We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lanta Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Lanta Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Moo 3, Khlong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great beach, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited Royal Lanta during Xmas break. We enjoyed our stay a lot. Relaxed atmosphere, great environment for snorkeling, running bare feet, fishing trips, you name it. The Sea and the beach are clear and clean. Hotel met our expectations. We had two rooms in a bungalow close to the reception and street.in contrary to some earlier reviews, we felt it was not too far from the beach and pool. Bungalow location had a nice bonus, free WiFi around reception area worked in the rooms (#1135 and #1136) too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for this helpful review and I am very pleased that you liked our resort and its great location on one of the main beaches of Koh Lanta.

We use 10 Mbps leased line for our Wife connection, your rooms are closest to the lobby so the signal work in your room. Many thanks for your review to let other readers know that our guest rooms are not far from the beach as we are small size hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lanta.
Once again, Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    107
    43
    13
    11
See reviews for
65
107
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Acctually we where among the first guests at Royal Lanta when they opend 2001/2002. When we suddenly decide to visit Koh Lanta we checked in at Royal Lanta. Our room (2201) was stil in gos shape but the toilet was i need of renovation. Our Outdoor shower didnt work, ceramics started to fall down from walls but otherwise it was nice and well kept. Royal Lanta have a really nice garden with a great pool where you can take a bath and overlooking the sea.
But when we where her ten years ago we where suprised that the restaurant didnt work. nothing worked at it should and the cooking wasnt so god. Breakfast was terrible. It was still exactly the same. So its a great place to stay but dont eat at restaurant.Avoid the rooms closets to the road, its a long way from the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing Royal Lanta for your second stay in Koh Lanta and also for the review you have shared in Trip Advisor.

I am surprised that you found our breakfast was terrible. However we will be feeding back all your negative comments to all concerned as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here in late November 2013. While we agree with some of the previous comments, the resort is tired and in need of some TLC in the rooms, we had no real issues other than a very hard bed! Spray the mosquito net with insect repellent before going to bed will help.(it is a tropical climate...) We found the staff all lovely if a little reserved, we didn't want to be fawned over as we were there to relax but it would have been nice to have been asked how our stay was going, if there was anything we needed and how we had enjoyed our stay when we checked out. They could be more proactive, this comes down from management. Things like maybe walking round to see if people wanted something to drink during the day? Breakfast is limited but plentiful though would suggest covers on the food.
As for Lanta this is a lovely island and think this resort is on one of the nicer beaches. It's not a snorkelling beach but great the swim in. There are plenty of places to eat and drink, this is not a party beach which is exactly what we wanted, it doesn't close up at 8pm either though.
We went on the Eco elephant trek and rain forest walk which was amazing and would highly recommend. We also hired a scooter which was an experience!
To get there Krabi Shuttles are brilliant they turned up when arranged and were completely professional, the cost worked out to be about the same as a taxi and a lot more pleasant than the vans that pile too many people in and the spend hours dropping everyone off at different resorts.
Over all we would stay here again but would hope to see a bit of attention spent on the details.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for the wealth recommendation and information that you have shared in Trip Advisor with others about transfer and tours on the island. We are sorry that you did not ask us to soften your bed when you found it very hard.

I will review your feedback with our concerned departments so that we can improve the areas you found them negative.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I visited Royal Lanta with my husband in late November & was unimpressed. Whilst the grounds & pools are exceptionally well maintained, unfortunately the rooms are in need if some immediate attention & the attitude of some of the staff is to be questioned (not all I might add). This hotel has all the hallmarks of spectacular resort but overall & for the price is a big let down. With a little TLC & given the location of this once grand hotel, on what we found to be one if the nicest, cleanest beaches on Lanta, this place could return to its hey day. Until then I'd stay clear. If you do choose to stay, give the restaurant a miss in favour of either of the restaurants either side directly on the beach. Breakfast is manageable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am disappointed about your comments regarding our restaurant and will be feeding back your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I arrived early evening and went straight to dinner being hungry from our journey. After our main course I had to go find a member of staff to ask for he dessert menu. Her reply was no to late. Apparently we had run out of time, mid meal.
Not impressed at all, I decided not to make a scene for my wife's sake.

