We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lanta Pavilion Resort

Save Saved
You added Lanta Pavilion Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanta Pavilion Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   120 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 79 hotels in Ko Lanta
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights and as we booked 3 nights separately we had 2 different rooms (we got upgraded for free to deluxe for the second one, nice touch). Careful... WiFi is not free of charge if you want it in your room (700 bhat/week) but free in the restaurant and near reception.

The rooms: clean, spacious with all commodities (fridge, a/c, soap and shampoo, drinking water but no safe). All "bungalows" have a lovely terrasse with table and chairs. We had glass windows. The second room was better than the first room which had lots of mosquitoes. We also happened to see a cockroach in the first room (a15) but it was our fault... We left a plastic bag full of leaked shampoo and the floor... The second room was further from the beach and close to the road but it was new and much better (no mosquitoes, no cockroaches), it was room B2. Rooms are cleaned everyday and we had no noise issue whatsoever...it's definitely worth taking a deluxe (way better than superior, and I thin standard don't have a/c or glass windows)

Hotel location: right on the beach, very pleasant. The beach has a lot of rocks though and check the tide! When it's low tide walk 5 minutes on the beach and you can find a place without rocks (opposite the emerald hotel)or use the small but nice swimming pool. Also we could always find a beach chair to sit in.To go out it is a bit more complicated as it's a bit isolated: if you want to go to the old Town it is quite expensive, but a bit cheaper to go to saladan village (go to lanta seafood reataurant there, it's amazing).

Staff: friendly, but a bit slow.

Breakfast: not included but they have plenty of choice. The set breakfast are not necessarily great so we ordered from the menu (almost same price). The food in this restaurant is generally great... Do try the bbq white snapper with tamarind sauce for dinner, it won't disappoint! Best fish eaten in Thailand. Be prepared to wait though, service is long and can sometimes be flaky...take some playing cards and the issue is solved. They also do a lovely banana shake.

All in all I definitely recommend this hotel!

Excursions: don't book at the hotel, just cross the road where you'll find a small tourist information office. The owner is super nice, genuinely cared about our opinion (we did 2 excursions and he waited for us both times to ask whether we liked it or not) and he also offers cheaper prices. Would recommend doing a speedboat excursions (opal), it's more expensive but well worth it, more professional and better organised than in long tail boat. We did 4 islands excursions in long tail and phiphi in speedboat.

Room Tip: If you don't mind being further away from the beach ask for the newly refurbished rooms (b2 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiian9, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to make our customers happy and we try our best to get feedback about tours etc. so we can chose the best ones. We are lucky to have a very good chef! Sorry about the mozzies and bugs. This is the tropics and one speck of food will bring ants in quickly. Mosquitoes only are active at dawn and dusk, so if you are careful to keep your door closed at these times, you should be able to keep them out. Check the room before you sleep to flush out any mozzies and kill them or they will buzz you all night. Our staff will happily help. The roaches here do not infest houses. They live in the jungle and only get into houses by accident. Still, they are very ugly so contact the staff if you see one. Unfortunately, if one gets in, others might follow so make sure it is put out! With a littl care, your room should be bug free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    37
    23
    17
    23
See reviews for
18
63
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here mid December and are a family of 5, with adult children. Prior to our stay Joe the contact we made was fantastic and very very helpful even arranging a free collection from the boat Pier, he was great.
We had high expectations and were very pleased when we arrived, our rooms were lovely the people very friendly. This was our last Island stop and during our trip it became clear to us that our son and daughter would be better sharing than our two daughters (due to them staying out late at night) they were great and rearranged our rooms to suit our new arrangement.
The meals we ate in the evening were great, compliments to the chef, and the waiter was brilliant, he made us smile and was full of fun. Breakfast - that's a bit odd, a set menu that didn't really suit our requirements, I do think they would be better having an open choice, it doesn't have to be buffet but to choose what you wanted rather than a set menu would be better.
The beach is nice, but it is rocky so not for all, we went for some lovely evening strolls and there were places to pop in for a drink or two. It is a quiet, perhaps too so for our children although they did find a full moon party to attend. It was a bit difficult for me as I cannot sit in the sun and there was nowhere to sit on the beach that had shade, prior to booking we checked this and it did seem that this would be available. As a party of 5 we were able to get chairs on the beach, a mismatch of deck chairs, sun loungers and a plastic garden type chair, but I could see this being an issue if they were really busy.
The only down side for me was trying to arrange to go out and about. As I had corresponded with Joe I asked where I could find him to book some outings and was told he was off sick. The lady would help me. However, after answering her mobile mid conversation, getting up and walking away and generally not listening or seeming interested, I walked away to go get my things and find somewhere else to help me organise the trips we wanted to do. She did eventually come after me and I told her I was going to find someone who was interested in helping me, finally she did help but I do feel that we missed out a little as she wasn't very clued up.
Would I stay again, Yes we would as a couple but the kids found it a bit too quite.
Tip - If you want to get out and about sort it before you get there or hope that Joe is well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiian9, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
After a rather lengthy sick leave, I am back! Sorry the staff didn't seem overly eager to help you. They work long hours (Thai style) and get tired and are not always smiley and helpful. They usually are though and you can tell it's genuine, They just can't always maintain the smile when they are tired. I have tried training but it's hard to change a culture! Now that I am back, guests can always ask the receptionist to call me any time and I can be there in a minute. We have bought some new beach chairs and umbrellas, but there isn't always space if all 36 rooms decide to be out at the same times. This rarely happens and the beach can seem almost deserted even in the high season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

