We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful place on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Narima Bungalow Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Narima Bungalow Resort to your Saves list
Narima Bungalow Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   98 Moo 5 Klong Nin, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of a three week trip around Thailand in Jan/Feb 2013. This resort was the most beautiful of any we stayed in throughout our whole trip and we wished we could have stayed longer! We had a C row bungalow which had everything you need (clean, comfortable and calm), and ate here almost every breakfast, lunch and dinner (the food was amazing). The staff were so lovely (the manager gave me some super glue when my 'authentic' sunglasses snapped) and the bar man on the beach was an absolute diamond (still miss him now!). The beach was perfect, your own piece of paradise. The only problem with this place is that it's so lovely you risk never leaving to explore the rest of the island! We went on a couple of day trips to Phi Phi and surrounding islands for snorkeling, and ate out a couple of nights at the village up the road (the lovely guys driving the tuk tuks are more interested in getting to know you then charging the earth for short rides, very different from the East side of Thailand.) All in all this was our favourite part of Thailand, the most authentic with the nicest people. I only hope we can visit again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    57
    27
    8
    10
See reviews for
45
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed heir 5 nights. Great place, jungle-like atmosphere. Restaurant, bungalows, small pool, all is nicely made and decorated. Food is great, service is friendly. Only set back: a lot of young children and baby's. Sometimes the place feels like a (Danish) kindergarten. Since the bungalow-walls are thin and made from bamboo mats, a crying baby will not only wake up its (own) parents.....

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

It was a major disappointment of our holiday. We arrived on 30 Dec and we wanted to leave the same day but due to the busy period and our travel with a small child we did stay (unfortunately).
The resort is in nice location and this is its only plus.

On arrival (with a small child) after the whole day of travel we went to the restaurant in the evening. After 35 mins of waiting for a simple meal we asked if the food would arrive. Our boy was very hungry. The lady in charge (restaurant manager?° said that there are many people and they can bring the food to the child but we should wait another 30 mins. So we said we resign from our meal , let us just feed the child! (1 hour waiting time in a resort restaurant, a simple one) is really too much. The lady said - no problem we could resign! This is NOT the attitude you would expect anywhere, certainly not in Thailand.

No wonder we did not use this restaurant any more.

The staff was distinctly stressed, maybe overworked. I appreciate that it was very busy but for the 2 week peak period, the prices rise by 50 per cent, so one could still expect decent service!

The quality of bungalow is shabby. Like a backpacker s place. The furniture is falling into pieces and really there is no charm about this.

The resort looks nice from outside though.

One of the reasons we chose the place was apparently its cultured owners. Unfortunately there were hardly around! (the only encounter was when the lady brought us to the national park ; which was kind of her°;

The staff in the office is distinctly unfriendly (no good morning when you enter the office), incompetent (little knowledge of the island) and speaks poor EN. We had to use travel agent outside the resort.

Overall, Narima could have been good some time ago when owners managed and invested in it. Now it seems undermaintained (I don't mind), but mostly poorly serviced. I am sure that there many better options in Southern Ko Lanta to stay and I regret we stayed in Narima for 6 days of our precious holidays. We tried to avoid it as much as we could.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This will remain my most memorable stay anywhere in the world. If a peaceful, relaxing holiday is in mind - there cannot be a better location. The resort is located in a secluded part of the island. But that does not matter much as the hotel themselves provides self drive scooters (the best way to cover the island). Simple yet elegant stilted bungalows spread out sparsely. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Though insects are an issue (probably the only flaw). No television or telephone in the rooms.
Dining is in an airy alfresco lobby. Food is homely and stunning. The hotel has a small and private beach with a beautiful beach bar.
The hotel has been built very tastefully. Design elements are basic yet unique.
Staff is very friendly and service is excellent. The geriatric owner couple are personally involved in running this quaint resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Narima offers the best of Thailand and Ko Lanta. Peace & Quiet, beautiful sceneries, sunsets and nature, sincere hospitality and a high quality of food and bungalows, when comparing to the Narima price range versus other good resorts.

However, the thing I liked the most about Narima, was the fact, that we felt secluded and had a sense of privacy, that we haven't found anywhere else.

Extremely friendly staff and owners. Great and small beach - but you have it all to yourself. You can dine either at the large open dinner room, or at the bar restaurant on the beach. Great massage at an open bungalow at the beach.

A-row bungalows are the ones overlooking the ocean - worth the extra cost. Each bungalow is simple but a pretty high quality, and the entire resort leaves you with a feeling that a very clever and eco friendly architect have given this place some good thought and love.

Humongous card with most thai specialties. Simple breakfast, that does the job. I recommend ordering the omelet with everything for breakfast from the friendly cook.

We will most definitely be back. This place will work great for cpoyple and honeymooners, but also for families with kids, that likes the sun and the sea.

Room Tip: Pick the A-row bungalows - first line to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay but would consider staying elsewhere next time in Koh Lanta.

Pros: private beach full of crabs and hermit crabs. Saw a wild monkey. Surrounded by beautiful jungle. Good buffet breakfast. Cooling and fan. Great Thai and oil massage on the beach for 600 baht. Very helpful staff.

Cons: sheets were stained. Bed very hard, even put a blanket underneath the bottom sheet. Scary huge millipedes and worms outside the bungalow. Rocky beach and got a few tiny stings from something in the water.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Narima for 5 nights and wished we could stay for more. Beautiful views, friendly staff and amazing pools! They also have scuba diving right there! The Narima is a central location near enough to all Ko Lanta's other attractions but far enough away to feel remote. Really amazing :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Narima Bungalow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narima Bungalow Resort

Address: 98 Moo 5 Klong Nin, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Narima Bungalow Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Narima Bungalow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narima Bungalow Hotel Ko Lanta
Narima Hotel Ko Lanta
Narima Resort Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narima Bungalow Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.