It was dark when we arrived, but come the morning it was apparent this place may have been 4* when it opened 20 odd years ago. It is dilapidated, in dyer need of a coat of paint and lots of other repairs.
It is plane to see that there has been no money spent on the upkeep of the hotel. Rusty parasoles by the pool, old thin pool towels, stained and hole ridden mosquito nets in rooms, smudged/ bloodied insects on walls.

Now to the staff- At this hotel they are doing the rest of the wonderful Thai people a disservice. There are so many staff here, yet none talk to you, no eye contact, and god help you if you require something. We had lunch and returned to the pool area where we found out towels to be wet from a short spell if rain. I went over to the 'spa' to ask if I could have two replacement towels, and was promptly told to go all the way down to front desk and get them myself. It's a no can do attitude here. At the bar by the pool you will find the majority of staff sitting watching the tv which is at full volume. When you finally get their attention to ask for a drink, you are met with a look that says you are disturbing them.

You cannot trade on location alone. This is marketed as a 'high end resort' as is anything but I can assure you.

I also find it very rude how the Hotel finds a way of answering every negative comment by changing the focus on the location or by suggesting the guests are of the 'complaining type' but worse of all keep repeating that they are continuing to have regular maintenance meetings. Why bother if you do not intend fixing or updating the place?? It's plane to see nothing has been done for a LONG time.

Book at your peril.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our 3 star resort.

we do read every review we receive and share them with our management team to ensure we can improve the experience for all our guests.

I am most disappointed about your comments regarding our staff and will be feeding back your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Unfortunatelly both rooms I got to try smelled a lot of mould. That and the internet connection not working in the rooms totaly brings down the impression. Extremely pleasant and friendly people at the front desk did what they could to help with anything. But the headmanagers respons to my complaint about the mould problem was purely, "thank you so much".
Well, but beautiful place and good enough breakfast for the price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
I'm sorry to say that during the period that you stayed with us we were affected by tropical storm Haihean. This caused several weeks of heavy rain and resulted in high humidity, leading to condensation and a general mustiness in every room, not just in our resort but throughout the entire southern region of Thailand! I'm afraid to say that these conditions also affected broadband connections everywhere, too. We sympathise with your reaction, but in the tropics this occurs from time to time, although we did, of course, offer you an alternative choice of rooms.

Thank you for your kind words about our resort and our breakfast.
I'm only sorry that the weather conditions caused you some distress too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savonlinna, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed 10 days with our small children at the end of october and we really enjoyed our stay. The resort was very nice and comfortable, location was great at the beach, staff was friendly and breakfast very tasty. The resort itself was in my opinion a little bit in a need of renovation which was seen in many details (for example broken sun-beds and shades or boards on which you walk). The spa was also very nice and the prices reasonable. The room prices during low season were also very affordable, but I think that during high-season it would be a little too much compared to the quality of the hotel. Rooms were cleaned well, bottled water was bringed everyday to the room, but the beds were a little too hard. All in all we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for this helpful review and I am very pleased that you liked our resort and its great location and staff. I am glad you liked our Thai food corner at breakfast. We always provide a good rotation breakfast buffet for our guests who stay at the average of 10 days. We operate the Coral Leaf Spa by ourselves and offer various treatment at reasonable prices. We always offer great deals during May to October.

I will review your feedback with our management team so that we can improve the areas you found unsatisfactory.

We hope to see you again next visit to Koh Lanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Lanta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanta Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 3, Khlong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanta Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa is on an idyllic island, yet with shops and restaurants close by and convenient for Krabi airport. The stylish modern bungalows, each with its own balcony and sun loungers, are close to the two pools, yet the nearby pavilion-style restaurant and bar is right on the sand. Enjoy our 'Coral Leaf Spa'. Sample our freshly-baked pastries in the 'Sea Cow Cafe' and keep in touch via the free Wi-Fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Lanta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Hotel Royal Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.