We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not out of season!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Koh Lanta Resort

Save Saved
You added Maya Koh Lanta Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maya Koh Lanta Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   164 Moo 3, Klong Dao Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 70 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not out of season!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We arrived at hotel, which on first impressions looked very tired and in need of some redecoration. Staff were really friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was very spacious and clean. Balcony outside room had no cover, so as rainy season, meant you couldn't sit outside. Pool quite small. Lots of rubbish washed up on beach.

The restaurant was only available for breakfast, no bar, massage facilities, sun roof looked in need of complete overhaul. The hotel just looked as though it was about to close down for the season.

In high season this could look quite different.

Best Western pulled out two years ago.

Because of lack of facilities, we decided not to stay. The staff were very understanding and there was absolutely no problem, despite having provisionally booked for 5 days.

Couldn't fault the staff and in high season could be a good place to stay ... If it was a raining, you'd be stuck in your room with no facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms appear to all look over the sea. 1st floor one probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bodo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Maya Koh Lanta for seven nights in april 2013. Location is superb, directly at the beach, couldn`t be better. We sayed in a spacious room on the second floor, with a nice view. So far so good. Our problem with this hotel was the service. The reception staff seemed unwelcoming. When we arrived at 09.00 am, tired an d hungry after a long journey, our room was not ready yet. This was off course ok, but no one offered us breakfast while we waited for our room, even though breakfast was still served for another hour. We had to go and search for another place to get breakfast.
The breakfast itself is another issue. The staff does not possess very good english skills, making it hard to communicate. You could order some types of eggs, pancakes, coffee, etc, but besides this the selection of bread and fruit was very limited.
Since the receptionstaff were so unwelcoming, we booked tours and trips at the agency across the street instead.
We ate at Time for Lime, Fat Monkey, and some of the fish restaurants in Saladan harbour, recommended. We also had breakfast at the nice German bakery, just to get a pause from the hotelbreakfast.

Room Tip: Book a room on the upper floor, then you get a nice balconny and stunning seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Maya Koh Lanta Resort for 4 nights in April.

The prime USP for this hotel is its location on a beautiful stretch of Klong Dao Beach. We stayed in a spacious deluxe room located on the upper floor of a terrace of rooms directly overlooking the ocean. The views from the room are stunning. There is also a very pleasant infinity swimming pool that also overlooks the sea.

Unfortunately, due to the magnificent ocean view, the management seems to think that they can cut corners (and costs !) in the other services provided.

There is no "on site" management here (nor 24/7 security) and staff only possess limited English skills. Our main area of disappointment was with the breakfast. The choice offered was extremely limited (compared to equivalent accommodations in Thailand). The usual response to a request (ie when fresh fruit had run out) was "FINISHED." We had to explain that fresh fruit is widely available on Ko Lanta and after making several assertive requests, some fresh fruit eventually did appear.

As far as the room was concerned, very spacious, but quality of fittings poor. For example, most importantly the bed made from cheap quality chip board and A/C unit rather noisy. The reception (and communal areas) are quite dated and tired looking and are overdue an upgrade.

We made a list of all complaints and eventually the staff managed to organise a meeting for us with the local manager, who listened politely to and agreed with our concerns and promised to get back to us with his responses and an action plan. Needless to say, we heard nothing further !

Maya Koh Lanta could be a great place if the management took some positive action to provide training to staff on good customer service and invited guests to give some feedback on the service provided. Relying solely on a wonderful location is really not good enough for a hotel that aspires to be (and charges for !) a "four star standard."

Keith & Su.

PS : The Maya Ko Lanta is located about 2Km from the main Saladan Village, where there are some wonderful (and reasonably priced !) seafood restaurants. We ate at the Ko Lanta Seafood restaurant which has a great seafood BBQ every night. Only a 60 Baht Tuk Tuk ride from the hotel, or a 30 minute walk along the wonderful Klong Dao Beach.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are very spacious. Go for a room on the upper floor of terrace for wonderful ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had a great stay at Maya Koh Lanta Resort in March 2013 with family. This hotel is located in Klong Dao Beach, a clean and unrocky beach and is about 2 hours road journey from Krabi airport. A good resort for retreat and relax.

Reception Area -
We were greeted with a friendly smile and welcomed drink on arrival.
Small but clean and tidy. Receptionist was friendly and helpful eventhough they are not very good in speaking English. They also offer us hotel breakfast while waiting for our room, since we arrived on an early flight. Short journey tuk tuk can be arrange thru hotel with reasonable charge.

Pool and beach -
Nice pool right in front the room and facing the beautiful sandy beach. This hotel doesn't have a children pool and I think the jacuzzi pool are no longer in use. Children will enjoy playing sand castle at the beach with the sandcastle kits line up next to the pool. Every morning, the hotel staff will clean the beach.
Beautiful sunset at Klong Dai Beach.

