We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean View Resort to your Saves list
Ocean View Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   193 Moo3, Saladan | Klong Dao Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 83 Hotels in Ko Lanta
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very nice for what it is. Rooms are clean, maids and staff are helpful and it is close to the main port and beach.

Only disappointment was the breakfast which we only had once and never again, very poor.

Would definitely come back again if on the same budget.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
12
28
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

was disappointed with this hotel, we had a garden villa but it faced the reception building ( v2 ) the room itself was big, no hairdryer provided and no tea making facilities, the bathroom was basic, no shower curtain and shower fitting would.nt stay in fitting properly so water went everywhere but not in the bath that you stood in.on the plus side you had clean bed linen every day although some we had had patches on them and clean towels also ( only one each. no hand towels ) rooms were cleaned with sliding doors left open also the back doors so when you came back from the beach you were plagued by mosquito,s.the mirror in our room was never cleaned in the whole week that we stayed there. it was full of squashed mossies left by previous guests. you get towels for the beach when you go to reception in the morning to get your breakfast voucher, the restaurant where you have breakfast and bar on the beach is not owned by the hotel. you get four different options but somedays they run out of things, not good especially as it is owned by an English chap who should know better.young lads does there best to serve you but a little bit slow.only deckchairs on beach and no umberellas anywhere. only a few trees for shade,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed in the ocean view bungalow. Hopefully they didn't have rooms for the next nights so after two nights we changed place.
My first impression was like this place is not worth that money. No beach towel and electric kettle, air condition is old but working. The walls are thick but bungalow is separated into two independent rooms, so u can hear everything through doors which is between them. We were lucky that in front of our bungalow was pool, the other houses have tree view, but hardly no ocean in front of the windows. Only two big bungalows has the ocean view. Pool is small but not so crowded. Free sun beds on the beach.
But the beach is stunning! Amazing views and turquoise water, a lot of dead coral reefs on the beach which can be annoying for some people but is great to snorkel. It's perfect to rent a kayak and snorkel on the headland nearby. People here are nicer and happier than on Phuket, you should check why ;)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had booked from home and payed some of the amount already. However, they did not expect us at all, but luckily we had the reservation confirmation on our phone. The lady at the reception was extremely rude and shouted/spoke very loudly - guess she was stressed. They went on checking there banking accounts to see if our payment had gone through, while we were waiting with our 6 months old child.
We eventually got our bungalow, which are a bit under average, though clean and ok.
During our stay, I must say, that the attitude of the staff changed a lot to the better and was very friendly. There are a lot of good restaurants around the resort and the beach is wonderful with a beautiful sunset view. Ok value for money and if you stay for a longer period discount is possible.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a beach fron bungalow last week for 7 nights.They didnt seem to know we were coming as there was no one at the ferry terminal and by the look of confusion when we arrived.We did however end up in the roon we had booked.The rooms are basic and you dont get any hand towels but the bed was huge, the breakfast was adequate and the location was great but no sun beds for the beach, deck chairs only.There are plenty of resaurants nearby but I dont understand the love in for the koala bar.The best resaurant by far is thr Phet restaurant which you find by walking down the beach and over the little river that goes to the sea.We ate here several times and the food was better than any other around including the Rann restaurant.
Overall the hotel is basic and as long as you go with that in mind you will enjoy your stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Ocean is located on a great beach. Koala restaurant is good. Renting and discovering the island is great. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms in main buildong are motely the cottages are beyter. Very small pool.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Be careful when booking; choose a bungalow and NOT a room! From the balcony we had a view of a wall, and there was only one tl-light in the room. Besides that, the room wasn't very clean; the dustbin wasn't emptied, and the toilet had brown streaks on it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Resort

Address: 193 Moo3, Saladan | Klong Dao Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Ocean View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.