We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nov 2011 - Depends !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phra Nang Lanta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phra Nang Lanta to your Saves list
Phra Nang Lanta
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   139 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Bay, Ko Lanta 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nov 2011 - Depends !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Price is High - so we expected more, maybe at least commodities and services, no electric adaptors, shavers and toothbrush.
Services - Rex is ignorant, Dan is ok friendly, Saba is helpful, but overall they lack flexibility but very friendly.
Rooms are large - 18 rooms in total I think, each has a theme, lots of mosquitoes, furniture starting to get moldy
Living - 3 bars surrounding the hotel so 3 types of loud music starting at 9pm to midnight
Pool - is small but just 10 steps away from a nice beach
WIFI- Room near lobby is 2 bars of 4, rooms away from Lobby is zero reception. Most guest need to sit around restaurant and swimming pool for a quick internet usuage. No LAN available.
Breakfast - eggs and terrible coffee.
Location - Center of the area I would say, its easy to get to anywhere just walking.

Room Tip: 2 floors. Lower floors had loads of mosquitoes, but they are equip with electrical anti-mosq stuffs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    67
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
32
105
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Amazing - absolutly amaaaaaaazzing and I don't say that lightly. The third place we stayed on Lanta - 2 nights first in Ancient Realm (dirty beach and nothing special at all) then Baan Lanta (just next door to Phra Nang - lovely rooms, nice staff but no sun beds on the beach only by the pool where you can not see the beach, lots of steps up to the rooms, not so special breckfast), then finally Prah nang - where we will stay for as long as we possibly can. Its fab - right on the beach, comfy places to lay back and enjoy the beach, huge rooms with own terrace, great feeling or privacy from our room..... delicious breckfast - far better than anywhere else on the island we have tried. Coffee maker in the room with nice teas and coffee. Nice littel 'village' just a few moments walk away, plenty of places to go and eat all around. Over all 5 stars will be recommending this one!

Room Tip: We have a baby - 9 months we are in Tamarin and for us its perfect as it has a big roo with bed, sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in September and the only down side was the weather, which stopped us going on the boat trips and snorkelling.

The rest was really good- hotel food (with the notable exception of a rather poor breakfast), helpful staffand beautiful location on a fabulous beach.

We got brilliant massages at the spa in Baan Lanta and can really recommend thefood at the Drunken Sailor.

We will be back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Small hotel I guess around 15 rooms on a beautiful bay. Rooms were very clean and tastefully furnished with good range of amenities and gorgeous views over the bay. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. The beach was really nice and sandy and not too crowded. Nearby the hotel are some small shops and a 7/11. Really nice for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

The worst about this review, will be to tell others about how great this hotel is, becase it's really a hidden perl.
The Hotel is placed on the beach where all 15 rooms, is max. 15 meters from the beach. All rooms are different decorated, so you would never get tired to return to this hotel.
All staff is very kind, and was very fast to find a solution on any problems.
We were at the hotel at the end of high season, so the breakfeast buffet was not allwas up. but we just have to order what we want too, a they will get it, so nothing was missing.

Some good things.
- The hotel is a Paradise Hotel, with 15 unique rooms
- Very unique position at the beach
- The prices is allmost as the same, as others on the beach.
- Free loan of motorbike, just fill it up before returning.
- Free loan of kayaking
- Free internet (Not reachable from all rooms)

Something the hotel can do better?
- The beds is new, but pretty hard, and some likes this, but we prefer very soft beds, so it was too hard for our spine.
- In the restaurant did't get what I ordred, and the staff know it before they served me, so a little more information would be great.
- The aircondition was a little hard to control.

