We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mook Lanta Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mook Lanta Resort to your Saves list
Mook Lanta Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   343 Moo 2, Pra-Ae (Long Beach) | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Deals Direct
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gorgeous place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

We choose this hotel because we wanted something original and rustic!
The rooms are unique, fairly basic but have all that you need. We adored the outstide bathroom which was great having a shower under the stars.
There was no buffet for breakfast but they served you a plate of what they called american breakfast which was bacon, omellete and toast which is everything that you need to get you started for the day. If you want luxury and pampering then don't stay here but if you want to feel like you are in natural thailand then this is the place for you.
Its a small 2 min walk to the beach were there is a little bar which serves lovely cocktails. There is also a massage place on the beach were you can have massages whilst watching the sun set.
It close enough to walk to some restaurant and bars that serve lovely food and cocktails.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    51
    17
    11
    9
See reviews for
13
94
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

Booked via email last minute and had pick of rooms as season seemed to be slow.

Beautiful all wooded stilted bunglaw only finished just before Christmas '07. Awfully hard bed, but all in all it was a very romantic room!
We choose a aircon room but the new fan rooms looked great as well for those with a tighter budget.

As others have said not on the beach, but very very few resorts on Ko Lanta really are. Couple of min walk to beach, but you really need to walk to all the other end to be on the beach where there is a bit going on!

Do take a visit up the road as this is where the best bars and restaurants are. The best was the jamacian bar, you can not miss it it is always packed! They have some fabulous food including BBQ'd chicken and Barracuda, You must also try the garlic Rice.

We hired bikes from Mook Lanta which were fine - this is a real must as there is so much to see and do.

I would recommend Mook as a good, reliable pretty resort to explore the rest of the Island from.

Slightly annoying you had to pay for internet.
I would highly advise not eating in the restaurant, no one in there for the whole of our stay, no view, over priced food.

We also decided to go and pay for breakfast shunning the very simple free breakfast. We choose to pay £2 each for huge freshly made musili pancakes topped with tropical fruit and yogurt plus a couple of freshly squeezed juices or shakes. (Coffee Asylum, plus free WiFi!)

  • Liked — Beautiful bungalows, good service, good location, good value
  • Disliked — resataurant, free breakfast, poor beach location,
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

Mook Lanta is a great place for a low key Lanta experience. Rooms were bright, clean and simple with great privacy. Restaurant was great with free breakie and great red curry. We had a small seaview in Bungalow A1. Great (but extremely HARD king size bed), TV, Air-con was terrific. Outside bathroom a quirky addition.

Make sure to hire a scooter for 300 baht for 24 hours direct from Mook Lanta and explore the island yourself.

Make sure to get a voucher if you book any tours/trips through the Mook Lanta management - we didn't and they said we were booked but at crunch time we didn't get to go.

They also lost some of our laundry and then recovered them 2 days later.

The management/owner are amazing people - very friendly and helpful. The chef prepares great food, is a fun character and sings really well!!!

Overall - we had a great experience. Wouldn't mind a closer beach access without the rocks but overall awesome and I'd probably go back again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and great food
  • Disliked — Location and Hard Bed
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

Our room was very spacious with a king sized bed and nicely appointed with A/C, cable TV, fridge. The shower being outside with a big plant in the middle was a cool design touch. The garden view is very nice although we had a so-called seaview room when there aren't really any seaviews to be had in the place (but we had previously been warned about this from other reviewers). They picked us up at the pier which was good although it would be nice if they'd asked us which boat we were on so they'd been waiting at the right pier.

Overall I'd recommend it although I'm not sure it's the best value, somewhat more than the other places around which are closer to beach and have perhaps more unique touches (but may not have AC).

I did like the location though on the South side of Long Beach (the second beach) -- there are lots of interesting places at this end of the beach, restaurants, etc. Try Papaya restaurant on the main road which was excellent.

