We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first choice on Lanta - simply a paradise home from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanta Castaway Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lanta Castaway Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
299 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 stars 402 Reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“My first choice on Lanta - simply a paradise home from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We came to stay at Castaway having already stayed on Lanta before a couple of years ago. We chose Castaway based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we were delighted. The resort is beautifully kept and extremely well located at the quietest, most picturesque end of Long Beach. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was excellent. Our little bungalow was just gorgeous with the most comfortable bed, super air con and a lovely wee verandah to sit and read on. We really didn't want to leave! The sun loungers on the beach are plentiful and there are some really lovely friendly wee dogs who will sometimes catch a nap in the shade under your sun lounger. The resort also hosts a fantastic dive company called Dive and Relax - do use these guys if you're planning on diving, they are great!! Having stayed here I would come back again and again - don't hesitate!

Room Tip: Don't worry about which room you choose - the only tip I would give would be the Beachcomber Bun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    111
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
220
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

At the very bottom of Long Beach, not much on the beach at this end but some bars and restaurants on the road. We stayed in one of the Garden Bungalows and this was confortable but a bit hot at times. The bar and restaurant staff were really helpful, food is reasonable but I prefer local places so didnt eat there much. I would recommend going to the other end of long beach, bit more to do, just jump in one of the motorbike tuktuk and haggle a bit. The grounds are well looked after and I can recommend lazing on the beach beds watching the sunset with a cocktail.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have just come back from spending 8 nights here, we had a garden bungalow, at first i was worried about no aircon, and the wodden slats, but there was nothing to worry about! Had a fantastic stay, the few rainy days we had, we just hired a moped and explored.

Having a beer or cocktail, watching the sun set was just perfect!

The staff are so helpful and friendly, the room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and beach towels everyday.

The location was great, right on the beach! There was 3 other resorts on that stretch, a 20 ish min walk up the beach or a quick tuttut ride will take you to more bars and night life.. You have to be carful with the tide on walking as the streem spliting the beach up can get quite deep when the tide is in.

The location was just perfect for us, as wel like the nightlife, but not when its totally in your face, it made for a great nights sleep as it was so quiet. The bar on site is open till midnight but it was far from loud

We only ate there 1 night, and typically it was at the end, if we had tried it sooner we would have eaten there more! It was a bit more than some of the places on the main road, but worth it. We ate a lot at Tiger wings, the food there was fab!

There is nothing i could say to fault the place,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

From the moment you check in you feel welcome. We have been working really hard lately and needed to re-charge our batteries and this place is perfect for that! We stayed in the beachfront bungalow, which was spacious and perfectly clean. But the best part was the location - you get the most amazing sunsets, which you can enjoy on the beach - we enjoyed them from the bar(!).

The food Mexican / Thai was well prepared and restaurant / bar prices are reasonable.

We were supposed to stay only a couple of days, but decided to extent our stay for two extra days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

- Very cosy, compact laid back and family atmosphere, far from any noise or partying
- Nice bungalows
- We normally like to go to 5 star hotels, but we didn't mind the hotel not being luxurious. The rooms were very nice and clean
- Loved the restaurant and bar by the beach so much that we spend all our 3 evenings there
- Very nice beach, felt quite private
-Excellent value for money

On the negative side, we felt the service was average. The staff will do what you ask them to do, but they wouldn't go out of their way to help you further. For example, there were a lot of brochures for excursions by the reception, when we asked the receptionist to give us some advice, she just told us to choose the excursion and she would get it booked for us.
Furthermore, we didn't seem to get hot water in the rooms.

Overall, we had a very pleasant experience. We would recommend it and wouldn't mind going there again. We would have hoped to get a slightly warmer service, but that wouldn't deter us from returning

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Lanta Castaway was overall a extremely pleasant experience. It is a well kept 3 star hotel right on the beach. We had the Beach Comber, which is located as close to the beach as almost possible. The room was very nice, very clean. The bathroom was not luxurious in an way, (and the guests are asked to keep the amount of toiletpaper thrown into the toilet to an absolute minimum :), but is also kept clean. The prices are absolutely manageable, and the garden is kept meticulously. There is a well stocked and non- expensive bar, with competent and smiling bartenders. All staff are helpful and the place has ambience. The only minus is the food, which is too oily and sometimes did not seem quite freshly made. Especially the breakfast was less inspiring. No stomach problems at all, though. The sand and the water was perfect, and we enjoyed an amazingThai massage in a half open room right on the beach. All in all a great experience- much better than the pictures even had suggested.

Room Tip: The beach comber is unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Lanta Castaway is a small and extremely well run resort. Myself and 2 friends enjoyed 6 days of comfort and sun with them this December.

We stayed in D4, which is about a 15 second walk from the beach....even the furthest room/bungalow is only a 30 second walk from the beach. The room was immaculate and cleaned daily, with bath towels as well as beach towels for each guest to use. The bathroom was clean and spacious, with good water pressure and heat in the shower. They gave use 2 bottles of complimentary water daily in our room also, as the tap water is not potable (as is the case on the entire island). The beds are basic, but comfortable, with soft fluffy pillows. The TV has a lot of channels, with about 5 or 6 English channels, which we appreciated when the evening rain came. There is also a mini fridge in the room.

The grounds of the resort are stunning! The gardeners and grounds people really take pride in their work, yet there was never any noise from lawn mowers or electric trimmers, I really appreciated this.

The Mad Bull bar and the restaurant have delicious food! And having the option of Tex Mex food, when you've been eating curry and rice day in and day out was such a welcome change! Everything we tried was delicious! The staff at the Mad Bull bar are very helpful and kind, and they can really make a mean tropical drink! They even obliged my request to add some rum to one of their delicious coconut shakes! I highly recommend this :)

One of my friends and I dove with Dive and Relax, the Scuba Diving outfit attached to the resort, and it was a very positive experience. Make sure to book your trips with them ASAP as they fill up fast! The trip was smooth and I was really impressed with the professionalism and personal attention we received.

The beachfront is long and walkable for many kilometers, with plenty of lounge chairs to use on the sand and a few beach beds at the bar that get reserved at the crack of dawn, so if you want a shot at getting one, you'll have to set your alarm pretty early. The sand is a little rough, and the tide goes out in the early afternoon, exposing some large rocks, that are easily avoidable while swimming.

Outside of the resort there are countless restaurants and mini-marts within walking distance. I highly recommend taking a tuk tuk to El Greco restaurant a few kilometers away, great Greek food! (I would not recommend walking there in the dark, there are a few stretches of dark and empty road along the way, and a tuk tuk will only cost you about 50B per person, better safe then sorry).

The scooter rental from the resort is 300B per person per day. My friends took a little tour around the island, and we're glad to see the old town and fishing village.

I would recommend staying the Lanta Castaway if you are looking for a good degree of comfort and have plans to scuba dive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanta Castaway Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Castaway Beach Resort

Address: 299 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Castaway Resort is a boutique beach resort located on the southern end of Long Beach in Koh Lanta, Thailand. We have 19 modern air-con bungalows and 3 small traditional fan bungalows. Our Beachcomber Restaurant features awesome Tex-Mex dishes, as well as, a selection of excellent Thai, Western, and Seafood BBQ. Our Mad Bull Beach Bar offers a terrific atmosphere with awesome views and delicious cocktails. Other services include: beach-side massage, free WiFi, motorbike rentals, and transfer & tour coordination. We also have an onsite dive shop operated by Dive and Relax. We do not have a swimming pool on the property. However, during high season, the beach is excellent for swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Otel so you can book your Lanta Castaway Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Castaway Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanta Castaway Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.