Deluxe room (Upper floor) -
Our room was ready by noon and our luggage was safely placed in our room on the upper floor.
The room was big with nice balcony and right infront the swimming pool and beach. Room is clean and beautiful sunlight brighten the room. TV sets and long sofa was nicely arrange. Huge clean bathroom with rain shower head and a separated large bathtub. Toiletries, hair dryer and clean hand towels was provided.
Others facilities - coffee/tea, daily mineral water and minibar. Wifi was good.
Housekeeping staff - the lady is very nice and thoughtful, she had good skills in folding towels into cute animals like swan, elephant, snail and etc, and this really impressed not only my 8 years old boy but also us.

Breakfast -
Morning brewed coffee was good at the beach front.
Breakfast was a little boring, and the staff should check the buffet tray regularly rather than left it empty. Fresh fruits, yogurt and fruit juicy is a plus corner is good.

Transportation -
Visit the resort website for arrangement of airport pick up by private air-cond minivan (plus 2 car ferry crossing), I personally find that the charges is not much different from the agents.

Around -
Walking distance to some good restaurants and mini mart.
Can even arrange from the resort on half day tour to Lanta Oldtown, beach hopping or islands hopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya - Amsterdam - Curacao
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

First the good parts. excellent room for a small hotel. Staff is run by absentee management which sometimes leaves things to be desired. For instance one day we were there only 4 rooms rented so there was no croissants with the statement from staff. "We cut on breakfast when not enough rooms are filled" of course management thinks we should pay full price for half service.

But now the stuff that really bothered me.

This is a small hotel that through most of it - stone paths-in the ground that you have to step on to get to swimming pool, beach, dining area, or back to your room. Two days after leaving my feet still hurt. My wife all 45 kg (54 pounds) says the same thing and while it was fun looking at her trying to be a ballerina to avoid the pain feel NO hotel should put its clients physically in pain.

Each room has a TV. and the Maya Koh Lanta is no different except in one very unusual way.
No American or British news. We had a Russian Propaganda station in English. the excellent aljezera, two german channels (one in English) there were more English channels then necessary but when 2 channels were not working properly I asked for either CNN or BBC or one of the two financial channels (CNBC oe Bloomberg) to be placed on the tv. Management's answer "NO"

So the bottom line for me. When on vacation do not want to suffer pain to walk from my room to anywhere. Fix the stone paths, remember stupid Americans need proper news even on vacation and I would happily return but based on the present situation cannot recommend this to anyone.

a few final comments. The dining room prices are so high they appear to be made so no one would eat there. We made the mistake and tried it anyway - it is not good and not worth the price
go to the street and there are some small thai places. Great food at 60 baht.

Down the road towards the main city on the right hand side is a German bakery. One of the best cheese cakes I have ever had (and I am from NYC)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

You can't complain about the location, it is on the beach with a comfortable pool. For the time being it is next to a park/vacant plot of land that hasn't been developed so the beach is relatively quiet in front of the hotel.

Be aware that this is a very family friendly beach so there are lots of children and so the pool can be overrun with screaming kids.

My problem was the head receptionist. She was very unhelpful. He first (second and third) response to any request we had was, "Sorry sir, you/we can not." Her constant initial refusal was very off putting and her lack of effort to find a solution to our requests was frustrating and could ruin the buzz of a relaxing holiday.

The other staff were very friendly, though their English was shockingly poor for receptionists at such an expensive (for Thailand prices) international hotel. They were also obviously afraid to make any executive decisions, often finally telling us that we must "ask the lady" referring to our unhelpful "Miss We-Cannot".

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Pluses:
1. Good location right on the beach.
2. Small, but neat swimming pool area.
3. Friendly, ever smiling staff
4. Nice exterior from the beach
5. Nice, contemporary lay-out of the rooms
6. Good food

Minuses:
1. If the manager doesn't start keeping the staff in tighter reign this nice hotel will deteriorate to 3 star quality. E.g. the restaurant / breakfast buffet area is nowhere near 4 star rating tidiness and the staff prefer to stand around chatting instead of keeping the place tidy. Same goes with cleaning of the rooms - we were there for 2 weeks and the shower glass walls and doors were never cleaned properly.
2. Management problem 2: If paint / plaster drops of the wall or metal decorations show rust, they must be repainted. Won't cost much and won't take much time.
3. Management problem 3: I cannot believe that one cannot get staff who could speak better English on an island that lives off tourism.

Such a shame, because the staff was very friendly, the food was good, the location excellent and the exterior and interior were nicely designed.

Room Tip: If a sea view is important for you, ask for a room on the top floor FACING the sea (because there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maya Koh Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Koh Lanta Resort

Address: 164 Moo 3, Klong Dao Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maya Koh Lanta Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Maya Koh Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Koh Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Best Western Ko Lanta
Ko Lanta Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Koh Lanta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.