We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were robbed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kaw Kwang Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Kaw Kwang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaw Kwang Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 79 hotels in Ko Lanta
1 review
“We were robbed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here at the start of our trip in Thailand.beach lovely,pool nice but very tired and needs a lot of work as its v run down.
It was low season and it was just me and my boyfriend and another couple staying.woke up to find a man going through my bag in the room.he escaped with my bag with money and passports.absolute nightmare. We went to find security guard who was asleep.somehow he nor the other one who were maybe 10metres from our bungalow didn't hear us screaming.very strange.somehow the robber knew exactly how to break in the window and where everything was in the room......
The owner told us same thing happened in same bungalow a few yrs ago and asked would we stay another night to try catch the robber!
The minimum i expect from a place is to be safe and we just weren't there and we have our suspicions.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    18
    14
    8
See reviews for
25
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was my first trip to koh lanta and we chose this place by chance, they have the friendliest staff, amazing large pool facing the beach, if you r looking for quiet relaxed time its the place for u, although a bit far from the village and u need tuk tuk or bike which is managable.
They have cute bungalows facing the beach and overall it was so great we extended our stay for 5 extra nights, great price.
Just remeber everything around this village is dead from 8 pm ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We found Kaw Kwang by searching for a good deal on agoda.com, and the descriptions sounded good. When we first arrived, I admit there was a moment of disappointment - the beach is nothing like I imagined, the tide reaches all across the sand so it is usually wet, and it is inhabited by thousands of crabs of all sizes that make it seem uninviting to lie down on.

However, after some time, the place grew on us: The area is like a big garden with the huts arranged in two or three rows inside it. Ours was nice enough, and I especially liked that we had a front porch with lots plants and birds around it - we weren't lucky with the weather but this was a nice place to sit, read and look at flora and fauna. The same was true for the beach: Even though the whole bay didn't seem made to hang out on the sand, you could use the sun chairs that were available under the trees on the grass right in front of the beach, and could walk down across the beach when you want to swim.
The pool was nice, the place generally seemed clean, and I enjoyed the location at the end of the bay: This way, you had peace and quiet but could easily stroll along the beach to the restaurants. Even though Kaw Kwang seems older than many of the other places nearby, I thought it had a nicer, more unique atmosphere.

For better food than at the beach and a nice market, you can walk to the city - however, this takes you along a street with little lights, so it's not advisable after dark. It might be better to rent a scooter (tuk-tuks to the resorts generally seemed overpriced and reluctant to bargain with you, maybe because they know there's little alternatives).

Room Tip: We were happy with our hut in the second row - the place is small enough that it doesn't really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by Kaw Kwang Beach Resort. It is probably fair to say that it feels a bit like a large medium-range resort that it past its sell-by date, but at the price we paid, it was a really good deal.

Our room was in the second row from the beach. I was a decent size, and the bathroom was serviceable. The TV set was probably from the year the hotel was built, but who goes to Koh Lanta to watch TV? All the bungalows are located in a well-kept garden with a fair bit of shade and just a moment's walk from the beach.

The staff were all friendly and helpful although a few of them did not seem to speak much English. The restaurant was a bit of a mixed bag, but served some reasonable food if you really don't want to eat out. The usual breakfast was available. The pool was pleasant enough, and had a good view over the beach and the travel office had the usual selection of day trips and connection services, although it always pays to shop around a bit. There were kayaks available to hire.

Kaw kwang is in a slightly unusual location - the walk into Saladan is a pleasant enough trek during the day, with some nice views and shady trees - perhaps not recommended very late at night though. However, there are always motorcycle tuk-tuks available at a reasonable price. The beach directly outside the hotel is okay, but you can stroll round the bay to Klong Dao Beach which is a bit nicer for swimming and has a selection of beach-front restaurants and windsurfing etc.

Having said this, Kaw Kwang beach does have some interesting rocky areas right at the end were you can see some crabs and small fish. A short walk up a path at the far end of the hotel grounds takes you to the neighbouring (and more luxurious/expensive) Crown hotel - and stairs down to a little, secluded sandy beach in a bay that was virtually deserted when we visited it.

So all in all, I felt like I got something that was not quite up to the standards of a medium range resort, but at a price that compares favourably to the some huts-on-the-beach types of places

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This hotel is very nice for the price, just don't expect too much. We stayed here for 2 nights, in the front corner room of the building. This room has an excellent view, but I wouldn't want to stay in any of the other rooms in the building because you wouldn't have any view at all. Everything is just ok... the pool is ok, beach is ok (THOUSANDS of tiny crabs on the beach, it's like a big colony and it's kind of gross to swim in), it's a rockier beach than some of the others on Koh Lanta. The restaurants and staff are also just "ok." We have no real complaints, but just know that this place is perfectly average. They offer massage next to the beach which is very nice, and there are lots of other restaurants that you can walk to down the coast.

The best part of the hotel and trip was renting mopeds from the front desk and exploring the island. Definitely recommend doing this on Koh Lanta.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

thought I had found my dream website...[--].. Found this Kwa kwang through them..couldnt wait to get there.. Well the pictures were for the new lux accommodation and def not for the rooms we had booked. They also made me pay for 2 bungalows even though we only needed 1 due to the fact that im a mum travelling with a 10 and 13year. Bungalows were dirty..had no air con as stated...no wifi as stated. Got bit by a spider and was mozzie infested. Even though I told staff that we had no even been in the other paid for bungalow..they done nothing to compensate. Could only get wifi in restuarant and 3 days into trip started charging for the "free" wifi....Totally ruined trip..Is a 2km plus walk to nearest shop so had us by the ...... Totally ruined Koh Lanta for me and the kids n oh yeh...You have pay a clean up charge per person when getting off ferry....Rip off Island....

Room Tip: Book and look in person...Stay away from Thaibungalows.com may appear cheap and look great....Total...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days at the beginning of March and we loved it. The location is second to none right on the beach at the top of a beautiful bay, quite secluded but not isolated. The beach bars and restaurants are about 25 minutes walk away depending on how fast you walk ! We walked the full length of the beach twice a day and it took us 45 minutes each way...plenty of watering holes on the way though.
We thought that the staff were very friendly ...it's a family run Hotel and they could be seen most nights eating in the dining room. Apart from breakfast we only ate in twice and both times the food was OK...we preferred to get a tuk tuk into Ban Saladan a( 50 baht ) and eat at the waterfront restaurants which were really good and cheap...we particularly like the Star restaurant.
I agree with the reviewer who said that the rooms were a bit tired around the edges but after all it is the oldest hotel on Koh Lanta so I would expect that.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaw Kwang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaw Kwang Beach Resort

Address: 16 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaw Kwang Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Kaw Kwang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaw Kwang Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaw Kwang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.