And the end, I comment a little on other reviews, complaints about time of service.
Every where in Thailand, things take the time things takes. If you can't accept this, don't go to Thailand on vacation.
So whats the rush, just enjoy the location instead.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with H is next to the live bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We only stayed in 5 star resorts on our trip except for this place, and it was just as good as the others. It is a bit more simple than a 5 star, but its still fab. We stayed in room 7 "Moonbeam" it had a breathtaking view over the beach, with a hammock on the balcony too. It was very spacious as well. The pool is small, but doesn't matter as you are metres from the beach.
Driving south on Ko Lanta and through all the other towns and past resorts, we are so glad we stayed here away from the rat race and backpackers, package resort tourists etc. This beach was pretty empty and secluded, with just two other resorts nearby and a very cute village out the back. We ate in the village for lunch each day (at the cooking school place, I think its called Herb & Spices or something); and we cooked our own lunch there one day - very fun.
For dinner, we ate at Baan Lanta two nights - good seafood BBQ; and also down the other end of the beach at Same Same but Different bar.
At Phra Nang the breakfast buffet is simple, but satisfying - fruit, toast, pasties and eggs. And we enjoyed a couple of drinks during happy hour each day. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed a Thai Massage on the rooftop spa in pouring rain - it was quite beautiful!
One night we did a cooking class at Lanta Thai cooking (yellow brochure); this was amazing and best food we ate in Thailand.
As it rained a lot when we were their the book and DVD library came in handy. We would definitely stay here again!
The music from the bar didn't bother us AT ALL and we had a great sleep each night- we were exhausted from all the relaxing by 10pm each day!

Room Tip: Moonbeam - room7
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This hotel has all the important things for a family with small kids. Very close to the perfect beach with child-friendly descent, ok pool and with great sun beds around, a few good restaurants just around the corner on the beach, a small street behind the hotel with 7/11, atm and small sovenier and beach toys shops. All you need, but still very calm place and great atmosphere with quite few people in total on this beach. Shade available!

On the downside: rooms and facilities are a little worn down not as fresh as one could wish ideally. Cleaning on outside areas like verandas, pool area from leaves etc is so-so but prrhaps difficult since many very nice trees around. Restaurant is ok, but in terms of food , price and servuce well outdone by baan lanta next door. Breakfast here was a pleasant surprise though with lots to choose from.

The staff warned us about the music from the bar next door and gave us a room on the other end. We did not find the music disturbing though and since our small children went early to bed we hung out in the balciny in the evening and quite enjiyed that there was a little music around whuch was not very loud.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phra Nang Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phra Nang Lanta

Address: 139 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Bay, Ko Lanta 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phra Nang Lanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phra Nang Lanta is proud to inform you that we have recently undergone a major upgrade in the product and service quality in efforts to reposition ourselves to be a chic and up-market tropical holiday escape for affluent consumers. The makeover has given our resort a more sophisticated touch, while retaining the charming and relaxed atmosphere of Phra Nang Lanta.The changes include; a landscape makeover by the world's leading tropical garden designer, Dennis Hundschieldt, new exterior lighting, renovation and refurbishment of the restaurant, spa, kitchen, restyling of furnitures, soft furnishing, uniforms, amenities, and the new wine bar on the beach. For the services, we are proud to introduce the new and improved food, drink and spa menu, personal butlers for all guests as well as series of in-house activities for guests such as the cooking class, Thai massage lesson, flower arrangement & fruit carving session, morning Rue Sri Dat ton exercise, weekly beach BBQ, Thai night, welcome party, champagne sunset, squid fishing and detox programs. Enclosed here is the new rates that we would like apply for Phra Nang Lanta. We are sure that the upgraded products and services will meet and exceed the customer satisfaction levels, and the value proposition offered by our resort is an attractive one for our target customers.Phra Nang Lanta is a chic vacation destination nestled on Ba Kan Tieng Beach of Koh Lanta Yai in Krabi province on the Southern coast of Thailand or approximately 800 km from Bangkok. Phra Nang Lanta offers an amazing view of the Andaman sea, combined with a peaceful and romantic atmosphere. With 15 uniquely decorated rooms with large private balconies, it's the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery that Ba Kan Tieng beach has to offer. After the beach, come lay and relax after a hard day in the sun by the swimming pool. With the sea being steps away from your bed there is no better place to enjoy the island experience. Phra Nang Lanta provides you with the ultimate holiday experience. Whatever you may be looking for, whether it be a relaxing weekend at the beach, a romantic honeymoon, a beach bash with friends or a family getaway, we have everything you're looking for, and a whole lot more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Phra Nang Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phra Nang Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Phra Nang Lanta Ko

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phra Nang Lanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.