We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for new management.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Time For Lime Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Time For Lime Bungalows
Save
You added Time For Lime Bungalows to your Saves list
72/2 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cloncurry, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Time for new management.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Booked for 3 nights, tried to get out after first night.
Beach access right behind rooms gets a pounding from mopeds from 5am till the wee hours after mid night... Paper thin walls it sounds like their coming through your room.

Take mosquito coils/spray cause there everywhere! There was an out break of Dengi fever where 5 volunteers at the animal refuge couldn't help due to contracting it.

You'll need your own beach towel, but I don't recommend the beach out front, there is drain outlets from somewhere real smelly going out to the sea and it runs along the beach..my tip is hire a moped or take a tuk tuk to Koh lanta nice beach resort, the beach is fantastic there.
Moving water, safe to swim and first class in terms of cleanliness and heaps of space... Not like other touristy spots.

The rooms are very basic and in need of some elbow grease, the bench collapsed when we placed our bag on top of it, just be prepared.
Slightly over priced compared to neighbouring nice spots which we moved to after our 3 night stay.

The cooking class was great thou, and I do recommend that experience... The mojito's and margherita's are delicious!

We hope that the owner of the business gets to take sometime off as she appears exhausted and as the face of the business can translate to excited and happy holiday makers as bad customer care.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for your time to write this review.
- We are sorry for the road next to the bungalows that the local sea gypsies use to go to work. We cannot do anything about it, they where here first, that's why on our web site we inform about this.
- Sorry that the owner (me) seems exhausted, as I am teaching all the cooking classes as well at the moment. I am training a new teacher, so better times in view in the future ;o)
- We have now provided mosquito coils in every room. There are mosquitos every where on the Island. The animal refuge is 3 km away from our bungalows, and this is where the volunteers stay. Even so, you can catch this anywhere. If you catch Dengi fever, it only takes one regular mosquito to bite and give the virus to another person. Thats why often several people that are staying in the same place will get the fever.
- We provide a beach towel if the customers ask (we are not a 5 star resort, and the prices are there after.
- We are going to lower our prices even more for next season ;o) As we cannot compete with resorts that own the land themselves. Unfortunately we rent, and our contract goes out in 2 years.
-
- We have fixed the bench that collapsed, all other benches where fine.
- So glad to hear that you enjoyed the cooking class ;o) A review on that would be greatly appreciated.
- If you want the recipe of our Mojito and Margarita's, let me know and I'll send them to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    32
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
55
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We spent 6 days at time for lime. The bungalows Are Nice and cosy! We loved that it was quiet ( besides Noise from the night marked just up the street). Enjoyed relaxing in the hammock with a
Good book and cudling with one off the cats!
Breakfast was ok, simple And self service. The lemon grass margaritas is the best!! Service and hospitality is good as well.clean rooms everyday! Will go back some day;)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Time for Lime cooking school and guesthouse on Klong Dao Beach is a beautiful property with a distinctive character. The main building is a pleasant mix of organic leaves and colors and modern concrete forms; the bar and cooking school fill up with the sounds of jazz and the smells of amazing food almost every night. The tasting menu was wonderful and well-presented; the guesthouses and grounds are nice.

The staff were always friendly and welcoming, starting with our 'welcome drink' when we arrived the first day. When my girlfriend and I had a minor communication error with the staff, they were accommodating and gave us the benefit of the doubt. They was also happy to help us with motor scooter rental arrangements and other things.

However, there's often motorcycle noise from the public service road that runs alongside the guesthouses. This may likely increase as a result of the commercial landing area that the locals are now building on the beach close by.

The staff keep several clean and friendly dogs and cats on the property as part of their animal rescue program. This is usually great, but one of the dogs regularly woke us up at 4:00 in the morning with her very loud howling. The staff are aware that she's a "problem" dog, but they have yet to relocate her.

Overall, this was a nice place to stay, close to lots of restaurants and other amenities, despite its imperfections.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed just one night here. The combination of a bar nearby, cars using neighbouring driveways, and the animals that are housed on location there, made for quite a disruptive night's sleep but for the money it was fine. The bed was also pretty hard, but again, for the price one can't complain.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We spent a pleasant couple of days in the bungalows - they're clean and have the essentials - however I don't feel they offered particularly good value for money, as similar bungalows with air-con and a pool on site could be found for slightly less money in the same area (we stayed in a bungalow with only a fan). We also found the restaurant to be of a league above the bungalows in terms of price and therefore couldn't really justify eating there which was a shame. However, the fact that the bungalow/restaurant owner donates all her profits to the Lanta Animal Shelter is to be admired and there are a number of feline friends to keep you company during your stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We have really enjoyed our stay in Time For Lime. Bungalow was nicely decorated, garden was lush and green and there were very cute cats around. Atmosphere was great too. The only negative for us is that bed was just too hard but if we come back to Lanta we'll definitely stay there again. +++++

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in a Time for Lime bungalow during the Koh Lanta low season, August 2011. The bungalow seemed to be recently constructed and was extremely clean and nice, with air conditioning, a queen-size bed, mosquito net, shower with hot water, spacious room. I can't imagine having a nicer bungalow.

However, because this was the low season, we were the only guests at the place. Water currents were washing trash from Koh Phi Phi over to Koh Lanta, and because of it being low season, there was no incentive for Time for Lime (or any other hotel/resort) to clean their beaches. Also, some staff seemed as if they were using low season as an excuse to just hang out but not actually do anything at work, and we felt like we were invading their fun time. To be fair, though, other staff seemed happy to help us. We stayed for only one night, although we had planned to stay for three.

I write this not to fault Time for Lime, but to let prospective guests know: If you plan to stay on Koh Lanta during the low season, write the hotel to inquire about the status of the beach. Or, don't make a reservation, because there's no need.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Time For Lime Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time For Lime Bungalows

Address: 72/2 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 cozy Budget bungalows set in a nice garden, 2 minutes from the beach. Those who enjoy staying here are people who appreciate a small, creative, funky atmosphere, great food & drinks, groovy music and have a heart for animals If you rather prefer top-notch western flush toilets and TV, go elsewhere. By staying here you help support the charity Lanta Animal Welfare. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Time For Lime Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Time For Lime Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.