We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great quiet resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Twin Bay Resort to your Saves list
Twin Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Moo 1, Koh Lanta Yai Island | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great quiet resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed in a beachfront room and waking up to the view was great. It is a great resort, food, service, rooms, pool area ( make sure u keep shoes on deck gets hot) is great, the staff where excellent and so friendly even came out to see us off. Well recommended resort. For everyone from a couple to a family. Will stay there again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    121
    56
    19
    5
See reviews for
99
138
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Ko Lanta has three tourist seasons, October-April 'high', 15 December to 15 January 'peak', and May-September 'low'. During August and September the place is dead, many resorts and restaurants being refurbished, many more closed, and it rains a lot! The seasons are dictated by visitors from Sweden - two Swedish schools on the island - but once Southern Europe catches on, this may change. Twin Bay, which stays open over the low season - but with refurbishment going on - is at the North end of Klong Dao beach, at the north of the island. This beach is wonderful for children as the sand extends far out and it is two to three kilometres long in a pleasant arc. The beach view bungalows are right on the beach, though some of those further back are rather congested. The pool is good, though with limited decking. The view from restaurant, pools, and small bar, are all of the Beach. But to get to Twin Bay from Saladan, where the shops and restaurants are, means a 1-2 kilometre walk along a deserted road. Once one has a car, or motor cycle, or a motor cycle with side passenger contraption attached - hell to drive, bookable near the hotel - then one is within range of everything. Line of Fish Restaurants in Saladan well worth a visit. The breakfasts were mediocre, and as it was off season when we were there we didn't try dinner, although the restaurant was open if we wished. The other bay, behind the restaurant, has a good view, but the sand is muddy. For a sea-side holiday where you really have a sea-side - and a lovely one at that - this is good value.

Room Tip: The family rooms have bunk beds for two children, and are spacious, though in the second row back fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron bay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Thanks to trip advisor I booked this hotel months before, it was everything we wanted, bungalows on the beach, quiet, the hotel has great food and friendly staff. If you want to go into town, or walk along the beach to other restuarants this is an option. We stayed for 11 days. The beach was perfect for young children we travelled with a kids 3, 9, 11. Could snorkel off the beach around the rocks. or walk to other busier resorts along the beach (non of wich looked as peacfull as ours) to hire kayaks or paddleboards. Ko Lanta has a non motorise boat policy around island so it is very quiet. The occasional boat come in for island tours. Easy to get to from Krabi, we hired a minibus of our own (there was 8 of us all together) so we go a bus door to door, there are two small boat ferry rides on the bus it takes about 2 hours or you can get the ferry from Krabi which takes alot longer but probably makes sense for a smaller group. Saladan town has great resturants and markets we hired a tuk tuk in town for the whole week to ship us around. Really easy holiday will probably go back. This is a 3 star hotel, but very clean gardens are beautiful too.

Room Tip: Beach front bunglaws and family bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I have stayed in Koh Lanta a couple of times and this vacation was amazing. I am normally a budget traveler but this time I was travelling with my parents so we stayed in a place a little more upscale. The location was beautiful with the beach being literally about 10 feet from the beach. The massage place was excellent with good value. The espresso was sooo lovely and the mixed fruit shakes divine. The breakfast was average although there was fresh fruit and bacon every morning. At night the sunset was unforgettable. My partner said it was the most beautiful one she had ever seen.
The staff was nice and helpful. The taxi service and bike rental was a little more than other resorts but not too much more. I would definitely recommend this resort for anyone looking for a beautiful beach holiday.

Room Tip: beach front cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stay: 7 days

Pro:
- Very nice (standard) bungalows with big bathroom
- Mosquito net in the room
- Exremely friendly staff
- Very nice sand beach
- Pool is fine
- Free Wifi in Lobby (and in the bungalows which are close enough to the lobby).
- Fair prices in the restaurant (no 10% service charge, etc.)
- Good Food
- Breakfast is ok, if you like american breakfast :)
- Quite location
- Close to the town Ban Saladan (with shops, ferry pier, etc.) - 3 min by TukTuk
- Very good value for money

Con:
- Fresh painted bathroom which smelled the first 3 days
- Partially yellow bed linen (maybe it is not getting cleaner because of sun blocker)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We didn't actually have very high hopes for this resort, but it really blew us away. Not so new, not so high-end, not so trendy but cozy and friendly in every way. Really felt like home away from home. Special thanks goes to resort manager who was always so nice and interested in how everything was going.

Only bigger minus is the location. You need to have a motorcycle if you need to get to the town or otherwise you have to pay too high prices for tuk-tuk rides. I think the same problem is with every resort on the island.

Would've appreciated internet connection in room. They had wifi only in a lobby area.

Twin bay resort, we'll come back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We traveled with two families of middle schoolers to Twin Bay Resort during Chinese New Year holiday. We arrived very late at night and were greeted by a kind and responsive manager named Fan. That set the tone for our week. The pool was pristine, the beach was isolated and there was plenty to do with kids in this part of Koh Lanta.

I also want to say that the staff from the breakfast staff to the waitstaff to the housekeepers to Fan were friendly and accommodating.
We would definitely go back and we would certainly recommend to another family.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twin Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Bay Resort

Address: 333 Moo 1, Koh Lanta Yai Island | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual 3 star resort in a 5 star location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your Twin Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Bay Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.