We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanta Old Town

Lanta Old Town
Sri Raya Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 22 Attractions in Ko Lanta
Type: Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lanta Old Town is a small village on Ko Lanta's East Coast in Krabi Province. Many years ago, Ko Lanta's Old Town acted as the port and commercial center for the island and provided safe harbor for Arabic and Chinese trading vessels sailing between the larger ports of Phuket, Penang and Singapore. Today, Old Town is the district capital; it has a post office, police station, Buddhist temple, Chinese temple and the island's hospital as well as a long pier.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you've been to Bangkok and are sick of hearing that looking is free, that said shop owner is cheap cheap, or that for some reason there is always a starting 20% discount visit old lanta town. Unassuming and almost stuck in time as evidenced by the chicken traffic controllers old lanta town is a good place to eat, browse, and generally do nothing for a day. Hire a scooter like everyone else and explore here and the surrounding coast, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    193
    108
    30
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely little town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Only takes 1 hour to amble about, some nice shops, restaurants & bars. Not a huge amount to see but a nice journey from Saladan through rubber tree plantations, to get there. We did it twice once by tuk tuk and then on a hire scooter.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“It's ok for an hour or so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The old town is very quiet, but nice to visit when on Lanta. It's ok to travel up there for lunch, walk the very few streets and return . There's just not really a lot to do.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice few hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I popped here for a few hours to have a break from the beach.

It's not a big area, but pretty enough and pleasant to walk around to check out a few shops, look at the pier, have a cold drink and some lunch.

Friendly people and preferable to the hussle and bussle of Saladan, although there are less things to do, so if you are looking for a bigger shop then it is probably best to check out Saladan.

If you just want a few hours to do something a bit different, maybe buy a hat and admire the views over a cold one, then grab a tuk tuk or taxi and enjoy

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A step back in time and a sneak peak at village life in Lanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great for travellers who want a taste of what Lanta old town is like in the past - it's quiet, scenic and a gem for travellers who come from the city.

The trip there for 2 on a tuk tuk cost us THB900, return trip. We could have bargained cheaper but our guide was too accommodating so we thought he deserved the full THB900 as agreed. He even agreed to wait for us while we explore the place.

We boarded the tuk tuk from our hotel at Maya Lanta Resort and the ride to Lanta Old Town was about 25-30 mins. The journey there has only one word to described it - WOW. Lots of plantations and gorgeous mountains views spotted with little houses/villages along the way. Children waved at us as we rode by, uphill and downhill.

Lanta Old Town comprise of a very short street that might take most visitors who aren't keen on photography about an hour tops to explore. For those keen on snapping pics and exploring every nook and cranny of the place, I would recommend 3 hours tops.

Do stop by this place called Malee Cafe. With quaint furnishings and a very hippish, urban vibe, you simply have to stop by and have an ice coffee to cool yourself off. If not, just drop in and pay a visit to the cafe. I promise you'll definitely want to take pictures of the interesting wall mural just outside the cafe "Make lov3 on wall.."

We explored every nook and cranny of the town and even made friends with a friendly convenience store owner who was carrying her sleeping baby girl straight up. We bought a pack of 9 fireworks (these are banned in Singapore where we come from) at THB129 and we had an amazing time setting it off back at our hotel beach.

I would say that the place has a very laidback feel and the locals are cheerful and friendly. Their command of English is marvelous too.

We walked up the jetty road to the end to soak in views of the ocean. We walked to the playground and interacted with the bubbly kids. Overall, it was a lovely afternoon well-spent and I would recommend this place to everyone. Take a look at my pictures and you won't believe this is taken in Koh Lanta, Thailand!

Tip: Not recommended for shopaholics as there is not much to buy there; only 1 souvenir shop.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanta Old Town also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Lanta Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanta Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.