We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and friendly naturelovers paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Libong Nature Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Libong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Libong Nature Beach Resort
Save
You added Libong Nature Beach Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chao Mai Marine Park | Libong Island, Ko Libong 92110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ko Libong
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Quiet and friendly naturelovers paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed in one house with our son of 5. Everybody loved him, he was playing with the new born kittens and could roam freely in the yard and on beach. Food was well prepared, very tasty and good portions. (and a bit expensive, as it has to come from the mainland)
It was nice to walk to the village and meet the local people. Also the stories of the professor were great, he could tell a lot of interesting things that made us understand thai life better.
Unfortunately I did not see any dugong on my trip, but nevertheless our visit was great.

It feels good to be among people who care about nature, on such a beautiful place in the world!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
queenstown
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This is not a five star resort...but has 5 star quality. The help and friendlyness of the staff was great and the island is a beautiful place to explore by hireing a kayak or going on a boat trip. It is how all hotels/resorts should be run, with all the proceeds going to local culture and marine conservation. Ifyou are a spoilt brat of a traveller who demands what the want when they want it and moans if their air con is a little to noisy,then go elsewhere...please. BUT if you want to see some of the real Sea Gypsy culture a fantastic and unspoilt part of Thailand and hang out with respectful and responsible travellers then go here, you will meet some great people, see some amazing things eat some of the freshest most tasty seafood and do so while contributing to keeping the place beautiful for at least another day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Two priorities for us - a relaxing time, and supporting a local eco-friendly project. Not sure how eco-friendly this resort really is - lots of claims in English, but not too much evidence (and no-one who understood our queries). We are always willing to pay a bit extra for the best eco-option, and thought the food was excellent and worth what we paid. If the trips are indeed as per the manager's comment below, then again, worth paying a premium. We never found out - we were so unhappy by the end of the first night that we checked out and went next door. At least our advance payment supported the resort, even if we couldn't.
Why so unhappy? No sleep. There was no mosqito net over the bed, and the poorly maintained ceiling allowed access to insects in spite of mesh over windows. Anticipating trouble I had copied the Thai for 'mosquito coil' from the guidebook, and the staff helpfully fetched a box from the village (on a moped - "we don't hire mopeds as bicycles are greener" says the literature). In spite of this we got bitten, and a whole night of fumes next to me did not feel very healthy. The room was hot (we opened all the windows, as recommended) and the power for the fan went off at midnight. The natural matresses are encased in unnatural, hot synthetic covers. I have lived much of my life in equatorial regions, but I could not sleep here. My husband managed it, so this resort may suit some, but he was badly bitten - surely mosquito nets are a basic requirement?
As for the eco thing - there were caged birds. The TV was on all the time. Is concrete really the best option for building in this setting? I would have liked to discuss things, but my Thai was woefully inadequate. The staff that we met were pleasant enough, but we felt as if we were a bit of an interruption (we were the only guests). So we went to the Libong Beach Resort nearby, and had a lovely, mosquito-free time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatureResorts, Owner at Libong Nature Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
* As of January 2010 Libong Nature Beach Resort has been fully renovated/refurbished with new management systems.

Current Eco-friendly Health Promoting facilities include:

1. Sun-lit Bathroom (natural sanitization)

2. Fresh Mountain Water (supply by gravity)

3. Front & Back Doors Mosquito Screen (For good ventilation without the mossies)

4. Hand pounded Coconut Husk Mattresses (For Sound Natural Sleep. Light, washable, easy to sun)

5. Natural Clay Floor Tiling (Germ-free living area)

6. Above-bed Mosquito Netting (For extra peace of mind)

7. Large Portable Standing Fan (For Breezy Comfort)

8. Front & Back Veranda (For Separate reading & viewing preference)

9. Power-saving Lights to reduce power consumption inside and everywhere around the resort

10. Reflexology Patch at Entrance to each bungalow (for foot massage to make occupant feel more relaxed).

11. The resort has a small library (mostly in English) for Guests use (FOC) and also satellite internet facility (for our in-house Guests only) on a small charge.

