We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong with this choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Time For Lime Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Time For Lime Bungalows
Save
You added Time For Lime Bungalows to your Saves list
72/2 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fee Welcome Mojito!
Ranked #8 of 75 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
4.5 of 5 stars 94 Reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with this choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Klong Dao beach isn't the prettiest so if you've come from a stunning Thailand beach previously you'll be disappointed. Time for Lime bungalows made up for this by being very comfortable. Rooms are great and very clean. The free breakfasts were a major plus and its very convenient having that choice. A short walk up the beach are many places to choose from for eating out. The Time for Lime restaurant doesn't do suppers but the lunch menu was decent. The owner is responsible for starting the Lanta Animal Welfare organization so there are a few cats and dogs that adopt you during you stay. If you like animals then its great and if not then avoid. The dogs do tend to bark a little at night and could keep you up.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    27
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
48
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

As I walked down the meandering pathway through the lush, pretty gardens past 8 stylish bungalows the ambiance was relaxing and aesthetic. The restaurant was located at the end of the path on the beach. Gentle waves, white sandy beach and impressive sunsets were the backdrop to all my meals.
I helped myself to muesli, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, toast, juice and coffee and lingered over breakfast with a very welcome cool sea breeze on my face.
This was the only accommodation I stayed in at this price that included breakfast; and what a fabulous meal it was! And so trusting to let me help myself.
My bungalow was airy, spacious and comfortable with a choice of fan or a/c. Fresh flowers by the bed were a lovely surprise.
As a vegetarian, eating in Thailand can be challenging and repetitive after 6 weeks; but with such an ameniable and understanding chef, my dietary needs were catered for and the food was some of the best I have tasted in Thailand.
The cats in their 'designer' cat houses were an added bonus to my stay and then I learned that the owner has built and maintains an animal welfare shelter on the island from the proceeds of the business. What an exceptional owner!
With my money going to such a good cause, I am so glad I stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed at Time for Lime for six nights after two weeks travel in Vietnam. The bungalows at Time for Lime are simple but stylish and clean, and have a nice personal design. I especially appreciated the fresh flowers in the room, the hammock on the porch and the well-kept garden surrounding the bungalows. A friendly and helpful staff, enjoyable cooking class and charming bar with cool drinks and music really made the stay! Best of all however, was the tree-top restaurant, literally set in a tree-top overlooking the sea. We had most of our dinners there simply because of the amazing presentation and taste of the food.
The owner has a big heart for animal welfare, and has built a hospital to help sick and mistreated animals on the island. What she does for these animals is really admirable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Booked 3 nights of our Thai holiday at Time for Lime after reading great reviews on tripadvisor. Since we were on a trip with my boyfriend and his family and they are all very in to food and cooking we thought it would be a great place for us.
It turned out to be a dissapointment.
First of all I must say that I really admire June(the owner/manager) for her commitment to abused and homeless animals on the island. And second of all, the staff in general is really nice and do their very best to make your stay pleasant, but suffers due to bad management.
First of all the cleaning is bad(they don't really clean the bungalows, only move things around and fold your clothes). The bungalows are ok, but a bit simple(especially the toilets). It is really noisy both at night and in the morning. The base from the clubs around make the walls shake at night. A crazy rooster is at it from early evening to early morning. And the fishermen wakes you up driving down the road behind the back wall every morning at dawn.

The cooking class was ok, but June managed to make it rather unpleasant with half-racist comments and jokes about thai people and muslims. She also managed to claim that thai's didn't know thai cooking and that she was the only one that had figured out how to do thai cooking "for real". Ironic egnough i got food poisoning the after eating in the resturant and spent the night and morning in the toilet(that didn't flush).
She is really quite a strange and unpleasent woman, why she bothers to run a resort with her clear dislike of people beats me. She should stick to the dogs, they seem to like her..

PS
The Time For Lime Mohito is amazing!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

we has a really nice stay at time for lime during our holiday in thailand, retrospectively we wished we had gone there last so we could have stayed longer! lanta is a very relaxed island, with great food and huge stretches of quiet beach. the bungalows at lime are great, really clean and cute, with nice verandas and a hammock out front. having the animals around is a joy, so expect to end up cuddling a few cats and dogs. time for lime is also a animal rescue centre so if you fancy helping out walking the odd dog it is appreciated (its such a great thing they're doing here, after travelling around in thailand and seeing the amount of often injured dogs and cats wandering the streets, it's good to see people actually caring for them and making a difference).

service in general is really good, from the cleaniness of the bungalows to the great bar/restaurant on the beach (fantastic margarita's). junie the owner will arrange scooters so you can investigate the island, the next beach along (long beach) is a virtually deserted stretch of beach with bars and restaurants dotted sporadically along.

all in all very much recommend time for lime, i'd definately return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Ko Lanta isnt the best destination in thailand so we only stayed 3 nights, that said i would deffo return here if I ever went back. We love animals so the fact ti doubles as an animal rescue centre we found quite cute, however if you dont like dogs cats and monkeys then this may not be the place for you. We got a room with a fan and it sounded like we were sleeping next to a plane so go for air conditioning everytime. The staff didnt empty our bins which was a bit annoying but the rooms were clean, mosquito proof and set in nice gradens which was enough to leave us happy.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We had been travelling around Thailand for a couple of weeks before we made it to Ko Lanta and Time for Lime on the recommendation of a friend who had been to the cooking school and had insisted we at very least went to have a mojito there. Having checked out the website on Ko Phi Phi before getting on the boat to Lanta we decided to stay in the bungalows at Time for Lime and this was possibly the best decision we made while in Thailand. We stayed there for five nights and by the time it came to leave we felt like we were truely part of the Time for Lime family. The bungalows were beautiful, simple and clean set in gorgeous gardens with hammocks hung from the front of the bungalows which were delightful to doze in in the late afternoon. We paid 1100B per night which having paid 1000B for a pokey room with tiny bathroom on Phi Phi was a great price. We had a fantastic time and are planning our next trip back just as soon as we've saved up for the flight!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Time For Lime Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time For Lime Bungalows

Address: 72/2 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 cozy Budget bungalows set in a nice garden, 2 minutes from the beach. Those who enjoy staying here are people who appreciate a small, creative, funky atmosphere, great food & drinks, groovy music and have a heart for animals If you rather prefer top-notch western flush toilets and TV, go elsewhere. By staying here you help support the charity Lanta Animal Welfare. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Time For Lime Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Time For Lime Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.