We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab resort, lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Twin Bay Resort to your Saves list
Twin Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Moo 1, Koh Lanta Yai Island | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 stars 265 Reviews
Hua Hin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fab resort, lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Came to visit Twin Bay in mid October, originally for 4 nights, however Twin Bay was so lovely, and Kaw Kwang beach so beautiful we stayed an extra 2 nights! We were very lucky with the weather, and due to the time of year being out of season had a very relaxing stay as beach was very quiet + resort less full! Beach is very clean, witnessed a beach clean up during stay. Bar and kitchen staff very friendly- very good service, attentive + speak good English. Rooms very clean and large, fridge and a/c, mosquito net over main bed, cleaned everyday- new towels, fresh bottled water,beds made. Security around at night (not that it seemed necessary) so very safe. Breakfast good- bit of variety from day to day, fresh fruit (lovely refreshing water melon!!) + options for Western food- toast, cereal, bacon, ham, egg (omelette or fried!).
Stroll into town along main road is about 20/25 minutes walk, road is not very busy, so walk is fairly safe despite Thai driving habits, otherwise Tok Tok's available in town + drive up and down road looking for business, easy to find (one available to rent from resort) and cheap- even possible to get disco Tok Tok's at night! Quite a nice variety of bars/restaurants along the beach, friendly staff, however in low season only a few stay open late (e.g. Mook Anda bar 15 minute walk along beach) so if you enjoy nightlife go during high season! Went out on managers longtail boat 3 times whilst on stay, tour round the whole of Lanta Yai, stopped for lunch in old town, saw dolphins, monkeys and were shown to a very small unclaimed island where we enjoyed a swim in the late evening! Visited a good snorkelling spot in Phi Phi and had a fishing trip!! Da was a great boat trip manager and guide round the best spots on the Islands. Missing this spot on Lanta already! Hopefully will return next year- highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

A delightful way to wake up and see a new positive review. Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. It seems as if you had been keeping a logbook going during your stay with the amount of detail in your review. it is reviews like yours that paint a thorough picture of the resort and the island which is great for readers of the review to get a clear picture.

I will pass on your nice comments to the staff and also to Da for her longtail boat guided trips. it is becoming quite popular with the guests.

hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    97
    46
    15
    5
See reviews for
82
112
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in mid-October - and had a wonderful relaxing short holiday (from Hua Hin). Highlights included two days out on the resort's new boat 'Tiffany' - a beautiful longtail boat fitted with a unique bamboo shade roof and lounge style seating across the boat. Helpful and friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, cold beer at a reasonable price and superb location. Thanks to Jon, Da and the staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for taking time to make a review of your stay here at Twin Bay. Your headline sums it up in a nutshell. The old and the new staff i am building up for the coming season are doing a good job in preparing for the rush and makes me feel positive that service is on the up in many areas. The long tail boat is indeed a winner, and all that have lounged on her have praised it's comfort and quietness. Khun Da is a fantastic guide and it looks like she will be busy this season.

So once again thanks for your comments and i will share them with all the staff as a morale booster for the coming season

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

So many great things to say about this lovely resort. Nice clean comfortable room with first class view when you stay on the beachfront. Has all you need. Nice pool and plenty of places to relax on beds under shady trees or at the pool.
We stayed for a week after being in Koh Lanta for six weeks and had the best green chicken curry we had the whole time.
Friendly helpful staff, nice breakfast and easy to get to town by tuk tuk only about 60 baht .
Highlight of this stay was going out in the beautiful long tail boat , Tiffany. Owned and manged through John the manager and partner Da, we had the most amazing day seeing the islands and having a spectacular lunch prepared for us by Da who came along and explained everything so well. She certainly has the touch of finesse on this extremely comfortable and quiet long tail.
If there is one thing you should do if staying at or near Twin Bay don't miss doing a trip, private if you want and tailored to your wishes. Thank you all at Twin Bay for a memorable time.

Room Tip: Worth getting sea front bungalow. Wifi not fantastic from bungalows at the end but works fine in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your positive review of your stay here at Twin Bay. As with all reviews, i will pass on your kind words to the staff for their efforts in making your stay so enjoyable.

Yes the green curry is a hit with most that enjoy the Thai palate. Chef will be given another tap on the back from you via me. As for my partner Da, she too will be tapped on the back for her efforts in getting Tiffany up and running. I am delighted that you enjoyed your day cruise. I too went out yesterday and had an absolutely fantastic day off. I'm sure the boat will add an additional pleasure to all that lounge in her.