12. Pyramid structures x 3 at seafront (measurement exact replica of the famous Giza Pyramid in Egypt) – for experiencing Cosmic power by meditating inside it.

13. Fossilized Coral rocks at seafront in the sea (be fascinated by the millions of sea creatures living in the holes of these “rocks”).

14. Wild Oyster colonies at the left side of the Resort a hundred yards away. Our staff can demonstrate harvesting some wild oysters for dinner!!

15. The National Park Forest just behind the Resort. An exhilarating day going up and through the thick mass of old trees. Wildlife, especially wild boars, abound. At the ridge top, you can see the sea on both sides of the island. There’s an ancient Sea Gypsy Sacred Cave inside the forest. You may be lucky to find it.

16. A nostalgic local village exists just outside the Resort. This place is simply an Anthropologist’s paradise.

17. Every Baht you spend with us is used directly for Nature Conservation activities and training of locals. You can ask our Resident Manager how we do it.

18. This Resort is world-famous for our home-grown Dugong/ Bird Watch Expedition. We have been host to the Thai-Swedish Sustainable Tourism Project, BBC & Fox TV Documentary Filming, many local and foreign researchers and writers.

19. Glorious sunset at our beachfront. Some guests claimed they even saw the unique “Green Flash” at the moment when the setting sun touches the horizon on a clear evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Libong hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

Stayed at Ko libong, primarily to see Dugong. Were very concerned about some of the previous reviews, which were written after we had booked into this resort and onto one of the quite pricy (for Thailand) dugong trips.

In all fairness, the dugong trip was very good, the boatman took us to an area where we did see the dugong, if not brilliantly (it would be very difficult I think to get a good view). On the same trip we got to canoe near bird island - which had a stunning array of birds including lots of mongolian plover and the incredibly rare Nordmaans Greenshank, to see green turtle, and humpback dolphin. In all encounters with the wildlife the boatman was very good, not approaching too directly or too close, which might be disappointing to those who don't care about disturbing the wildlife, but is reasurring to those who do (like us).

The english speaking resort manager was very friendly and very helpful, the rest of the staff may not have been fluent english speakers, but they were all friendly and helpful,

Food was simple but very good.

The cabins were quite basic, and insect ingress was an occasional problem! Don't bother with the aircon.. couldn't get this to work as it was a portable unit and there wasn't a dedicated vent for it.

Electricity goes off at midnight, which is supposedly for environmentally friendly reasons - but could make for an uncomfortably hot night for lilly skinned farang!

Mountain bikes were good quality and fun to get around - though you might need to walk the initial bit as its quite steep near the resort.

All in all, a bit pricey, some of the environmental credentials seem a little suspect (for instance building long term bungalows?) but the staff are friendly and you are definately far from the madding crowds here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

I stayed at the Libong Nature Beach Resort for six nights in early January. I loved my bungalow with a view of the ocean and surrounded by beautiful tropical plants. The staff were warm and friendly, always providing service with a smile. Kahlil, the resident manager and son of the owners, spoke fluent English, was very friendly and helpful and knows a lot about the area and movies (they have an amazing collection of movies to rent free of charge!). We spent our days relaxing in the hammocks, snorkeling, riding bikes through the island, shell combing on the beach, staying connected with friends at home through their excellent internet service and island hopping.
While we were there we even had a Thai-English language lesson with a few of the women that worked there! They were very receptive to learning English and patient with our interest in learning a little Thai!
Their food was all locally grown and organic and they served us fresh, homemade aloe-pineapple jam every morning. By the end of our stay we were feeling that the menu was a bit limited, so Kahlil personally made us something different with his own blend of spices.
I will always hold a place in my heart for the Libong Nature Resort and the warm, friendly people who worked there.

