We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Lotus Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Twin Lotus Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Moo 1 | Klong Dao Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 stars 205 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is one of the most relax trips I have. no fuss, relax and everything is easy. Not sure why people will have impression of a resort without insects and wild animals. The resort will be a great place in a year or two. Staffs are friendly and eager to please (bear in mind most Thai wont speak queen english but they at least put effort to try to learn the language). Imagine you are in some country side in some other country, they might not understand english well too.
The resort provide bicycle for free, we cycled to Saladan daily to have light lunch /dinner and wonder around (small place -nothing much to shop - but that's the whole idea of getting out of the city right? ;)). Breakfast was ok, not much variety but suffient for a good morning. Tried dinner twice in the resort's restaurant, food was ok. Housekeeping staff was very attentive, though you need to ask for nternational adaptor and hair dryer but it was a quick delivery. Suggest for management to provide those things in the room. We come back to a clean room daily with a small suprise on the bed with towels arrangement.
Pool was great, there have garden pool and infinity pool. when you laze around at the beach staff will bring you some cut fruits.
You may certainly get proper sausage for you all day breakfast in Ocean restaurant in Saladan. Lovely place and friendly staff - love the Tom Yam soup there. Reasonable price.
I will strongely suggest for those who only want a quite, peaceful relax trip to go to Koh Lanta, party king and queen, keep out. ;D

Room Tip: get youself a garden villa, is nearer to the beach and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    85
    27
    12
    10
See reviews for
10
120
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent two weeks here. This resort is probably the finest on Klong Dao Beach, the longest beach on Koh Lanta. The resort claim to offer five star service and facilities, but in reality they are at best what one considers four stars.

GARDEN: The resort is quite nicely laid out, with plenty of lawns and palm trees. In theory this should have been a picture perfect place in paradise, however they have absolutely no clue about gardening, or rather how to keep this wast garden in shape. Every second palm tree is either dried out, or cut down so they no longer resemble a palm tree. Not a pleasant sight. In-between, the lawns are badly maintained and more than half dried out... yellow or brown.

SNAKES: Walking around in the resort it is advisable to watch every single step, and keep scanning right and left of the concrete walking paths, to watch out for snakes. We met a snake only a few steps from our bungalow. Not an experience that encourages one to simply enjoy the sun and the sound of flip-flops. The resort offers a service of club cars, that you can order to drive you to and from the gate (a longer walk). This helps ease off the tension walking back to the bungalow in the evening. During our stay, they were however broken and this service did not exist apart from the last two days. Remember to bring a good flashlight. Having said this, we appreciated that the resort management took this seriously and placed poison under our and neighboring bungalows.

BUNGALOWS: The bungalows are new and nicely designed. Interior is tasteful and by Thai standards very good. The bathrooms are nicely designed and very spacious. Air-conditioning works excellently. The staff makes different animals out of towels and places them on the bed. Impressive.

HOUSE KEEPING: The quality of house keeping is not very impressive (and now I am polite), apart from the towels on the bed. They clean only the areas that are easily visible, and not even those very well. Under the beds, there is al kind of litter and spider-web, clearly being there for months. They don't bother to check if the soap, shampoo and conditioner bottles need filling up. We had to ask at the reception for that, several times. One day, one of our sons cuddly animals was missing. It turned out that the staff had removed it from the room, when changing bedlinen. Lack of attention to detail. After escalating this through the chain of command, the little dog was finally found.

COMMUNICATION: Most of the staff speak only Thai, and understand at best a few word of English. When you talk to them, they have a very friendly attitude and smile. Later it turns out they didn't actually understand anything of what you say. This applies to front desk, restaurant and all other staff. Out of the more than 60 employees, 3-4 speak some English, a few more speak a few words, the rest nothing. So when they nod and smile, don't assume the things you have asked for will materialize.

MAKE GOOD: The resort's willingness to compensate for mistakes, or lack of service that was supposed to be included is minimal. My wife kept her iPad on the bedside table (where else), during our stay. The bedside table turned out to be made from wood, and although painted, give out some sort of wood liquid that reacted with the protective cover of the iPad. It was irreversibly destroyed. When checking out, we showed them the cover and politely asked for a compensation. The cover cost 60 USD and we asked them to knock 35 USD of the bill, something that we though was more than reasonable. It took the reservation manager and house-keeping manager half an hour to discuss the matter and they made the reduction only at the point when I told them that I will not sign the credit card slip (for the whole stay) at all, unless they make the reduction. Not very impressed.

UPGRADE: The resort is not difficult to persuade to upgrade you to a better category of room. They upgraded us to an Oceanfront villa, which we appreciated. This was also to some extent a compensation for the lack of the club cars. Otherwise it would have been a long walk to the pool.

BEACH: The beach is quite littered, and there is never more than a few steps between the empty cigarette packets, pieces of string, old plastic bags, plastic cups, pieces of burned wood, plastic seal from water bottles or the empty water bottles themselves. The resort simply dosen't seem to realize that the beach in front of the resort is a part of the product they are providing and that it might be a good idea to send out someone to maintain the sand in paradise beach condition. They do send out one or two people ever day, to gather the needles that have fallen off the trees since last day. Otherwise the sand would simply not be visible under the needles. Be aware of that the last 15-20 meters of the beach, until the waterline are occupied by millions of small crabs, that dig down into the sand. This is the case during the afternoon, when the water is low. Even though this is quite an exciting sight, personally i prefer to walk on sand into the water. Not on crabs. They are tiny (0.5-1 cm, quarter of an inch). They don't make any harm to you. But it is not a very nice feeling walking on them, which is unavoidable if you want to get into the sea. The sea is quite shallow for at least 75 meters, perfect for children. However forget about clear blue water. The waves make the sand mix with the water and it is always more or less muddy.

