We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort to relax...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lanta Sand Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lanta Sand Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   279 Moo 3 | Long Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort to relax...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

We stood at Lanta Sands resort for 2 days on a thailand trip. Bungalow was spacious and stuff very helpful. Its a nice place to relax. Pool area is nice too. On the beach they have to less sunbeds . In total it was a very nice stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    56
    13
    13
    9
See reviews for
29
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

We had just arrived from spending New Year on koh tao and were hoping for somewhere relaxing. This was the place. We had been staying in pretty cheap accomodation and this was a lovely treat. when we arrived out bags were taken straight to our rooms and given a complimentry drink. The bungalows were amazing, clean, really nicely decorated, huge! It was very quiet hardly saw anyone there. You didnt need to rush to get a sunbed on the beach. The beach was lovely and quiet.
We booked in for a couple of treatments in the spa which we were really nice and very cheap.
The breakfast is pretty basic and the meals in the restaurant at lunchtime were pretty poor, you were better off walking up the beach to a couple of near by restaurants. The resort is a couple of mins taxi ride from the main area of bars and restaurants. We hired scooters and they were a great way to see the island.
We had a great time there and would definately go back.

  • Liked — the quiet and relaxed atmosphere, and the bungalows
  • Disliked — the food in the restaurant
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
living in Seoul
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

My wife and I and our two babies really enjoyed the resort. In fact this is the first review I felt I should post because the resort left such a positive impression.
The location was very quite and somewhat remote which is exactly what we wanted. We were at the end of low season so the resort was far from crowded. The hospitality by everyone from the reception area to the cleaning crews to the restaurant and bar areas was extremely friendly. Everyone seems to wear a permanant smile there. If you are looking for a quite get away then this is the place for you- especially if you have kids. There was plenty of shade in the pool area and by the sea. The resort is a very short beach walk from 6 or 7 places to eat and a 10 minute motorcycle-taxi ride from the little town. There may be nicer places that are easier to get to but if you decide to go here I feel that you will be very satisfied.

  • Liked — Comfort level and very friendly staff
  • Disliked — must hire boat for good snorkeling- All sand area by resort=no coral/fish
  • Tips/Secrets — You can make all arrangements necessary through main reception desk.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

My husband and I were looking for a 2-week beach get away for peace and relaxation and we found it here. The hotel and location had good points and bad, but overall we would recommend this hotel and return ourselves. We were in ultra low season, not much open or to do. Only thing we wanted to do other than swim, read and watch the sunset was to snorkel and dive. Ocean swimming here this time of year was poor. Often rough surf and cloudy water. Did go on dive/snorkel trip to Koh Bai which was nice, but squall came up in afternoon making it a rough ride back to Lanta.

Good points of hotel: Manager very pleasant and eager to please. Escorted us one evening to a beach bar about 10 minutes away so we would find the right place. Pool immaculate. Beach bar was not open, but if we went to restaurant they would give us drinks...never did come to serve us much on the beach. Beachfront villa was awesome. Huge and bathroom fantastic.
If you go, look for Pan, tall girl who works in the restaurant. She's the best. Great service & english. Can give you lots of tips on what to do.

Bad points: Other than Pan, restaurant service pretty poor. Friendly enough, but you have to ask for everything...keep asking, they keep trying. Food was hit & miss. Great tom yum gun soup, pad thai and seafood platter. Aweful satay. Bed was really hard and so were the pillows. Wireless internet (expensive) went down three days before we left and was still not working when we left. When it did work, it was very slow. Most days had to ask for maid service to get it in the morning, as we liked to rest in room during afternoon heat.

Overall, this was a good deal at half-off low season rates. I would have been more picky if we were paying higher in-season rates.

  • Liked — Beachview, bathroom
  • Disliked — Restaurant service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

I stayed at this property from 25 to 29 August 2006. The rooms and the general ambience of the resort are truly beautiful - outside bath anyone? BUT....even during low season, this is not a cheap hotel - so the experience of towels so old they are grey, thin, and frayed with age is not a strong attraction. A polite request for replacements was met with "well, all of our towels are like that!"

Like the previous reviewer , we found that the breakfast was not a high point: very poor quality ingredients, and poorly cooked too! Suffice to stay that we did not bother with a dinner reservation.

Overall, a disappointing experience. Maybe it is better in high season, but I doubt that I will find out.

  • Liked — Rooms, beach location
  • Disliked — Towels and breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Take your own towels and eat out!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

i have stayed at Lanta Sand Resort & Spa on 7 th of May . it is nice an clean resort with the big room. the manager is gentle and kind we have been there for low season so most of the restuarants around there were closed but we have found one still and the food was good with cheap price !
the beach is very beautiful but unswimable because the wave was too strong .
the breakfast was ok but not so many chioces if you go there on low season .
overall it is well worth for the money that we have spent .

  • Liked — room
  • Tips/Secrets — go there on high season because the restuarants are open and the trip to islands ( they are almost closed on low season from 15 of may to october because of rainy season)
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

During our three week trip in Thailand, Lanta Sand was by far the worst place we stayed in. It mights even be one of the worst places I have stayed in ever.

I would prefer to stay at the hotel pictured in the Johh Cleese TV series Faulty Towers to this lousy hotel:

Breakfast
It was an excuse for breakfast. Coffee that tasted like a swimmingpool, an amy of flies that attacked the dry bread and yesterdays fruit.

Service
Nonexistent. The staff talked to themselves and didn't seem to care about the guests.

Management
No one seemed to be in charge. The whole place felt as the teenagers working at McDonalds should be left to run McDonalds, but without the manuals and the angry boss.

Advertising
They have an amazing webpage which makes you believe that the place is Ritz Carlton. Don't believe anything you see and read.

Rooms
OK size and beds. However, everything feels at the same time both new and old, but in a bad way. The curtains don't close. There are small misfits everywhere.

Baby Cot
Rusty and impossible to sleep in for a baby. Might be suitable for a babydoll made of plastic. We didn't get any bed linen for the baby.

Cleanliness
Spider web and dust.

Price level
We payed low season price, which was heavily discounted. However, the value for money was less than zero. The high season price is laughable. I hope that no one has to pay the high season price for this kind of hotel.

Bugs
Cockroaches in the looby and outside our seafront villa. And an army of ants in our room. We called reception and they sprayed the room which made it impossible to breathe or be inside the Villa for an hour. The spray was not very efficient aganist bugs though. In the morning when we woke, our daughter had small red dots all over her face and belly. We still don't know if it was heat rash, mosquitoes or sand flies, but I would not be surprised if we had bugs in the hotel room at night.

Surroundings
Long beach Lanta in low season feels like being trapped in the wild west. If you go to lanta in low season, stay at a smaller beach. It is better with a small beach with 2 places to go to and 2 places open, than a beach with 100 places to go to and 2 places open.

On Lanta, we also stayed at the Pimalai which might be a little expensive, but the value for money is far higher. If you travel budget, stay at a really cheap hotel instead, because the extra you pay for Lanta sand is not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanta Sand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Sand Resort and Spa

Address: 279 Moo 3 | Long Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#12 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanta Sand Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Lanta Sand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Sand Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanta Sand Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.