We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staying in Thip House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanta Thip House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lanta Thip House to your Saves list
Lanta Thip House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   361 Moo 2 Klong Khong Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 91 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“great staying in Thip House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Clean and tidy hotel with a wonderful owner and kind staff! We stayed at Lanta Thip House for a week and I felt like I was at home for the whole time I was there. The owner is amazing. She is super friendly and always ready to help us for anything we needed. The food is quite good as well. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The beach is about 10 minute walk from the guesthouse. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    26
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
70
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Thip is the loveliest, most helpful lady, you could ever hope to meet. She is the driving force behind this place & runs it effortlessly with her handful of staff. The rooms are spotless, clean & a good size. We have rooms at the rear of the building which are so lovely & quiet. We love it so much, we've extended our stay twice! You do need a bike with the location but nowhere is too far & Thip has bikes to hire. She even leant us beach mats & umbrellas to take to the beach. If you're looking for a safe, quiet, trustworthy place to rest your head, this is the place!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had a great time at Lanta Thip House. We stayed here for four nights, went to Malaysia for a couple of days but missed Ko Lanta so much that we decided to go back and stay another six nights at Lanta Thip House. The staff is very friendly and made us feel welcome. The rooms are spacious, spotless clean with good beds. The second time we stayed here we got a room at the back, which has a big balcony and nice view.
The location good be better since the nearest restaurant is about 1 km away. The hotel has a restaurant as well though. We rented a scooter for our whole stay, which is possible at the Thip House for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back (we stayed at the second floor) have big balconies, a nice view and are locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at Thip House for 3 nights and cannot think of one negative point. The rooms are fairly basic but are comfortable, spotlessly clean and have air-con. You really need a bike to get around as it is quite far from the beach but we rented a great bike from Thip and thoroughly enjoyed riding around the island. The best part of the hotel is definitely it's owner Thip. She is the loveliest lady you could ever meet. So friendly and helpful. Our bag broke and we asked to borrow a needle and thread but Thip very kindly insisted on mending it herself and did an amazing job! We really enjoyed our stay and hope to come back soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Decent room with nice balcony, but leaking fittings in the bathroom.
Nice selection of food for breakfast, and evening meals were very good.
Very friendly staff who helped us out a couple of times.
Location ok, tuk tusk to either end of the island a few of hundred bhat, and you can walk to klong kong beach in 10min.

Room Tip: All similar and all have balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Lanta Thip House for three nights. Thip the owner is fantastic made us feel very welcome and made us feel like whatever we asked was achievable. When we arrived we didn't have any cash so Thip organised for one of her employees to take us down to the town in her car to get some money which was extremely kind & saved us getting a tuk tuk. The rooms are large and clean even has English and Australia news. The bathroom is perfect looked almost new to us. It even had hot water! The location is slightly out of Klong Kong but it only takes about 10mins to walk there and the beach is only 5 mins away. Idea if you want a quiet location. Overall excellent accommodation could not fault & I would recommend to anyone needing to stay in Ko Lanta.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Thip House is without a doubt the best hotel we have stayed in on our 6 week journey around Thailand.

We are on a belated Honeymoon and we wanted to stay in reasonably priced accommodation so we could spend the extra on activities whilst being abroad. This Hotel is very fairly priced, even in Peak season- we would have paid more as it was so wonderful.

There was a mix up with Agoda when we first arrived, which meant our dates at the hotel had been changed without us knowing- however- Thip organised another place for us to stay for the two nights before we were due to go back to stay with her, despite everywhere being fully booked! She also sorted out transfers between the hotels so we didn't have to worry about taxi's. This was brilliant service and was unexpected as the fault was with Agoda.

When we came back to stay at Thip House, we were greeted with smiles and a fresh apple juice... we left our bags in the back as we were too early to check in (as we checked out very early from the previous hotel) and rented a motorbike from Thip to go and explore Lanta.
On arrival back from our day out, we were shocked to find that our bags had been put into our room already! These were pretty heavy backpacks- so we were ever so grateful!

The room itself is spacious, comfortable and above all very clean. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was amazing! The first super hot shower in Thailand that we have had!

If you are looking for a room with everything you need, this is it. (TV, Fridge, Aircon, Drying rack, Balcony, lots of storage!)

We would highly recommend eating at the hotel, especially the muesli with fruit and yogurt and the blueberry smoothies- and the mango lassy oh and the Phad Thai and the fish.. (you get the picture!) It is priced right for the portion sizes and the quality of the food and being honest, feel that why go out to town to eat when you have the best already at the hotel!

There is also DVD's, books and games in the lobby area that you can use and you can book excursions and transfers here too, all of which Thip can get at a great price for you!

We also had some laundry done through Thip House and it was quick, the best smelling and at a great price (and delivered to our room!)

They offer tea and coffee downstairs too at the restaurant if smoothies aren't your thing! They even do English Breakfast tea... :)

We really cannot recommend Thip House enough- everything from friendly happy staff, to the clean spacious room, to the incredible food, it is ALL exceptional, much better than a lot of 4 star places we have stayed in.

We thank Thip so much for having us and for everything she did for us whilst we were there, we wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: The best stay in Koh Lanta- we stayed on the 2nd floor at the front and it was quiet, very clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanta Thip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Thip House

Address: 361 Moo 2 Klong Khong Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Thip House 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Lanta Thip House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanta Thip House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.