  • Liked — King size bed, lush plant in shower
  • Disliked — no seaview in seaview room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

I stayed here with my Mum and loved it. Found it after a miserable night at Riviera, so it was also a huge relief. Stunning gardens, no beach front bungalows but the beach is about 2 minutes away it makes no difference. Right next to amazing massages nr the Sanctuary. Quiet
end of Long Beach.

Only thing is that at night I found it a bit scary walking across the
rocks to get to the busier end of Long Beach - which you have to if you a looking for anything a bit livelier, as you are a little cut
off from things here. But perfect as I was with my Mum and we were never disturbed at night. If i went back with friends I might want to be somewhere a little more lively.

Food is amazing, probably one of the best meals we had in Koh Lanta so visit the restaurant even if you dont stay here. It is cooked by a delightful friendly couple.

Manager sorts out everything you could possibly need. Its all very relaxed - you pay him for it all at the end of your stay.

Other reviews are correct, your rooms dont get cleaned every day - they could have been a bit more, but am sure they would if you asked.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

This was a pleasant resort overall with spacious rooms, fully functioning air-conditioning and a lovely terrace to each bungalow to look out onto the garden. The staff spoke decent english and were helpful. It's located within walking distance to good eating places and 2 of the hippest clubs (Earth Bar & Opium).

A few things to note though:
1. The open air toilet/bathroom might seem interesting but when you're using this at night, the light tends to attract insects of all sorts and unless you don't mind taking a shower with bugs and flying cockroaches, you should reconsider getting this resort.
2. The beach directly in front of the resort was rocky. You have to walk further north to get clear sandy beaches.
3. There is no beach bar here. You've to go to the neighbouring resort's bar, granted it's only a minute's walk away.
4. Towels aren't changed daily. But if you ask the staff for a new set, they'll willing give it to you.
5. The television occasionally switches itself off and there doesn't seem to be any hot water after midnight and in the early morning.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

Overall, Mook Lanta was a good stay with fully working airconditioning, english TV channels and spacious rooms for more than a couple of luggages. The garden view is beautiful although all 12 bungalows seemed to be of the garden view variety. There weren't any beach front huts at all so don't try booking one of those, chances are you might just be paying for a bigger room without any view of the sea. The staff spoke decent english and was extremely helpful.

It costs abt 50 baht/person for a "tuktuk", or cab, from the pier to the resort.

There were a few little nitty gritties that could have been improved though. Firstly, if you like me, were seduced by the tropical idea of an open-air toilet/bathroom, think abt what your holiday schedule is like. If you're likely to return back to your resort late at night to take a shower, the light attracts quite a few bugs and if you're squeamish (as I am) abt insects and flying cockroaches joining you for a bath, perhaps this isn't the best resort. Also, the hot water heater didn't seem to work late at night and in the early morning. You aren't provided with a fresh change of towels daily, but if you ask the staff for these, they'll be glad to give you new sets. Also, I got the impression the sheets weren't changed daily, they were just made. The beach directly in front of the resort was full of rocks, be prepared to walk to another section of the beach if you want a sandy beach. Also there isn't a beach bar at the resort, you have to walk (a short distance) to the neighbouring marina resort's beach bar. If these don't bother you, then bya ll means, get Mook Lanta! It's within walking distance (abt 10-15 minutes) to quite a few good restaurants and 2 of the hippest clubs (Earth Bar & Opium).

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mook Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mook Lanta Resort

Address: 343 Moo 2, Pra-Ae (Long Beach) | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mook Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mook Lanta Eco Resort, offers beautiuful Thai style bungalows in a picturesque secluded gardens. Located on the most popular beach of Phra Ae (Long Beach) we are close to all that Koh Lanta has to offer. Our bungalows range from large family air conditioned bungalows through to inexpensive fan Bungalows. We have Free Wifi throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mook Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mook Lanta Boutique Hotel Ko Lanta
Mook Lanta Boutique Resort And Spa
Mook Lanta Boutique Ko

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mook Lanta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.