of couples with young children staying here. It doesn't bother me but it does to some people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked a hotel hill sea view room as it was on offer via agoda. After 6 weeks traveling around Thailand web wanted a bit of luxury and to return to our favorite beach.

Located at the end of the beach it has a small swimming pool, on site massages and a great restaurant.

Room tastefully appointed with a seaside theme. Quite a hard bed. Good air con. Good hammock looking out over the beautiful bay and a small table and chairs on your terrace.

Restaurant really nice food and drink mix of thai and western dishes and a great selection of fresh juices and smoothies reasonably priced.
Breakfast is self serve buffet, fruit, pancakes, eggs etc sets you up for the day.

Most evenings we ate here then went to chill on our terrace.


Pool can get crowded but you are right on the beach.

Free beach and bath towels

Safety deposit boxes 100b deposit so you can lock all your precious things away and head to the beach.

Super staff very friendly and helpful.

Points that need improving:
Wifi only in public areas which is a bit of an inconvenience (all other hotels in haad salad have room access) but you will find yourself hanging out in the public areas anyway because of the great views.

You may encounter bugs - rooms back into the jungle so creatures can get into the room. We had huge cockroach two days running in the bathroom. This could be easily rectified with some netting fixed over any holes in bathroom.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view it will make your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

decorated. It had amazing views to the wonderful Salad Beach!!!

The restaurant is very good and the prices are very fair but there are also many options for dinning nearby. The breakfast is nice especially if you like eggs.

The staff is really an asset! Very helpful and smiling. Both front desk staff and waiters were very friendly and efficient. They solve a problem with the warm water in a few minutes.

The hotel is not suitable for people with difficulties to move. There are many steep steps to reach the restaurant from the beach and there are a few rooms on the top that need an effort to be reached :-)

We really recommend Cookies Salaad and we hope we be back soon!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cookies's Salad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cookies's Salad Resort

Also Known As:
Cookies`s Salad Hotel Koh Phangan
Cookies`s Salad Hotel
Cookiess Salad Hotel
Address: 61/8 Moo 8, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cookies's Salad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cookies's Salad Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.