  • Liked — Beautful setting; warm, friendly staff; quiet and relaxing
  • Disliked — Somewhat limited menu for a stay of more then a couple days; a little bit expensive by Thai standards
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltaire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We had a very poor experience with Ko Libong Nature Reserve Resort.

We recommend you opt for the well run and even better priced Ko Libong Beach or La Dugong Resorts. Much higher standards, more reasonable prices and most importantly, honest, ethical management.

Problems included:

• Construction / earth moving equipment adjacent to the site
• Dishonest management
• Extortionate over pricing
• Small arms fire (I kid you not!)
• Poor cleanliness
• Poorly maintained facilities
• No English spoken on site

We were initially told there was a Christmas special offer on the huts at 600 / 800 / 1000 baht. We heard these were their standard prices. When we arrived at Hat Yao we were told the huts would be 1000 but after some discussion (and a phone call) we were told we could have the mid range price. Once we booked (and paid) we were told that it would cost a further 1200 baht to take a longtail to the island. We told the receptionist, who spoke excellent English that we were looking forward to some peace and quite after Bangkok.

We opted to talk the ferry across to the island (200 baht) but as my partners was uneasy about taking a motorcycle taxi on island we paid the 1200 baht for the long tail.

To our (intense) disappointment, there was heaving earth moving equipment operating right next to the resort – the whole bay boomed to the sound of a large bulldozer and two tip trucks – all within about 20m of our hut! We tried to speak the staff who spoke not English at all. Their were signs up to say if you have any problems ask to speak to Mr Lawrence (one of the so called professors who set the place up) who speaks excellent English. When I asked to speak to him, I just got blank stares. In the end we called to the receptionist / manager at Hat Yao at managed, after some discussion to be moved to a hut further back. We requested some compensation saying we clearly stated that we wanted peace and quiet – to this we were told the work had only stared today (half the hillside had been excavated – at least 2 weeks work!) and she would contact the owner. We moved our stuff and resigned ourselves to putting up with the noise. The concrete block hut was adequate if not a little shabby lacking any charm.

After unpacking we took a stroll on the beach which is just gorgeous – beautiful little emerald bay fringed by jungle. Whist sitting on the beach under a shady tree we were started by the sound of a small bore rifle with the bullets ricocheting into the air above us! Someone was shooting at the wildlife….a nature resort? Fearing for our safety (the bullets were whizzing up into the air above us. We hurriedly moved down onto the beach.

In the evening we ate at the main reception area – a someone what run down open veranda style restaurant café space. All dinner options were 220 baht (not cheap option) with rice bumping the meal up to 250 baht. Drinks were also very expensive by Thai standards. The food was ok but not great – very basic. Water (small bottles) was 50 Baht – on the mainland 1 litre bottles were 12 baht). Loos for the area looked like they hadn’t been cleaned in months – leaves, dirt, insects etc. Trips to see the Dugong were 1500 baht and mask and snorkel hire was 200 baht – again very expensive by Thai standards.

There is lots of material around – signs / leaflets etc saying how Ko Libong Nature Resort is a eco resort and that it is a non profit organisation set up to help local sea gypsies. However, we didn’t see any evidence of this work and got the impression it was a front for a pretty shabby operation.

The following day we walked around the coast to the other two resorts. What a contrast. Beautiful little rattan / wooden stilt beach huts, cheap superb food, large water bottles at 20 baht, reasonably priced trips and tours. Friendly and profession management.

Needless to say we moved to the Beach Resort after spending our two nights at the Nature Resort. We saw Dugong (400 baht trip refunded in part (100 baht) due to a windy day!), hired a moped for (300 baht) for the day. Ate well and just relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble for the management and staff. Sea front huts look over a little strip of tropical gardens with mature trees and palms out to the sea. We slept with the front ranch sliders open – could hear the lapping ocean on one side and frogs and crickets on the other. Just wonderful.

