We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmly recommended for more than one reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ThaimOut Beach Bar & Restaurant

ThaimOut Beach Bar & Restaurant
Long Beach, 386 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
+66 83 139 3723
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 218 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Everey morning from 1000 we have yoga sessions on our deck overlooking the sea. Sunset Live Music ALMOST EVERY DAY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warmly recommended for more than one reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

My family and I (3 kids) had dinner here several times and were never disappointed.

First of all the setting; It has terrific views for the sunset on the deck by the beach. Good atmosphere with cushions, lighting and decoration. There is a kids corner with a television so when the children got bored on the beach (yes, that happens..) they could hang there while my husband and I could finish our meal in peace. And let's mention the clean and functional toilets which is a big plus!

Cocktails; The perfect place for a drink. I reacted to the fact that the cocktails are a bit pricier than some other places but understand why; they are bigger and stronger. Tried a couple classics that were blended very well and well worth the price. Would that still be a problem come at happy hour to get 2 for the price of one.

Food; I have to admit we mostly ate european food as that was strongly recommended to us by others so can't really comment on the thai dishes. The hamburgers were big, juicy with good toppings and had a good bun around it and we had great crispy fries every time. The goat cheese salad was delicious as well and is my personal favorits. There are plenty of good choices on the kids-menu. The prices seem to be a little over average but once again explained and well worth it because of the high quality of the products used. The food does come at different times but that is just a fact you get used to in Thailand so no real news there.

If the above is not enough reason to visit, the entertainment with live music and poj-shows alone should be.
I will definitly be back here during future visits to Koh Lanta!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    1
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyngdal Municipality, Norway
1 review
“Great bar & restaurant in a beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Excellent food and fantastic location in front of the beach.
Very good live music.
Big menu also for kids

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Chilled venue, perfect for sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Great little bar, we didn't eat as the menu didn't seem as good as some of the others along Long Beach - however, the drinks and atmosphere more than made up for it! Perfect place to lie back and take in the incredible Koh Lanta sunsets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, Ägare at ThaimOut Beach Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Nice to hear! Please come and try our meny too- you will be surprised! Best regards Peter and Ulli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chilled vibes in Ko Lanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 via mobile

We really enjoyed the time we spent at ThaimOut and noticed a lot of the same people in there night after night, so they must be doing something right!

The music was great. Chilled out surfery-vibes. And there was great live music in the evenings, sometimes followed by a pretty cool fire show.

Really enjoyed the food. I saw a couple of reviews saying it was expensive, but in our experience, it was a similar price to everything else along the beach. If you want cheaper, you should venture away from the beach.

They had yoga there early in the mornings. The whole atmosphere at ThaimOut was great.

The staff were really welcoming and we considered them friends by the time we left!

Excellent place to sip beer/cocktails/tea on the beachfront!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

We've been hanging here for a couple of days both for lunch and dinner. This is the kind of place you dream about when you're home listening to the rain and seeing only grey clouds. It's more than "just" a restaurant or "just" a bar - it's a place to chill! Great live music, Ulrika rocks! fire shows and when nothing else just a great place to lean back and relax! The staff is very friendly and fun like they usually are in Thailand.

Read some bad reviews and what can I say, welcome to Thailand?! Sometimes things doesn't go as perfect as us westerners expect, not as quick etc. but that's just how it is, lean back and relax you're on vacation! :) but whatever you do, raising your voice etc doesn't work in Thailand! It's seen as very rude and just not well seen - instead try a big smile and calm tone, explain again - it will take you much further in Thailand, maybe even at home?! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ThaimOut Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to ThaimOut Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ThaimOut Beach Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.