We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't come back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   288 Moo 3 | Phra Ae Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Ko Lanta
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I wouldn't come back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

The Lanta Casaurina was an OK hotel. We went to Lanta in June during the rainy season and would not recommend it. It rained (duh) most of the time and there weren't many places doing business. Lanta Casaurina only had about 7 out of 52 rooms booked - it felt like "The Shining."

On the upside, the service was good and we were able to rent motorbikes for 350 baht per day + gas. The pool was pretty but there was a lot of rubbish washed up on the beach. Perhaps the hotel is better during the high season...but I'd look into another spot were I ever to return to Lanta.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    69
    47
    14
    6
See reviews for
30
82
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

The hotel is right on a lovely quiet beach with a lovely pool. Good place for relaxing. Beautiful long beach, good for walks & located in a very quiet area. Room - clean, spacious,and very comfortable. Bathroom - modern & shower was fantastic (warm water); Pool - infinite pool; get to see awesome sunset view; Breakfast - excellent (new menu everyday); Staff - very helpful. Its good value for money. Will highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Stayed in a Beach Villa which was very nice, pool was great, location on the beach was fantastic and we enjoyed some amazing sunsets having drinks at the bar. Breakfast was adequate, nothing special. Can't fault the facilities at all. Service was ok, nothing special again.

Had a couple of drawbacks during our stay, firstly we had a pair of earrings stolen from our room by one of the cleaners, they denied this claim but it was funny that we never saw our original cleaner after the complaint. Second issue we had was that our beach villa was situated to the right of the pool (facing the sea) and the waterfall pumps were not that far away from our rear window, about 2 villa's down to be precise. As a result we could hear them start up every morning at about 8am. I felt sorry for those in the villa's directly in front of the pump.

Compensation was given upon departure but these 2 episodes did effect an otherwise very enjoyable stay. The biggest plus is the location on the beach, right in the middle with excellent restaurants within walking distance along the beach, a good bit of advice is take a torch for the walks, there are lots of crabs at night which made all the girls jump!!

To sum up, a very nice place to stay and very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed in one of the Bungalows facing the beach for about 5 nights - and will not be coming back to this hotel. Its location is good for those who want a bit of privacy and peace to read your book and enjoy the sound of the waves and sunset by the beach. The beach is sandy, and water was very calm. The stretch further up the hotel is rocky, and the other stretch is too close to the beachfront cafes and bars.

We rented a motorcycle from down the road as the hotel's is way too expensive. Food and room service at the hotel is actually reasonably priced, and even tastes good for hotel standard. We had Western food once and the pizza was actually surprisingly edible! (Western food in Thailand is not generally recommended).

For Western food, we recommedn 'The Frog' - in Saladang Town. We ate lunch very often at the 'Thai Orchid' on Khlong Dao beach. Service there is friendly, and food is good. The Thai Green Curry is really fresh and original.

This hotel does not have a spa - but a 'massage shack' by the pool. We opted for the Spa at the Layana Resort & Spa 10 mins walk down the beach instead. They run promotions pretty frequently, e.g. 'buy 1 free 1 (treatment for partner) on every Friday'. The Spa is professionally run and the Layana Signature massage is one of the best massages we've had.

In general, this resort is slightly run-down and in need of a breath of fresh air. Breakfast is boring - and the same every day. Come here only for the beach and if there's a really good deal.

Tip: The reception told us that we have to pay for the WiFI and get a password but we found out (after having paid for it) that we can actually log in without a password AND not needing to pay! They also charge THB 5 for each postcard as service, which we find ridiculous for a 4-star hotel as it should be a service!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort

Address: 288 Moo 3 | Phra Ae Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Casuarina Beach Hotel Ko Lanta
Lanta Casuarina Hotel
Hotel Lanta Casuarina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.