Many thanks once again and hope to see you both back in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
Resort Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days during the off season in September and when booking, made an effort to find a place that would provide a high level of service, despite the low season. I guess we found that place and had a wonderful stay here, also thanks to friendliness and cooperation of manager John. The room was clean and spacious, the pool was filled and clean and the beach was wonderful, pulling back 150 meters with the tide and leaving a wonderful beach for us and the kids to collect shells and paddle in the water. The off season did have the disadvantage of the restaurant being closed (except for breakfast), but manager John surprised us by telling us there was a complementary scooter with the room. Being a family of four, with two young kids (2 and 4) John was flexible to change the scooter to a Tuctuc, which gave us the mobility to go to the restaurants ourself (not being dependent on taxis) and have a wonderful drive around the island. The reception area had a big map of the island on the wall with restaurant and highlight suggestions, this combined with John's personal advice gave us a quick feel-at-home sensation at Koh Lanta.
There were one or two downsides, having much to do with the off season (not so much with Twin Bay Resort). Both of us weren't feeling well at some time and this is when you really miss the on-site restaurant. Being sick and having to go out to get food is a big hassle, especially with two active kids around. Also, because of the off season, there was only one island tour available (4 island tour) which wasn't great because the program (full day) was made for the high season, when the waves are less rough and less chance of the whole boat getting sick (which was the case). In our case it ended up to be a long day....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for your review of your stay with us. Thankfully i dont have to be looking at the previous review which was sitting at the top for far too long for my liking.

I seem to have been praised somewhat in your review but i will translate it into thai for my staff and tell them that their names where mentioned not mine. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that your review was fair and balanced. I agree not operating the restaurant for lunch and dinner can be a burden for some, but as you noted, it is the low season and staffing is always tricky. Thankfully the high season is nearly apon us and i am gradually building my team up to manage a full operation.

Thanks once again and i hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
Resort Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't recommend to stay here, there are other places that looked nicer. The bedroom had cockroaches, the provided towels smelt of mould, the hotel feels dirty and tired. Breakfast is not included in the price, and there are few places nearby. The restaurant doesn't serve dinner and the beach is at low tide for most of the day. Koh Lanta itself is beautiful, especially the south of the island. The Black Pearl restaurant did great food, get the fresh seafood if you can. Would visit Koh Lanta again (hire a moped to get about!) but certainly not stay here. Found reception staff rude and unhelpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Disappointing indeed.

Considering i was the only person on the front desk in September from 06:00 to 20:00 i am very skeptical that i was unfriendly and unhelpful. The room didn't include breakfast because you had booked a cheap option of room only. Breakfast was always available daily at a very minimal fee had you chose to spend extra on it. The sea is the sea and i cant do anything about that. Just be happy we didn't put up green mesh like many other hotels around the island blocking the view of the beach.

Clearly you were not a happy camper, and as you say, further down south would probably have been better for you. It is cheaper there and maybe room with breakfast there would have suited your budget..

Looking forward to hearing from you and finding out how i was unhelpful and unfriendly. I am always willing to better myself.

Jonathan Dee
Resort Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Twin Bay in April 2013 for just under 3 weeks. John and Eric were very welcoming and arranged for the complex to be wheelchair accessible(with ramps) for my daughter to be independent. The beach front bungalows were comfortable and clean. We hired a tuk tuk for the duration of our stay as Twin Bay was a fair distance from the bars/restaurants etc. All in all a good stay .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Your headline "relaxing"" describes the Twin Bay experience exactly.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
Resort Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for a little over two weeks. We were after a quiet and relaxing resort and were not disappointed. Jon and his staff were truly helpful, friendly and wonderful. We were upgraded to the beachfront after a few days and all you had to do was ask! The fact that it was a low season helped.

Breakfast was more than enough, lunch was available on order. The only wish we had was for dinner at the resort but appreciated the difficulty in making that happen with such a few staff members at the time. In any case, we got the much needed exercise by walking almost every evening on the beach to Sanuk Bar where we were served by a very resourceful Thai lady. We enjoyed her delicious meals over sunset at Koh Lanta. Hiring a bike is a great way to get around the small Island of Lanta as it costs only 250 Baht a day. We were a bit worried about booking a public van to the airport but that was unfounded as the van turned up on time and arrived at the airport with a few hours to spare. Make sure you give yourself enough time, at least 3hrs though.

Will stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for taking time to review your stay with us recently. it is always a pleasure to share such positive reviews with my staff to give them the recognition they rightly deserve.

I must admit,, once people check in to the beachfront bungalow, they seem to be in awe of the location. There really is no better way to wake up in the mornings with that view of the bay.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back some day soon.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
Resort Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twin Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Bay Resort

Address: 333 Moo 1, Koh Lanta Yai Island | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual 3 star resort in a 5 star location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Twin Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Bay Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.