POOL: There are two large pools. The main one, is very nice and excellently maintained. It gives an illusion of being one with the sea. In the middle of the pool itself, there is a spacious confined area of little depth, perfect for children and adults as well. All in all, this is one of the best features of the resort. By the pool, you can borrow surfing equipment, things for snorkeling, mountain bikes, kayaks and a variety of other things absolutely for free. This is very nice.

POOL BAR: This is probably the only five star part of the resort. The staff is impeccable in dress, professionalism and service attitude. Under the command of the experienced bar manager Sha, the pool bar turns out fruit shakes, cocktails, anything else you may want to drink and a selection of dishes from the pool menu. All prepared and delivered with perfection.

Breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: What the resort calls Ocean Villas, is just a category. Some of them located quite a distance fro th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is still in the work up phase of a recent renovation so not all the facilities are ready yet and there are still a few teething problems. That said they seem to be making a fair amount of progress as many of the issues featured in previous comments, eg slow check-in, have been addressed. As it is not fully operational there are very cheap deals available at present and unless a working spa is a dealbreaker for you I wouldn't be put off. The location at the top end of Klong Dao beach is extremely good and the beach itself is clean & safe with many nearby bars & restaurants. The staff were helpful & friendly although perhaps a little passive when it came to pitching things such as drinks (not always a bad thing from the customers point of view more puzzlement that the hotel doesn't try to extract more revenue). The hotel bar & restaurant are roughly twice the cost of the place on the beach, which is pretty standard in my experience. The resort is pitched as a five star which it really won't be even when up an running, more a creditable four star; again I wouldn't let this be a dealbreaker unless you are the kind of snob who only stays at five star resorts or perhaps like the anonymous luxy of that type of place. Our room was beautifully furnished and cleaned to a high standard every day with none of the other issues reported by other travellers; we could, of course, have just been lucky.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we were expecting a finished product with good service. we were disappointed thet part of the premises was still being worked on. the room itself was well planned but sadly lacked a floor in the sit out area which did not even have chairs and a table.They were provided when asked for ,but it should not be the case. House keeping needs improvement as the toilet seat was not clean and we had an insect in our bed under the pillow. When we complained to the reception, not much care was taken, no apology and no one spoke to us thereafter. Breakfast was good with good service in the restaurant. All in all ,comparing with other resorts in Thailand for quality and service, this hotel is no value for money and very overpriced.

Room Tip: several great restaurants on the beach for dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 for our honeymoon. i especially love the rocking chairs in the dining area. They should add more hammocks and lounge area, The spa was under renovation, so i can't comment there. We enjoyed the daily breakfast, the free bicycle and kayak. the beach is private and clean. The hotel staffs are very polite and helpful. Thumbs up to the security guards. Rooms are nicely decorated with a mix of modern and traditional furniture. On the down side, the water from the faucet is salty and makes brushing teeth a bit disgusting. Also, they start landscaping work very early in the morning which might disturb those who want to sleep in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in early March 2013 in a Garden Bungalow. Lots of walking to/from bungalow. Really nice (For Thailand) facilites. Pool looks right out over ocean beach. Rooms were high quality contruction. Comfy bed. Only complaint was we had foul odor in bathroom we think from outside, but no way to close out bathrooms to odors outside due to just having screens on bathroom vents to outside.

Room Tip: The closer to the beach/pool/restaurant, the less walking you'll likely do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The most important thing to know about this hotel is that it opened "three months ago" (as of March 2013) in order to take advantage of the peak (dry) season...despite not being finished. Most of the construction is done, though the spa isn't open yet. Neither is the "main kitchen" that will serve the pool area. The staff is largely untrained, and English levels aren't great. There is no poolside drink service, which is surprising given how much revenue that usually generates.

So why bother with this place? As many of the reviewers have said, it's got potential. It's on a great stretch of beach. The infinity pool is excellent (though woefully under-chaired -- be careful, many guests drop off their towels before breakfast to stake out their territory, meaning if you're not up early you're not going to sit by the pool). Being new, the rooms are clean and free of that musty smell many of the other resorts have developed over the years. The food in the main restaurant is good, though portions are small and prices high. And there's a new manager in place who's trying to pull the whole thing together.

Moreover as of this writing (March 2013) there are some great deals going, so even with all the disappointments you can get value for money. But if rack rate is your only option, think about waiting a bit until they get their act a bit more together.

Room Tip: One tip: there is an entire section called "Beachfront Villas", only about 1/3rd of which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Twin Lotus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Lotus Resort & Spa

Address: 199 Moo 1 | Klong Dao Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Twin Lotus Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twin Lotus Resort, Koh Lanta is re-opening its doors in late 2012 after a full renovation and the addition of newly constructed Villas and facilities. Situated on 12 acres of gardens and a 3-kilometer white-sand beach, new facilities include a brand new Spa & Wellness Center as well as Beachfront Bar & Restaurant. Villas are located on the beachfront, as well as in the gardens and overlooking the canal that runs through the property. Please note that according to resort policy, Twin Lotus welcomes guests aged 18 and over only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Twin Lotus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Lotus Hotel Ko Lanta
Twin Lotus Resort And Spa
Twin Lotus Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Lotus Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.