You must remember, this isn't a high class 5 star resort.... It's a small basic clean resort.. The newer deluxe bungalows are nice and clean. Bathroom is simple but clean..
Breakfast included in the room gets kinda boring when you're staying for a longer period..
The service in the restaurant is always friendly, but can be painstakingly ineffective at times and they don't always get it right... so there is room for improvement. But if you're nice and point it out.. you'll probably end up with what you want... in time... ;-) (Relax!! This is basically the way it is everywhere on Ko Lanta)
The service in the reception is compleatly hazzle free... No complaints.
The guys in the bar... Relax man!! Thanks for everything. Nice people, friendly service and always smiling!!
The ladies at the beach massage... Well worth several visits.
Beach is nice... But remember that there is a reef and you need to know where to walk when you go for a swim.

I would like to recommend this resort to everybody who wants an easy, friendly and clean resort, with its small imperfections, and a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiian9, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for you kind words. Yes, breakfast.... I have been after the boss for 2 years now to change the breakfast style. I would prefer a breakfast menu with several choices to our current style of eggs,sausage toast, fruit, coffee or.tea and juice -- every day. Much better to be able to chose from a variety of simple breakfasts. I'm sure after reading this and the many other reviews that mention our breakfast, the owner will see the light. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Lanta Pavillion for 4 nights In January. The hotel is ok, however it is incredibly expensive for what you actually get. To add some perspective, we were travelling on a budget, and paid around £30 a night for this hotel which was by far the most expensive of all the islands we visited.

We had a standard room with air con. The room although clean is in desperate need of some TLC. We picked up a leaflet for the hotel at the front desk, and the photos make the room look very different to what you will actually get. Also, the beds are rather lumpy!

On the plus side, the hotel grounds are well kept, there is a nice swimming pool to use, the hotel is right on the beach and the hotel restaurant serves some very nice food.

Overall this is not a terrible hotel, the surrounding are nice, and the restaurant is good, but I was left very disappointed with the quality of our room considering the cost of it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiian9, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Koh Lanta is an expensive island, as are many of the smaller near-by islands. I too think that it is expensive for what you get compared to other parts of Thailand, but Lanta is trying to go up market. This seems to be changing as market forces do their magic. We are, however, very competitively priced compared to other resorts on the island, and have many different discounts. If we have rooms available at the last minute, the price drops considerably, but we are usually full in high season, which shows that we are competitive. If you are able to come in the low season, it's just as nice or nicer, except you might have rainy days. Still plenty of sun though and up to eighty percemt off. In the high season. the prices will always be determined by what people are willing to pay! It doesn't last long and we need return on investment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent four nights at the Lanta Pavilion in December. We were supposed to stay two nights but after our first immediately extended our stay to four. This is a simple hotel with clean, modest but comfortable rooms, hot showers, and very friendly staff. The rooms are not directly on the beach but you just have to walk through a path through the courtyard to reach it. It is not a fancy resort but does have a simple pool and nice chairs out on the beach, and a beachside restaurant for sunset drinks and dining.