Ko Libong is a wonderful, undeveloped paradise but we recommend you avoid the Ko Libong Nature Resort and book with the Ko Libong Beach Resort or adjacent Le Dugong Beach Res

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — construction site next door, small arms fire, dishonest management, high prices
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibongNatureResort, Resident Manager at Libong Nature Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2009
In response to this review, it was unfortunate that I was not present at that
time, otherwise I could explain the situation.

Firstly, the earth moving equipment does not belong to the resort nor do we
own the land that is being bulldozed. We were also unaware at that time that
there was going to be any work done otherwise we would have warned you in advance.

Secondly, we have tried to accommodate you as much as we could but to no avail.

Thirdly, a glass bottle of water at our resort costs 20 baht and not 50 baht as
you have mentioned, and just to let you know that these are refillabe glass bottles
which are very eco-friendly, as they are sent back to the mainland.

As for the cost of the boat, our resort and boats have insurance and taxes included
and we always make sure the longtail boats have lifesavers and we rent them out
to the guests as a source of income for the resort.

Also, the noise of the firearms could have been firecrackers are something else,
as I was not there I could not be certain, but you can have my guarantee that we
were not invovled in it.

Our food prices are quite reasonable as we only buy organic vegetables, seafood
from the locals, unlike others who purchase from tesco or makro.

Our tours include insurance and special equipments for spotting the dugongs such
as sea kayaks, binoculars etc. Our prices are not uncommon and if there is a larger
group, there are more discounts.

As earlier, I was not around to explain the situation to you therefore you must have
been very frustrated.

I am sorry that your stay has not been a rewarding experience.

Sincerely,

The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

We made the trip from Railay specifically to stay in a well-managed eco friendly resort that encouraged the respect of nature and responsible tourism. When we arrived we were told that the resort was "closed" but we could stay anyway. The transport the manager arranged was very expensive - we paid for a charter boat then taxi that he took the opportunity of loading up with supplies etc. - bit cheeky. the place was ok looking in a nice situation but it soon became clear that it wasnt the eco paradise it was sold as. "dugong? havent seen one for years.." wild animals? "well i try to stop the staff from killing and cooking the iguanas when i can.." the beach was covered in glass - oh that? it gets washed in with the tide. clear it up? nah, the tide will probably take it away again..

the manager recommended we rent his kayak and go to the next beach " you wont believe it - you will think you have died and gone to heaven it is like a natural wonderland" well we survived the strong currents only to be dumped upside down on the beach that was literally covered in rubbish. which was pretty clever because within an hour there was no beach left, just the sheer cliff faces and a rubbish filled gulley to hide out in until it was safe to kayak back.

it wasnt all bad though, the food was very tasty (if rather expensive) and it was very peaceful.

We were left thoroughly dismayed at the thought that if this was the pinnacle of eco-tourism in thailand, we all have some serious problems..

sorry for the rant but it was inexcusable and very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatureResorts, Owner at Libong Nature Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Our resort runs an internship/volunteer program for students from all over the world under our local community project to promote international goodwill and learning/ exchange of best practices in the tourism industry. Every now and then, we do get a cheeky volunteer assistant manager who does not follow the rules and doesn't think twice about the reply he/she gives to our guests. We apologize for this incident but would like to highlight to readers that this should not be held to be representative of the overall management of the resort and its activities. As the resort also doubles as a training center for young students (both Thai and foreign) all guests are asked to come open minded and be ready to reach out and teach our interns as they are merely students in practical training. Perhaps it was unfortunate that their supervisor was not there since it was low season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Libong Nature Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libong Nature Beach Resort

Address: Chao Mai Marine Park | Libong Island, Ko Libong 92110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Libong
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ko Libong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Libong Nature Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded part of Libong Island, away from everyone and everything else. The ideal place to enjoy nature at its best! Also home to the endangered dugongs (SeaCows) and haven to various migratory birds! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Libong Nature Beach Hotel Ko Libong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Libong Nature Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.