The reason we liked our stay so much was we loved its location on Klong Khong beach. While it is not a great beach for swimming (rocks) it stretches for ages in either direction, has out of this world sunsets, and tons of rasta bars and beach shack restaurants to hang out at. It was perfect for a couple in their 20's to play on all day - with cheap food and drinks available on foot in either direction of the hotel.

Koh Lanta has a lot of fancy, secluded resorts on quiet beaches in the south but Pavilion was a much better fit for us as we wanted to interact with the town instead of just vegging at a pool all day. If you want to do the same, the Pavilion is a great place to rest your head. They also have free pick up from the ferry!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavilion123, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Couldn't have said it better myself! Some people love our beach and style, some don't. Reviews like this help peope chose. Thank you! Our aim is to make everyone here happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we stayed in peak season, shortly after new year eve. The bungalows are pretty much ok. And very clean, even we met dirty bed sheets (caming just from laundry), never happened again. The bungalow are buil in two rows. Between there is a way, used by motor bikes even at night. Taxis are coming and going also. Staff is kind. At the beach you will find the pool and restaurant, where you have breakfast: american breakfast=2 fried eggs, 1 sausage, 2 slices of toast, 1 cup of tea/coffee.
I think thats vey poor. The price in these days for the bungalow is high. You will find better resorts (buffett) 10-20% cheaper.
The beach: is strewn with pieces of corals, not easy to walk. And in the sea are hundreds of rocks. Swimming at low tide is impossible and at high tide you have mind your feet, hurts much.

Room Tip: take a bungalow in the middle between entry and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiian9, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Koh Lanta is an expensive island, relative to most of Thailand. We are very competitively priced, having many promotions throughout the year to keep our rooms cheaper than our competitors. We rae about the same price as resorts that are not nearly as nice. We have the nicest grounds on the beach and probably the best service, yet stay competitively priced. The best prices are usually available at the last minute. It is easy to tell how busy the island is by looking at online agents like Agoda. If there are many rooms available at many resorts, chances are that you can wait until the last minute and get a deal. If the island is full, the prices go back up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrtälje, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing place this is it. It's a basic hotel, not a very high standard but it's a good location and calm beach. The best food is just a couple of yards outside the hotel! on the right side of the road, to the left, there is three girls having an resturant they got the best thai food on the island!

Room Tip: for the best standard rooms pic room B1 or B2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lanta Pavilion Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Pavilion Resort

Address: 120 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lanta Pavilion Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from Klong Khong Beach our tropical resort offers, free pick up from the pier, free parking, free WIFI, outdoor adult & child pools, lantern lit pathways and our famous sun set restaurant. Our bungalows have garden pathways with luscious green tropical gardens & outdoor veranda area offering a tranquil and peaceful feeling. AIRPORT PICK UP / TRANSFER SERVICE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST Our perfect location offers relaxation and a good night sleep yet only minutes away from the action or steps away from spectacular sunsets on the beautiful Khlong Khong beach. Each air-conditioned room comes fitted with a flat screen TV, fridge, mini bar, safety deposit box & en-suite bathroom with hot water. Our beach front 'sun set restaurant" offers multi nationality dishes cooked from fresh ingredients. We also have daily beach front BBQ with night time fire show in high season. Laundry, dry cleaning, motorbike hire & massage services available along with many day tours and diving trips from our reception. Important information: Please be aware that during the monsoon season (May - October), the restaurant is closed and many of the boat tours do not operate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HostelBookers, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Lanta Pavilion Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Pavilion Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanta Pavilion Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.